We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but very poor rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Ranked #480 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Port Louis
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location, but very poor rooms”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Rooms are very small,with not enough space to move about.Items in the minibar are quite expensive.
Hygiene was also not upto the mark;I did get stained towels a few times.
Also,no activities e.g.pools, gyms are available.
Staff on the other hand are very helpful.
The biggest advantage of this hotel is its location;it is situated in the midst of many shopping centres of Kowloon, a very busy place, and great fot night shopping, especially around new year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nab41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    171
    211
    117
    89
See reviews for
132
111
59
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were at the hotel from 7-9th December. The room was very small only about 20 inches between bed and walls. The bed not much bigger than a single and we were lucky that we were not big people. The bathroom had mould throughout with the grill in the door full of dirt. The paintwork on the door was peeling off. The wall hairdryer did not work. The door from the corridor had grease and makeup around the spy hole on the inside and was covered with mould on the outside. Of course it smelt of mould and decay. Overall a dreadful room which could not be recommended.

Room Tip: Have no idea how to get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I was at Ramada Kowloon Hong Kong from 29th December 2013 and checked out on 1st January 2014. Out of curiosity just a couple of days before I left for Hong Kong I read reviews for Ramada and it made me a bit jittery, the reviews were not that good. I rang up my tour operator and let him know my concerns, little help he could offer, but he did insist that Ramada was a good option and yes what he said was right! Its not out of the world but a place that you are comfortable in and offers a pleasant stay.
I could come back at night to a room that was good enough for me, my wife and my 5 year old daughter. We parked on the 13th floor, room no 1303.

Buffet breakfast for me was adequate and varied. I stuck to scrambled eggs, toast - butter and juices. The other options included noodles, tea-coffee, noodles and lot more.

The location of the hotel is excellent as well. You could stroll around the hotel and time would just fly!

Concierge service was good as well.

The only problem is that the check in time is after 2pm. I reached at 11am and had to hang out until the check in times.

All in all a wonderful experience... Definitely would suggest staying here.

Room Tip: None Smoking Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllwynPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

good things:
1. location is just right. restaurants, shops, bus stops, airport shuttle, and tst MTR station is all near by.
2.breakfast is not wide spread but I prefer it as it does not confuse you with too many options. it was pretty decent.
bad things:
1. rooms are small and bathrooms are even smaller. there was not enough light in the room and was looking dull.
2. staff is not that friendly. I had booked bed and breakfast and it was mentioned in the voucher as well. however the first day when I arrived, the lady at the brekfast counter asked for my room no and said bf was not included in my package. I asked her to check again as I was sure, then she came back saying ok u can have the bf (no apology or smile)
3. the walls of the rooms are not at all sound proof, I could clerly hear voices from the next room and it botheres me entire night. the property is also very old and very tiny lobby and lift. only 1 person can walk in the corridor with a bag at a time. there is not enough light in the corridors as well (too much cost cutting)
Conclusion: Good for budget travellers and backpackers, not recommended for those who want to stay and relax at the hotel.

Room Tip: doesnt really matter as I got free upgrade to superior room and the upgraded room dint please me at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Ramada hotel is at best a 2 star hotel. The rooms are very small and beds are hard. The staff are unhelpful and unfriendly. We asked for a non-smoking room and were ensured we could have one, when we arrived we were given a smoking room, when we complained we were told oh well that is all there is to bad. The rooms absolutely stank of smoke!!

I would love to go back to Hong Kong but I would definitely not stay at this hotel again!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Ramada properties are 4 star hotels but this one was not...

I've seen 2 star hotels have a bigger reception area that this hotel. The room that was reserved for me was on the 6th floor which was smoking room despite making a remark on the hotels website when i booked that I wanted a non-smoking. Ended up with a room on the top floor.

The entire hotel were in the shades of brown. The room was dark and SMALL, I would say less than 200 sq.ft. Sure as hell not worth the HKD1050 I paid for (my trip was during some trade fair). The mini bar was exorbitantly priced, a bottle of water that was priced at HKD35 would be for about HKD9.5 at a 7Eleven.

The bed was small, I'm about 5'9" and my feet would be hanging out or my head would be sticking to the head rest/board. The TV had 1 English channel which was Discovery.

I had to call room service for a bathrobe, which was torn from a couple of places. Had to call room service for an iron+stand. Next day had to call room service again for the iron+stand, this time i told them to leave it in my room, and the room service guy made a fuss about that.

The only good this about this hotel was free WiFi. Never made it for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Park Hotel thats besides Ramada Kowloon looked like a much better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuzShbbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I have nothing nice to say about this hotel - including the staff who was pretty useless. The room smells of heavy smoke and the windows don't open, the room is dark and small and the bed is as hard as a rock.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carlospano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Best Western Grand Hotel Hong Kong
Sai Wan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#264 of 718 in Hong Kong
737 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
GDH Hotel
GDH Hotel
#217 of 718 in Hong Kong
583 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#268 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Address: No.73-75 Chatham Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Ramada Hotel Kowloon)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Ramada Hotel Kowloon, BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon in Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong is located in town's most popular dining, shopping and entertainment district, Tsimshatsui in Kowloon. Best Western Hotel has more than 4,000 hotels in 100 countries and has been renowned the world's largest hotel chain. Its Best Western Plus was ranked Number One Upper Midscale Hotel, 2014 Business Travel News Chain Survey. It is an easy walking distance to Nathan Road and popular shopping malls in Tsimshatsui such as Harbour City, Ocean Terminal, China Hong Kong City, Ocean Centre, The One, i-Square, Miramar Shopping Centre, K11, Duty Free Shop (DFS) to name a few. There are hundreds of restaurant and bars around BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon, Tsimshatsui, Hongkong. The city's trendiest places for drinks include Knutsford Terrace, Mody Road, and Tsimshatsui East in Kowloon. Within 15 minutes' walk from BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, visitors can explore Kowloon's hottest attractions such as Clock Tower, Star Ferry, Tsimshatsui Promenade, Avenue of Stars, Space Museum, Hong Kong Science Museum, Hong Kong Stadium, Heritage 1881, Kowloon Park, Hong Kong Pulse 3D light show and A Symphony of Lights in Tsimshatsui. Hong Kong Polytechnic University is just 5 minutes' walk from B EST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon in Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong. BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon, Tsimshatsui, Hongkong is well connected to all major public transportation such as the MTR subway, airport shuttle, public bus, train to China at Hung Hom Station and ferry to Macau at China Hong Kong City. No wonder travelers are hugely complimentary on this Kowloon hotel's convenient location in Tsimshatsui, Kowloon. BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong has 206 guestrooms and suites. Some of the rooms have a pleasant view of the garden of Tsimshatsui East. All hotel rooms have free WiFi access, LCD television, cable TV channels, in-room safe and tea and coffee making facilities. The Café provides buffet breakfast and snack service. Our warmly welcoming service team looks forward to looking after your forthcoming stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon, Tsimshatsui, Hongkong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Ramada Hotel Kowloon
Ramada Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada
Ramada Hong Kong
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing