We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel with excellent dining options”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Garden
Ranked #52 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Luneburg, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with excellent dining options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Royal Garden hotel in Kowloon's Tsim Shat Tsui district was the location for a conference that I attended in March. The hotel rooms are a bit small but very well equipped, modern, fresh, and clean. The huge selection of restaurants at the hotel offers enough dining options for a long-term stay and food is delicious everywhere. Especially the breakfast buffet is extremely extensive and offers everything from continental breakfast over typical american hot breakfast items to a vast variety of asian breakfast items. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The meeting rooms were wells suited for the attended conference. I'm already looking forward for next year's edition of the conference to take place at the same hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    564
    135
    32
    36
See reviews for
274
376
80
649
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Royal Garden Hotel is very convenient to shopping and the staff was very attentive. The room size is fairly typical for a big city environment, not at all crowded, and the bed was great. We had a nice view of the water out our window on the 6th floor. The room was also very up-to-date, and robes and slippers were provided. We opted to purchase the breakfast buffet ticket for the days we were there - great idea. The buffet is wonderful, by the way. There is a small shopping mall on the back side of the hotel where my husband found Camay Tailors and came home with a new suit and sport coat. Great guys! A lot of tailor shops have reps on the street to bring in business, but we found this one on our own. There is also a 7-Eleven-like store nearby which came in handy a couple of times, plus a nearby MacDonald's if you just can't help yourself :-) We found the hotel very convenient for walking to go shopping and do a little sight-seeing as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor on the water side for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pafw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

2 Thumbs up!

Will definitely stay here again because...

The staff were very helpful and professional. Ordered room service and was not happy with the appetizer. They insisted on bringing up a replacement...much better.

Room with the Victoria Harbour view and Crown Club... Worth it.

Frette bed sheets, great pillows, very clean bathroom.

Award winning Restaurants.

Room Tip: Crown Club and Victoria Harbour View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geeeeeee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

Clean, very comfortable bed. Breakfast wonderful. Restaurant in hotel very good buffet. The Italian restaurant in the hotel was closed this visit for renovation but last time we visited food was fantastic.
Room service very good.

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joaniemelonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I don't have a complain about this hotel. The service were good, in fact, it's very assuring since they help me to secure my jewelry purchase delivery from the jewelry store before I received it by the time I got back to hotel.

The rooms were modern-stylish looked with up-to-date furnished. Breakfast was lots and awesome. The location is near malls, avenue stars just across the main street, bars/pubs, money changer, 711, even adult stores.

Taxi always ready to take you to the destination from hotel and the neighborhood is quite safe to walk at night.

I enjoyed my stay after long walk in this hotel. No complain.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semestakecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Picked this hotel for our stop-over for a couple of nights in Hong Kong en-route to New Zealand. It's in a pretty good location and the view from our room looked out over Victoria Harbour, although I think we were lucky with that as most of the rooms wouldnt.

I had booked a Club package although it was debatable that we got a 'club' room, however, the room was modern and clean although small, bathroom was excellent with fabulous bath and shower, I did work out very quickly where the switch for the privacy glass was!!

Sadly we didnt get chance to use our Club package of afternoon tea, etc as we were out sightseeing from first thing until late. It did seem like a good idea at the time but in hindsight it was a waste as we were never there except to sleep so unless you are planning to spend plenty of time in the hotel I wouldn't bother with that.

I found that the staff were efficient but don't expect friendly - just efficiently 'dealt' with and moved on to the next.

All in all an ok hotel but I've stayed in far more amazing places with far better service for the rating and money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoolsH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have stayed at the Royal Garden at least half a dozen times over the past few years. It is a nice hotel that was recently renovated. By Hong Kong standards many of the rooms are quite large. It is good value for money and located a short walk from the MTR and nearby a large number of restaurant choices. The Italian, Japanese and Chinese restaurants in the hotel are excellent but a bit pricey. On my most recent trip last week I was disappointed with the up-sell for the harbor view as I had previously been able to reserve a room with a view of the harbor. Granted the harbor views are between other buildings, so don't think panorama. The one weird thing is the elevators that go lobby up but don't come down to the lobby and force you to transfer on the 3rd floor to another set of elevators. Strange at first but once you get it down no problem. Internet is also HK$ 150 per 24 hours which is pretty steep. I can't wait until all hotels include wifi as a standard perk, it always feels like they gouge you because they can. Overall a very good location and value for money in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking at the harbor between the buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
New World Millennium Hong Kong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Regal Kowloon Hotel
#95 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Garden

Property: The Royal Garden
Address: No. 69 Mody Road | Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In its continuing pursuit of excellence and with a total investment of USD31 millions, the Royal Garden has just completed a sophisticated re-imaging programme of its 420 stylish guestrooms. The Royal Garden, conveniently located in the business and shopping areas of Tsimshatsui - a district well served by Hong Kong's efficient public transport system (MTR), is the only hotel in Hong Kong with a 110-foot atrium, allowing natural daylight to illuminate the hotel's interior by day and an exquisite ambience by night. The hotel has an impressive choice of the award winning and Michelin Recommended restaurants including Sabatini Ristorante Italiano, Inagiku Japanese restaurant, The Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant, The Greenery, Dong Lai Shun, Le Soleil and Martini Bar. Overlooking Victoria Harbour, the roof-top Mediterranean style Sky Club provides top quality leisure facilities including a 25 meter heated swimming pool and a Jacuzzi (open daily from 06:30 - 22:00hrs), 24 hours Gymnasium and Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Royal Garden Hong Kong
The Royal Garden Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing