We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perect hotel”
Review of The Royal Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Garden
Ranked #39 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel two time i.e.recently in March 13 and in 2009 for 14-15 days. The hotel is on the perfect location, MTR station, many restrurants are neaby the hotel. The entire hotel is very well maintained. Their house keeping staff are very polite, fast in service and with amazing hospitality. The buffet breakfast contains all the varities and tasty.
The only drawback (minor) which I can mention here is, the maintenance/renovation work was in progress (I was not disturbed because it was not going on my floor) and i think they have not updated this information on website, however they have displayed this information on the receiption couter, but for me booking was already done.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirish2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

The rooms have been renovated since my last visit so it's certainly improved. The overall feel is an efficient business hotel, good breakfast, though the tasteless mandatory low fat yogurt is an international conspiracy to make us eat more sugar ! It's well situated for Hung Hom station, the MTR, local restaurants and shopping in Nathan Road, ideal if your travelling alone but a bit dull! I wouldn't bring my wife here.

Room Tip: Rooms Higher up have less buzz from the Atrium restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This remains a good hotel but I rate it average as the renovation works being carried out impact negatively on the services offered
The executive lounge is as good as ever under the superb stewardship of Danny who ensures high quality discreet service and a welcome smile after a hard days work

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I had booked a double room. At arrival I asked to have an extra bed for my daughter. So I got a "bigger" room. The upcharge for the extra bed was extremely expensive, even for a 4 stars hotel; about 4 times more than usual price at a 4 stars hotel. Then we went to the room, and there was no place to move, after the extra bed was installed. Absolutely no suitable for families.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlSave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in March- 6th to 10th). We were disappointed that the view wasn't what we expected. The size of the room was ample for us. However, we did take the Club option but that included breakfast (which we did have as it was more peaceful than the large buffet) and cocktails with canapes in the dedicated lounge on Level 12. Also it means we were on the 14th floor. This option is well worth paying for).
The staff were excellant - you could not make a complaint against them they did everything to make your stay pleasant. The only small problem there were at times language problems at the Concierge we had some difficulty making our selves understood.
We didn't notice the construction noices until the last day when we went back to the hotel early for a rest and they wre using jackhammers. We went down to the front desk to complain. The Duty Manager, Ivan Chiang, handled very well and gave us the use of a lower room until the workmen had left. Thanks Mr Chiang.
We would stay there agin and recommend others.
Michael & Valda Neels

Room Tip: Try and get a room with harbour views. We booked months in advance and still didn't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Rooms were clean and well furnished, although a little small compared to other hotels we have stayed in at HK. Good soundproofing from atrium (restaurant) area. Views limited, unless in the right section (eastern side) of the building. It always amazes us that even though you book six months in advance you still end up with the backside of the hotel. Wi-fi is good in the rooms (free). TV system a little complicated - ignore the on-line billing function, it is always wrong - get a print out if you have concerns. Breakfast supplement is reasonably priced although there are many nearby options at cafes that are quite cheap. Hotel provided a birthday cake for my wife which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: If booking in advance try to insist on a harbour side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCarruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I'm a big fan of Hong Kong but it was my first time staying at the Royal Garden. The good - clean room, big TV, fantastic buffet back fast and lunch, great location close to the water if that's what you're after and one of the best Italian restaurants in Hong Kong right there on the 3rd floor. The bathrooms were great, really nice use of space in what is usually a bit of a tight squeeze in these hotels. The massive shower was pretty cool. The not so good, of which there is little was at the pool was out of action due to renovations. Can't help bad timing... And for me, the location is actually the most convenient. I like that I can walk to the intercontinental so easily for dinner, but you have to remember that half of what you see is water and one side is fairly industrial. I prefer being up Nathan rd a little even up in mong Kok at langham place so that I walk out into a thousand shops, train line and restaurants. But that's just me.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank rycon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,219 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,033 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
New World Millennium Hong Kong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Garden

Address: No. 69 Mody Road | Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £106 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In its continuing pursuit of excellence and with a total investment of USD31 millions, the Royal Garden has just completed a sophisticated re-imaging programme of its 420 stylish guestrooms. The Royal Garden, conveniently located in the business and shopping areas of Tsimshatsui - a district well served by Hong Kong's efficient public transport system (MTR), is the only hotel in Hong Kong with a 110-foot atrium, allowing natural daylight to illuminate the hotel's interior by day and an exquisite ambience by night. The hotel has an impressive choice of the award winning and Michelin Recommended restaurants including Sabatini Ristorante Italiano, Inagiku Japanese restaurant, The Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant, The Greenery, Dong Lai Shun, Le Soleil and Martini Bar. Overlooking Victoria Harbour, the roof-top Mediterranean style Sky Club provides top quality leisure facilities including a 25 meter heated swimming pool and a Jacuzzi (open daily from 06:30 - 22:00hrs), 24 hours Gymnasium and Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Royal Garden Hong Kong
The Royal Garden Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing