We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and good service”
Review of The Royal Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Garden
Ranked #48 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sarpsborg, Ostfold, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location and good service”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for five nights in a Premium-room, and loved the spacious room (for HK standard) with very comfortable beds. Loved the rainforest shower, and the large mirrors and plenty of good lighting. Very clean, and recently refurbished. We were offered half price for the breakfast buffet, and it was really a great and various selection of food. The staff was attentive and polite, and the service was excellent. The relaxed and spacious feeling in the hotel is a nice escape from the busy Nathan Road, which is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.
The location is great - within 5-10 minutes walk is TST MTR station, Avenue of the Stars,Harbour City, Star Ferry, Granville Road and Nathan Road. Around the corner you'll find McDonalds, 7eleven, ATM and a bunch of eateries of all kinds. Getting to intown-checkin at Kowloon Station you need to take a taxi (about 50 HKD) or the free shuttle bus from Hotel Shangri-La which is located next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 428Globetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    631
    148
    38
    41
See reviews for
326
431
95
725
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was my first trip to HK, and the location of this hotel couldn't be better. Its in walking distance to the 'beach front', and to the Avenue of the stars, Harbour City (HUGE mall), ferries to HK island, etc. Not to mention, all the shops and restaurant right around the corner. This is really a good spot to start from!
Rooms were nice and clean, big, with everything you need or should get in a 5 star hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Eating here can be pricey... but there are sufficient restaurants to choose from in the streets of Tsim Sha Tsui etc.
Overall - very happy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurgen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

There are a couple good points about the hotel but other than that nothing to write home about. The good points: The rooms look modern with use of bright colours although after reading on tripadvisor that they were recently refurbished I can't say I noticed it. The A/C worked well although I could occasionally hear the compressor turn on. There were a great selection of sports channels on TV. A nice touch and something unique was a complimentary smartphone which allows you to not only browse the internet but also free unlimited calls both locally and internationally. A real bonus for those who like to make lots of long distance overseas calls. The room has a complete set of amenities.

On to the down sides: The rooms are very small and the double-rooms use twin single beds instead of twin queens found in more higher-end hotels. The beds were not particularly comfortable either. The pillows were adequate though. The front desk staff simply went through the motions and never once did I see any staff smile during my stay. The elevators were confusing to use with some elevators not having a lobby button. The lobby area has one small sofa meaning guests have to stand when waiting in the lobby area.

The hotel offers room prices just below that of the Shangri-la and Hyatt Regency to entice value seekers but the result is too many corners have been cut especially on the service side to warrant me returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritinBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rankweil, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I just had the pleasure to join the Royal Garden again.
I always enjoy the days in this hotel! Nice and friendly team. They remember my fifth stay..... gorgeous.
The bad is that the nice bar moved upstairs...... The old place ground floor was more enjoyable. Rooms are very clean and renovated and the breakfest buffet is comprehensive wit fresh cooked eggs and a quantity of good bread. Good thing is that there a lot of bars in the street oposite and you not realy need a taxi as they are all within 5 minutes walk reachable.
Will be back soon...

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Juergen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We visited Hong Kong as part of our first year wedding anniversary. We also met my parents here. We payed a little extra and stayed in the Crown Club. Which we highly recommend. The service is very professional and the staff a very friendly. Rooms clean and luxurious. In the crown club rooms you receive a free phone to use for international, local phone calls. Internet access etc. very handy. Everyday in the crown club there is breakfast, afternoon tea, and evening snacks and drinks. All provided as part of the crown club. We will be back again and will recommend this to all our friends

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel had a good location, for sure. I've stayed at other hotels on Mody Road that had a bit nicer rooms - this one was kind of small. Let's be real, the gym was NOT good. I walked in ready for a workout and turned around and walked out again. Breakfasts were good. The only bar was tiny and not very cool to hang out at. I'd prefer to stay someplace else next time but it was perfectly okay. Just not great. Oh, and I was subjected to the construction work that started at 7:30 a.m., even on weekends. Not sure when that will end but it would be wise to NOT stay on the highest floors if the morning noise will be an issue.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank chris813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongeren, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

First time in HK and we stayed in this hotel.
Lokation is good, rooms are good 5renovated ones) we used the 12 level brackfast and relax room.
Service top, only negative was the old carpet. It smelled and was not clean, hope they will replace it in the near future.
Room was causy and clean. Bathroom shower was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rudi1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
New World Millennium Hong Kong Hotel
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Garden

Property: The Royal Garden
Address: No. 69 Mody Road | Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In its continuing pursuit of excellence and with a total investment of USD31 millions, the Royal Garden has just completed a sophisticated re-imaging programme of its 420 stylish guestrooms. The Royal Garden, conveniently located in the business and shopping areas of Tsimshatsui - a district well served by Hong Kong's efficient public transport system (MTR), is the only hotel in Hong Kong with a 110-foot atrium, allowing natural daylight to illuminate the hotel's interior by day and an exquisite ambience by night. The hotel has an impressive choice of the award winning and Michelin Recommended restaurants including Sabatini Ristorante Italiano, Inagiku Japanese restaurant, The Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant, The Greenery, Dong Lai Shun, Le Soleil and Martini Bar. Overlooking Victoria Harbour, the roof-top Mediterranean style Sky Club provides top quality leisure facilities including a 25 meter heated swimming pool and a Jacuzzi (open daily from 06:30 - 22:00hrs), 24 hours Gymnasium and Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Royal Garden Hong Kong
The Royal Garden Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing