We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another excellent experience at the RG” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Garden
Ranked #44 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another excellent experience at the RG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I returned to the Royal Garden and was pleased to find the same high standards and quality.

The Crown Club is staffed by Teresa and a extremely professional staff who are gracious, efficient and eager to assist. Daniel always seems to know exactly what I want as soon as I enter the club room, before I even have the opportunity to ask for it.

The entire hotel is immaculate and management is continuously making improvements. On this trip for example, I stayed in one of the refurbished executive rooms, which was very tastefully done. I was also provided with a complementary global satellite cell phone for my entire stay.

Located in TST, you're in walking distance to Victoria Harbor, Nathan Road shopping, the train station, and a vast array of diverse restaurants (although the ones in the RG are nothing short of excellent).

I've stayed at several 5 star properties in HK and would rate the RG right up there with the very best.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrybrandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    536
    122
    30
    31
See reviews for
251
346
69
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I just check out from the hotel, location wise its great! Food is excellent! But,
My kids couldnt sleep most nights because it was very very noisy! Music til 1 am
We were told that wifi was free, and when we checked out, we paid almost 1500 us dollar :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Umrashid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Syracuse, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a great hotel if you are staying in Kowloon, when I stay away from the airport I always choose the Royal Garden. It is in a fantastic location and the staff is amazing. The rooms are clean and remodeled. You cannot go wrong with this wonderful hotel. My daughter loves the pool and being so close to the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a premium room and the hotel is in a very good location short walk to TST East MTR and the bustling road of Nathan. Room is of a good comfortable size and clean but during the day time there's construction noise from the roof top. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarpsborg, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for five nights in a Premium-room, and loved the spacious room (for HK standard) with very comfortable beds. Loved the rainforest shower, and the large mirrors and plenty of good lighting. Very clean, and recently refurbished. We were offered half price for the breakfast buffet, and it was really a great and various selection of food. The staff was attentive and polite, and the service was excellent. The relaxed and spacious feeling in the hotel is a nice escape from the busy Nathan Road, which is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.
The location is great - within 5-10 minutes walk is TST MTR station, Avenue of the Stars,Harbour City, Star Ferry, Granville Road and Nathan Road. Around the corner you'll find McDonalds, 7eleven, ATM and a bunch of eateries of all kinds. Getting to intown-checkin at Kowloon Station you need to take a taxi (about 50 HKD) or the free shuttle bus from Hotel Shangri-La which is located next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 428Globetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was my first trip to HK, and the location of this hotel couldn't be better. Its in walking distance to the 'beach front', and to the Avenue of the stars, Harbour City (HUGE mall), ferries to HK island, etc. Not to mention, all the shops and restaurant right around the corner. This is really a good spot to start from!
Rooms were nice and clean, big, with everything you need or should get in a 5 star hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Eating here can be pricey... but there are sufficient restaurants to choose from in the streets of Tsim Sha Tsui etc.
Overall - very happy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurgen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

There are a couple good points about the hotel but other than that nothing to write home about. The good points: The rooms look modern with use of bright colours although after reading on tripadvisor that they were recently refurbished I can't say I noticed it. The A/C worked well although I could occasionally hear the compressor turn on. There were a great selection of sports channels on TV. A nice touch and something unique was a complimentary smartphone which allows you to not only browse the internet but also free unlimited calls both locally and internationally. A real bonus for those who like to make lots of long distance overseas calls. The room has a complete set of amenities.

On to the down sides: The rooms are very small and the double-rooms use twin single beds instead of twin queens found in more higher-end hotels. The beds were not particularly comfortable either. The pillows were adequate though. The front desk staff simply went through the motions and never once did I see any staff smile during my stay. The elevators were confusing to use with some elevators not having a lobby button. The lobby area has one small sofa meaning guests have to stand when waiting in the lobby area.

The hotel offers room prices just below that of the Shangri-la and Hyatt Regency to entice value seekers but the result is too many corners have been cut especially on the service side to warrant me returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritinBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Regal Kowloon Hotel
#101 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
New World Millennium Hong Kong Hotel
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#11 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Garden

Property: The Royal Garden
Address: No. 69 Mody Road | Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In its continuing pursuit of excellence and with a total investment of USD31 millions, the Royal Garden has just completed a sophisticated re-imaging programme of its 420 stylish guestrooms. The Royal Garden, conveniently located in the business and shopping areas of Tsimshatsui - a district well served by Hong Kong's efficient public transport system (MTR), is the only hotel in Hong Kong with a 110-foot atrium, allowing natural daylight to illuminate the hotel's interior by day and an exquisite ambience by night. The hotel has an impressive choice of the award winning and Michelin Recommended restaurants including Sabatini Ristorante Italiano, Inagiku Japanese restaurant, The Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant, The Greenery, Dong Lai Shun, Le Soleil and Martini Bar. Overlooking Victoria Harbour, the roof-top Mediterranean style Sky Club provides top quality leisure facilities including a 25 meter heated swimming pool and a Jacuzzi (open daily from 06:30 - 22:00hrs), 24 hours Gymnasium and Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel Hong Kong
Royal Garden Hong Kong
The Royal Garden Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing