We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #27 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Read lots of reviews before I booked the Royal Plaza, and almost put off by a few complaining of the railway noise. But definantly didnt have any noise disturbance and would recommend this hotel. The rooms were spacious and very clean, staff very polite and helpful. Mong kok is very convenient to markets shopping and restaurants,As a solo female traveller I had no trouble at all walking around the streets day or evenings. So easy to use public transport and taxis so cheap . Took the train to Shenzhen but the touts were very off putting decided it wasnt worth the effort of being hasselled and returned to Hongkong after an hour. The other complaint was I never saw the sun or sky for the week I was there, apart from that I enjoyed my time there .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,024
    1,454
    245
    79
    43
See reviews for
1,721
725
176
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Better find another hotel if you want to have a good sleep/time. Every morning I got a new letter from the hotel management informing us that either is a water shutt-off, or elevators are closed, or the renovation is from 9am to 6pm every day. Way too much for a few days stay in HK. The rooms have a bit of old rooms smell.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

March 1st - 16th, 2012...

I'd first like to comment that the Royal Plaza Hotel is perhaps on of the best hotels in the Mong Kok / Prince Edward area. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. The housekeeping is very polite and professional. I left all my valuables out by mistake, and nothing was touched. My laptop, DSLR, passport, ipads, and iphones were not even touched. As soon as we checked in with the friendly staff, they took our luggage and belongings up to our room. Fast friendly efficient staff were always a phone call away. The toiletries (soaps and etc) were very nice quality and were always refilled daily. 2 new water bottles were daily complimentary and newspaper too! Safe is located in closet. Fridge in the room is nice and tv was flat screen. Slippers and robes too! Tv channels were nice variety and AC was strong and cold. Beds are very nice and sleep well. Linens are clean and soft. Pillows are excellent feather. Internet was very expensive. The hour rate was $40 HKD, I got the 1 month pass for $600 HKD. You must call down to the front desk to have them change the option before you click and accept. Internet was very fast and stable. Ask the front desk or bell desk for travel information. They will tell you the best options. The hotel is located on top of the Subway system. Very easy to navigate with an Octopus card. (get one, U wont regret it). The gym and pool are very clean and amazing. The pool is large, clean and refreshing on a hot humid day in HK. The gym equipment is modern with tvs in clear view. The hotel is very reasonably priced thru our tour package, but they are currently remodeling the hotel. I expect great changes and great increase to the price too. I really love the Royal Plaza. Next to the hotel is the Grand Century Plaza, McDonalds and tons of food options are available. There is a kids play area and huge food court in the mall. Laundry service is expensive at the hotel, but a short walk out of the center, you can find drop off laundry for $40 HKD. Located near Flower Street and Goldfish Street, and 2 blocks from Garden Street... Centrally located in a great district. I would highly recommend this hotel any of my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nano805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oman
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We booked this hotel after reading some reviews here, but weren't expecting much. But we really enjoyed our stay of 5 nights. Altho the hotel is not new or modern, the family room we stayed was spacious and clean, and the beds are comfortable, which gave us good night sleep every night. The location was excellent; there are the flower market, the bird market, the goldfish market, the ladies market etc in the walking distance. The hotel is connected to the MTR station and a shopping mall, which was super convenient! On top of that, the award-winning Chinese restaurant in the hotel was just amazing!! We had dinner and dim-sim branch, and my 4 yr old boy loved the food there. Because of these surprises, I don't remember anything negative. Well, the hotel is huge and the lobby was always full of people, therefore the stuff seems to be running around. But it is Hong Kong...!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RitzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just spent a week in this hotel on holiday. Clean rooms and supported by efficient staff. We were warned about the renovations and if you are going to stay here, check out their website; although I will add this did not affect our stay. The hotel has a great gym and a heated swimming pool that is ideal after a day in the city. The hotel is based in Mong Kok and is very close to the ladies market, Fa Yuen street market, the bird market as well as the Temple night market. It is also very close to the MTR stations. The daily breakfast provided a good start to the day and we did enjoy the evening buffet with a great variety, although it cost HKD 508.00 per head, which we thought was a little steep. The only gripe I have is the internet connection which cost HKD 120.00 per day and even though this is wireless, you can only connect one item, so if you have a laptop and an iPad, this would be two separate costs; something I thought was unreasonable.
Overall I would recommend the hotel, we had a good time!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkshamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed in an executive suite at the Royal Plaza for 2 months. Firstly they offered me an excellent long stay package and to top it off the hotel itself was just superb in every aspect. MTR Mong Kok east aws just downstairs in the adjacent shopping centre which made transport access simply top of the line. A sprawling shopping mall adjacent made everything easy and available. When you are away from home what you need is the feel of being at home. I had a literally BIG room with excellent kitchenette facility. Swimming pool was superb so was the gym. Staffs are very friendly and nice, and always eager to help. Food quality is gooid and they have excellent buffet spread.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siddharth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

A family of 2 adults and 2 primary-school-going children, this hotel's family room has ample space in terms of Hong Kong's hotel rooms standards. 2 large beds in the room for 4 to snuggle in. Lift down to level one and it is connected to a shopping centre with the MTR Mong Kok East station. Very convenient, fuss-free movement especially when 2 little ones are tagging along.

Room Tip: If you want space, this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minxSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,395 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,737 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Royal Park Hotel
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Property: Royal Plaza Hotel
Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing