We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with bad attitude of staff”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #26 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good location at Mongkok though you need to walk about 1.5 Km to go to the nearest shop. Next to metro station with limited connectivity. Very busy front desk and takes 20-30 minutes for check in or any other job at front desk. Attitude of staff was also poor. Rooms were modern and clean with good sized bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirtisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,159 - 2,165 of 4,147 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Booked 3 months prior, alerted the hotel that we were a family of 5 and needed an extra roll away. Arrived at 10pm after all day travel and were greeted by a rude woman who said...we don't do rollaways! Then after persuasion and the fact that I had all our booking notes including the email sent to the hotel she adjusted her tone to oh yes we can do rollaway but won't fit in room. So after having to negotiate some form of compromise...which she alerted would cost us an extra $250 then persisted to snicker in our face...then they made room in our existing room.

After a suck eggs session with their night manager...time to hit the sack. Great room although small spoilt by our check in experience!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

stayed there for 13 nights
all the staff are amazing friendly and attentive
The rooms are fabulous and the service is impeccable
I would like to thank the whole team including Club floor Grace and headwaiter wilson Together they have made a difference. There are many pleasant surprises throughout the stay. To me, is the best hotel I have experienced in Hong Kong

very well done Royal Plaza hotel hong kong

Room Tip: club room high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deonsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in the family room for 5 nights and never had bad experience except how to use the air co properly. The bottles of water they provided, was sufficient for the 4 of us, 3 adults and 1 toddler. It's located above the mall and MTR Mongkok East station. Do not be afraid that you are going to starve because plenty of food inside and outside the hotel. The mall is under renovation and inside the MTR tunnel, they also have fastfood restaurant (Mc D) and Sasa. On the mall, u could take your children to play on the outside playground while you are enjoying your lunch in the foodcourt (they are next to each other).

The design of the hotel and the room itself, is very modern. Big enough for a Hong Kong Hotel. The bathroom is also big, with a great tub and hot water was working very well. The pillows are a good goose down quality and it's definitely comfortable. The bed is wide enough for a queen size bed, and not to hard and not to soft. We got the view of the mountain and below us, is the pool garden. You need your room key to access the elevator and to open the communal facilities. The pool and jacuzzi are also great. The water temperature on the pool was luke warm.and the jacuzzi was also working well. This hotel is very neat, clean, and lovely. Even my 4 YO daughter cried when we told her that we are going to move into Disneyland Hotel and insisted to stay in this hotel. She loves this hotel very much. We promised her to bring her back to this hotel next year with bigger group members.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophialeika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel went above and beyond to provide excellent service. The location was conviniently close to two train stations and just a short walk away from fa yuen street and ladys market! So close in fact that we walked to the markets every night of our stay!
Thoroughly enjoyed my time at the royal plaza and would definitly stay here again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I went there with my friends and we reserved family room. The room had 2 queen beds which was really convinient and they also gave the amenities 4 sets as it told for 4 people. The room was also very clean. And dont forget the location which just one step to the mrt station.

Just some reminder: you should stop at east mongkok station and you will find the hotel. It got me confused at first to reach there because i took the wrong stop which is mongkok only.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lim_Eka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very big room for 4 adults. 2 queen beds (160×200). Very clean dan good smell. The 2nd floor of the hotel connected to grand century mall. The ground level is east mongkok mtr station. Only 2 stops to Avenue of Star or Tsim Sha Tsui. We can also take hotel free shuttle bus ( book at concierge ) to the Tsim Sha Tsui. Only 15 to 20 min from hotel. The 3rd floor is foodcourt ( same with food republic Sin ). From airport we took airport express train to kowloon station only 21min. We bought the group of 4 tickets ( disc 40% ) total for 4 is 220hkd. Then we took free shuttle bus (K5) to Royal Plaza only 15 to 20 min arrived at Hotel Lobby. We will stay at Royal Plaza again next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanWidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
849 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,132 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#28 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#43 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,061 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,004 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £101 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing