We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT!”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #24 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Finally a hotel where the professional photos actually look identical to the room!

Pros:
-good service
-great toiletries
-extremely clean
-right above MTR
-connected to shopping centre
-free airport express shuttle to hotel

Cons
-Very limited TV channels
-Beware of happy hour at 'Lion Rock', it is a bit misleading

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,948
    1,415
    240
    74
    43
See reviews for
1,655
706
168
427
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I just stayed @ Royal Plaza hotel in Mong Kong area.

Location wise is ok. Just beside Mong Kong East MTR. But to take the red line Mong Kong Station will have to walk for around 5mins.
This is the con for the hotel.
Although the hotel do provide shuttle to Prince Edward MTR, the frequency is not alot.
Even the airport shuttle K5 requency is better.

The hotel is within this shopping centre call New Century Place. U can go for movies or KTV there if you like.
It's a 3mins walk to the shopping area Fa Yuen Street.
About 5-8mins walk to Mong Kong!

Room is quite spacious as we booked the family suite. Clean and well maintain.
The bed is really good! It's a Seally!
However, the housekeeping/ hotel can be more attentive in small points like the necessities provided.
There are 4 adults but we were given only 2 sets of toiletries. 2 coffee capsules.
And everyday we have to call the housekeeping for extra sets.

Room Tip: We actually upgrade our family suite to be able to sleep on a Seally bed.. which i find it a total b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ser1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here with my husband and two children 23rd June for 5 nights. The hotel was incredibly well priced for Hong Kong and is one of the few hotels in the city that is able to offer rooms for 4 people. I rang and spoke to the reservations who were incredibly helpful - excellent service. We booked to stay on the Club Lounge floor - it wasn't too much extra and was so worthwhile with breakfast included (in the lounge or the main restaurant) and snacks, afternoon tea, canapés and drinks available all day long (great for constantly snacking kids).
The extra money paid off immediately when we arrived at 7am and immediately bypassed reception (though it wasn't busy at that time) straight up to the exec dedicated check-in. They ushered us over to the breakfast whilst dealing with the check-in and had our luggage brought up. They then gave us the use of a meeting room to sort out luggage out so we could get our swimmers and go up to the swimming pool and health suite to relax and refresh. The pool is divine - and fantastically warm - the way all heated pools should be - and there is a great Jacuzzi and bar area. we felt so good afterwards we were able to go out and have a whole day sightseeing before returning to our room where our luggage was waiting.
The room is contemporary, great finishes and very spacious - plenty of room for the 4 of us. Each day the staff were great, the service helpful and prompt and the food good. we ate often in the (new) foodcourt in the shopping centre just beneath the hotel where there was an excellent choice of SE Asian food. We walked to the night markets and surrounding local markets plus had great shops on the doorstep. We used the walkways to Mongkok main station and caught the Red Bus tours from there and went all over Kowloon and the Island. We had a full day at Disneyland and managed all the major tourist attractions - and it was so nice to come back and relax in the pool each night.
Six months previously I came to HK and stayed at the very plush Langham Place (a girls weekend away rather than a family holiday). We stayed on the club lounge floor and it was great (vodka bar in the lounge and a lot of food throughout the day). But, by comparison it cost an arm and a leg; the Royal Plaza was just about half the cost and was just as good for a cheaper option - they are located about 10 mins walk from each other. It did really help that I knew my way around and we saved lots of time working out the walking routes but the hotel made it a great holiday. I cannot recommend them enough.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can and preferably the 18th and 19th Club Lounge floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie66cream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is located in a terrible location. The MTR station Mongkok East is not located along the main MTR line.Walking to the Mongkok station takes more than 10 minutes on a dirty bridge. If you wish to go anywhere from Mongkok East station, hope you have strong legs because it involved a lot of walking.

The hotel employees are also extremely inconsiderate.Even though I put up the Do Not Disturb signboard outside my door, they still come and pressed the bell. On another occasion, they had a fire drill in which they rang the fire alarm for 30 minutes. Imagine 30 minutes listening to a ringing fire alarm. You can go crazy here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kloh800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good location at Mongkok though you need to walk about 1.5 Km to go to the nearest shop. Next to metro station with limited connectivity. Very busy front desk and takes 20-30 minutes for check in or any other job at front desk. Attitude of staff was also poor. Rooms were modern and clean with good sized bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirtisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Booked 3 months prior, alerted the hotel that we were a family of 5 and needed an extra roll away. Arrived at 10pm after all day travel and were greeted by a rude woman who said...we don't do rollaways! Then after persuasion and the fact that I had all our booking notes including the email sent to the hotel she adjusted her tone to oh yes we can do rollaway but won't fit in room. So after having to negotiate some form of compromise...which she alerted would cost us an extra $250 then persisted to snicker in our face...then they made room in our existing room.

After a suck eggs session with their night manager...time to hit the sack. Great room although small spoilt by our check in experience!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

stayed there for 13 nights
all the staff are amazing friendly and attentive
The rooms are fabulous and the service is impeccable
I would like to thank the whole team including Club floor Grace and headwaiter wilson Together they have made a difference. There are many pleasant surprises throughout the stay. To me, is the best hotel I have experienced in Hong Kong

very well done Royal Plaza hotel hong kong

Room Tip: club room high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deonsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,188 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#49 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#30 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,543 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Property: Royal Plaza Hotel
Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing