We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great handy place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #34 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
hamilton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great handy place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We only spent a night here but great place to stay , it's all been redecorated since our last visit in 2011 . Very handy to trains and shops . Added plus is a lovely pool that not cold . People helpful and friendly we even had an up grade to a suite ! Never happens to me . Well worth the money .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,891
    1,393
    234
    73
    42
See reviews for
1,615
689
163
414
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This is my 4th i think, trip to HK, hotels are very expensive even hosteks £400 per week, we stayed in a double queen room £700 for 7 nights, the rooms are very clean, lovely well maintained bathrooms and lovely view. Its a few minutes walk to mong kok east station and about 10 minutes to mong kok, the best and cheapest shopping in HK. Spend that extra bit more if you can, to have a really nice stay in HK!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojobean91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

As this was our first time to Hong Kong we were apprehensive about paying a higher price for private transport to the Hotel. After some research we decided to take the airport express train to Kowloon station and the free shuttle to the Hotel. Was very easy, economical and we were dropped at the hotel lobby. The family room was comfortable and very nice. Free slippers and good amenities provided. We had breakfast included in the room rate and it was great. It was my birthday and they provided me with a free cake which was brought to the room with candles. It was delicious. The shopping centre attached to the hotel has lots of big brand shops, is newly renovated and has a really good food court area.
We walked to the Prince Edward Station (about 10 mins) and took the subway to the waterfront area. When we returned we were unsure of the correct exit and luckily managed to walk back to the hotel.
We would definitely return to this hotel, my only regret was we didn't have the buffet dinner as the price was quite high for a family of five.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisafromwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was at this hotel about 3 years ago. It was pretty good then, but with the update it is great! The old furnishings were quaint, but dated. Now the update to the more modern walk-in showers and tub make this a great property. We stayed in connecting rooms on the top floor. Great for our family. Pool and work out facilities are first rate. It is attached to a mall so that you can do some shopping and get a bite to eat. Breakfast is good.

Location to the MTR makes access to the rest of the city simple. Also, it is down the way from the alleys that sell a lot of merchandise as well as the street with birds.

Front desk did everything to fulfill our needs. Linens and bedding are very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_otter_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in late June. We had a deluxe family room with two big beds. It was comfortable for our needs. The bathroom was lovely. It had a great pool too. Right next to a shopping centre with direct access to the MTR. Also very easy to walk out onto the streets via the covered overhead walkways.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here with my family and we booked 2 Plaza Deluxe Family room. Each room is perfect for a family of 4. Been to Hong Kong several times and staying here is different. I've explored more of Hong Kong during our stay. Location was great as MTR is near the hotel and there's a shopping mall connected to it. It' also a walking distance to the night markets. Could also go to the sneakers street by foot. Rooms are cleaned everyday and toiletries are also provided everyday. I just hope they include breakfast to the room rates coz it's quite expensive. They have big rooms and big bathrooms. Beds are soft were you can sleep comfortably at night. They also provide soft pillows. Also, shuttle for the airport express stops at the hotel for drop off and pick up, so it's very convenient. Check in and check out is fast. Not just sure on weekends because they have a lot of guests. Was not able to take advantage of their pools coz it was very cold when we were there. Would consider staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: get a room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ros3mari3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The bathroom was beautiful, except for the strange addition of the blinds which can be rolled up and down to which is glass behind it, essentially whoever is in the room can see the person in the bathroom if they wish. Beds were comfortable and the overall room was good. The only negative is that we had a room on the 8th floor which is the floor of the pools and gym, everyday from about 430am until about 11pm there is music that you can hear into your room - mind you it's not that pleasant, just a few notes on a flute, not that nice when you have jet lag and just want peace and quiet. Not sure about the other levels but I'm sure this just came from the pools. Overall great stay, lots of guests so can be a bit much in the lobby.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank serawrkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,042 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#45 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#27 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,455 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,475 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Property: Royal Plaza Hotel
Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing