We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location and service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spent a night here and was upgraded to a club room. Check in and out service was quick. The room is spacious and comfortable. Room standard is excellent !
We were very pleased with the bell boy who were very patient with us in giving us directions and advices to the places we wanted to go,
The hotel is linked to a mall. It's a good 10 mins walk from the overhead bridge which linked the mall to the main Mongkok station. Other interesting places like Ladies street can be access via the bridge as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZacMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,988
    1,433
    242
    76
    43
See reviews for
1,688
716
172
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I just checked in on 24 July 2014. The hotel is not friendly at all.

1) Inconvience _Royal Plaza Hotel is situated between 2 malls. level 1 is under renovation now.
The main lobby DO NOT LEAD to the main street. we have to go through by the side exit.
we need to walk quite a big round through the 1st Mall, est 10 to 15min before we can go out to the main street or to night market.. or going to the red line MRT est 20min walk.
(seriously, I book this hotel as I see many good reviews here but I very regret staying this hotel. Not worth the value at all)

2) The only MTR lead to this hotel is MONGKOK EAST, blue line.
And it is not link to any of the common MTR lines. Please see carefully the MTR map before using.

3) The service of the hotel reception staff are LOUSY. They are not polite at all. Perhaps we are so unlucky to meet these 2. (If not, why I see so many reviews here praising the staffs?)

The only thing that is good about this hotel is the cleaniness.

Location, inconvenience
Staff service, lousy
Cleanliness, good
Overall, not worth for value.
We paid total $1,250 for 3nights stay for 1 room. 3person without breakfast.

Previously, we stayed at The Cityview about 8mth ago was much much much more better.
Better in location, 2min walk to red Line MRT. 5min walk to lady street.
Better staff Service.
Better price.
Sparious and clean too but not as new as Royal Plaza Hotel.



Helpful?
4 Thank irenetsw
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spacious & Elegant Rooms, Excellent location, Very efficient & co-operative staff !!!
Mongkok station just 10 minute walk away through over head bridge.
Great place to stay. Highly recommended hotel to stay in HK !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakulchandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We only spent a night here but great place to stay , it's all been redecorated since our last visit in 2011 . Very handy to trains and shops . Added plus is a lovely pool that not cold . People helpful and friendly we even had an up grade to a suite ! Never happens to me . Well worth the money .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This is my 4th i think, trip to HK, hotels are very expensive even hosteks £400 per week, we stayed in a double queen room £700 for 7 nights, the rooms are very clean, lovely well maintained bathrooms and lovely view. Its a few minutes walk to mong kok east station and about 10 minutes to mong kok, the best and cheapest shopping in HK. Spend that extra bit more if you can, to have a really nice stay in HK!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojobean91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As this was our first time to Hong Kong we were apprehensive about paying a higher price for private transport to the Hotel. After some research we decided to take the airport express train to Kowloon station and the free shuttle to the Hotel. Was very easy, economical and we were dropped at the hotel lobby. The family room was comfortable and very nice. Free slippers and good amenities provided. We had breakfast included in the room rate and it was great. It was my birthday and they provided me with a free cake which was brought to the room with candles. It was delicious. The shopping centre attached to the hotel has lots of big brand shops, is newly renovated and has a really good food court area.
We walked to the Prince Edward Station (about 10 mins) and took the subway to the waterfront area. When we returned we were unsure of the correct exit and luckily managed to walk back to the hotel.
We would definitely return to this hotel, my only regret was we didn't have the buffet dinner as the price was quite high for a family of five.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisafromwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was at this hotel about 3 years ago. It was pretty good then, but with the update it is great! The old furnishings were quaint, but dated. Now the update to the more modern walk-in showers and tub make this a great property. We stayed in connecting rooms on the top floor. Great for our family. Pool and work out facilities are first rate. It is attached to a mall so that you can do some shopping and get a bite to eat. Breakfast is good.

Location to the MTR makes access to the rest of the city simple. Also, it is down the way from the alleys that sell a lot of merchandise as well as the street with birds.

Front desk did everything to fulfill our needs. Linens and bedding are very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_otter_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,303 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,165 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,638 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Property: Royal Plaza Hotel
Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing