We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, very big room!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #29 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, very big room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

Room was very nice, clean and surprisingly big for price and location. High security, we had to give our room number and shower a swipe key to a staff member before entering the lift lobby. Very grand hotel.
As soon as you walk out the door, you're in the Grand Century Shopping Centre. From the elevators; you're literally 1 min from the cinemas, 5 mins from Ladies Market, 5 mins from Mong Kok East station, and a comfortable 15min to Mong Kok station.
Only down side was the service, not bad, but just not friendly either.
All in all, would definitely come back to this hotel on our next trip to HK.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evimun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,796
    1,366
    230
    73
    42
See reviews for
1,559
673
153
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

Well located, nice & spacious room, good services and affordable.
A shopping centre is just next to the hotel (separated by one door) where you can get almost everything there from meals to cosmetic items to luggage & cloths.
Via the shopping centre, you can access to Mongkok MTR via pedestrian bridge, about 10mins walk. You will pass-by famous shopping districts such as Sai Yeung Choi St, Fa Yuen St, Tung Choi St along the way.
The hotel also provides free shuttle bus service to MTR Prince Edward and Tsim Sha Tsui. There is also a free shuttle bus service to MTR Kowloon where you can board the Tung Chung Line (i.e. go to Disneyland or citygate outlets or Big Buddha) or the Airport Express.
Internet access is available in the room via RJ45 (i.e. LAN cable). A bit disappointment for me as I didn't bring along my laptop and I only have my PDA with me :(

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

V. comfortable rooms; courteous staff and right over the top of Mong Kok East MTR station so you nip out and about easily in-between business... chef knocks up top grub - did me poached egg and pan fried sole for brekky and staff are humoured into the bargain. Sea Bass on Room Service is delish. Improvements... pub singer pretty lady but a little loud! Some elements of the hotel need tarting up a fraction to avoid looking down at heel. They clean the place obsessively.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoomShackerLacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

I had high expectations from reading fellow traveler reviews here. And I have to say, I was a little disappointed from my 2 day stay there. The hotel is supposed to be relatively new, but the decoration and rooms look dated.

Our room was booked through a travel agent as part of the travel package for 3 of us. The person who booked the room couldn't make the trip and the rest 2 of us were almost refused to check-in. Finally we were told that we need to have the travel agent (in NY) to call the hotel or otherwise we need to pay $200 a night. When asking to assist in contacting our travel agent. We were told that we can pay HK$40 to use the internet to e.mail.

I understand Royal Plaza's position on this, but I couldn't help but feel that we were not valued as hotel guests, and were not offered any assistance in solving the situation.

Regarding the location of the hotel.. we find it quite ok. Yes it is 15 min walk from the Mong Kok station, but it is an easy and fun 15 min walk. There are lots of little shops and restaurants along the walk so we didn't mind it at all. It is also great that the hotel is connected to a major shopping mall. We found that the 2nd floor cafe in the mall has free internet with any purchase. It is a nice alternative than the HK$40 internet in the hotel lobby.

We also had dim sum in the hotel restaurant and the food there is great!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at the Royal Plaza over Christmas and New year.
We upgraded all rooms to the executive floor and found the hotel to be absolutely excellent and all staff, without exception, unbelievably helpful and friendly. The bedrooms were very spacious with excellent facilities and the executive package astonishing good value.
Whilst the hotel is not overlooking the sea front,its still very convenient being adjacent to Mong Kok East MTR. The journey down to Tsim Tsa Tsui is a breeze with one change at Hung Hom.Alternatively the journey can be done without changing by taking a short walk to either Prince Edward or Mong Kong MTR stations (10 minutes maximum).
The hotel also runs a regular free shuttle bus.
The Royal Plaza offers 5 star facilities at a fraction of the price of the big name hotels in TST or on HK Island and is to be thoroughly recommended. We would not even contemplate staying elsewhere when we next visit HK.
An absolutely excellent hotel !

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChriseB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

Quite a bit has been written recently about this hotel, most of it, just as we have found it. Room size was good, all the bells and whistles of a 5 star hotel just a little bit older and not near Victoria Harbour. Everything is well maintained though and service was very good. Although fully booked during most of our stay, no noise could be heard from our room. For the price, it's a very good deal. We paid AUD$160 with a AUD$40 inhouse credit included, prior to upgrading to executive club.

The biggest negative is it's location away from the 'centre' of town. That accepted though, it still has a good location. Right in the middle of many of the street markets - Ladies, Flower, Bird, Goldfish, Mong Kok Computer Centre, etc. Grand Century Plaza (big shopping complex) adjoins the Hotel. Mong Kok East MTR is in the same building complex and an elevated walkway leads to Mong Kok MTR (8 min walk saves time depending on destination). As mentioned, free shuttle to Tsim Sha Tsui.

We found that the upgrade to the Executive Club was cost effective. Bypassed check in on ground floor, drinks available all day, food available almost all day, free computer access during stay (computers available in club if extras required), few other odds and sods thrown in. Breakfast is included in main restaurant - huge variety. The staff on duty in executive club are very helpful and will research information, make bookings, give good local advice.

Only negative at the hotel was the rules in the health club / swimming pool. The facility is very good but they stick to the rules like chewy to the sidewalk, and there are heaps of them. In the end I think they realised we were having a bit of fun trying to get past the lifeguard on the pool deck with footwear on, but that made no difference - "shoes off please".

Something that you don't see too often anymore, lots of staff on duty everywhere (except front desk) and always willing to be of service.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Millet-Fanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

i booked and paid for this hotel because they have the feature of double double bed in a room. They even confirmed with me that they will give me the room by the time. But when we reached there about 9pm (after a 5 hours flight), was told that they didn't have one, and would give me a twin room by upgrading my room to the executive floor. The lady who was behind the counter has lots to say about the misunderstanding..which i thought was nonsense at that time. She said she will give me the room that i had requested, but when we reached our room, it was just 2 single beds. We are 2 adults and 1 child......and it is smoking floor. So we had to phone and fight for our rights. At last, they gave us what we needed. Room is clean, and big consider in the area. Internet is charged at HKD120 (24 hours) which is very expensive. Next to grand century shopping place, convenient. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osano m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Royal Park Hotel
#45 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,354 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,412 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#49 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Property: Royal Plaza Hotel
Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing