We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms, a hotel close to all amenities & shopping!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #29 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Athens, Greece & London UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, a hotel close to all amenities & shopping!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

I couldn't agree more with "2socks" write up (Jan 2010) about this hotel and the tips are spot on, so i'm going to try & keep this relatively short.

My family & I only stayed for 1 night, as our relatives are HK locals and we booked the rooms via Hotels.com HK as it's a lot cheaper -something like HK $800 (approx £67GPB) for a superior room than via the hotel direct. We booked 2 superior rooms and paid for an upgrade for one of the rooms to have a king size bed.
We arrived at 1:45pm to check in on the 17th but our rooms were not ready yet, and they also didn't allocate as to which rooms we'd stay in either. When we came back at 10:30pm they had kindly upgraded one of our rooms for free.

The hotel rooms are huge, clean and although there was a faint smell of smoke or some other weird smell, the other room was fine and it didn't bother us too much. The heater/air con didn't work in one room though, but no big deal. Also we had a DVD player in the room too.
The hotel is slap bang adjacent to the shopping mall, which you can get to in a few minutes, everything is quite literally at your doorstep, so location wise it's perfect! Everything is sigh posted clearly should you wish to get to ladies/flower market and "trainer/sneaker" street (end of Fa Yuen st-Shantung Street end).

There is a brilliant restaurant for Dim Sum (breakfast) adjacent to/part of the hotel - Royal Plaza Chinese Restaurant which serves up steamed delights in a jiffy and it's not too overpriced either. We dined there in the morning purely for convenience, otherwise most locals go to the 7th & 8th floor to the restaurants for afternoon dim sum. Also most locals dine (dim sum wise) at the top floor of most shopping malls from the Prudential building on Nathan road to the ones in MongKok.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kinezoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,366
    230
    73
    42
See reviews for
1,558
673
153
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

My mum and I stayed here for 3 nights in the Superior room. We got a 10% discount (USD125) which considering the location, was a steal. We initially chose this because of its location and having stayed here, will definitely chose to stay here again.

Location: very convenient and near to MTR (either the Prince Edward or MongKok), adjacent to Mongkok East MTR Station and KCR train station (to Shenzhen), and Grand Century Plaza (shopping mall which opens till 12am). Some people here have compained it's not near the Mongkok MTR but puh-leaze, it's just a 5-10 min walk along the covered walkway - it's safe, pretty and busy all the time - the locals use it and it's lined with posters outlining HK's history. This walkway also connects to Gold Fish St and Mongkok shops - excellent location if you're after electronics and street (non-branded) clothing. It's also just opposite Flower St and Bird Park (see the locals display and chat about their birds). If you're returning from Tsim Sha Tsui, just take the MTR directly to Mongkok East and enter the hotel from Grand Century - no worries about safety returning late.

Room/service: room was big (by HK standards) and furnishings are classy - don't understand why some people say it's "outdated" - maybe they think classic wood furnishing is "outdated" or haven't seen truly outdated furnishings; check-in/out was speedy (even received a free bag because we booked online); staff were helpful; security is great (another reason we chose it - you need your room card to enter the hotel from Grand Century, and access your floor and pool). True, it was a bit noisy at the lobby but that can't be helped with the place being busy and the restaurant/bar near it, but the rooms are quiet and we had undisturbed sleep.

Tip:
1) Check the drawer for special discounts/promotions available only to the hotel's guests - there are heaps!
2) Avoid the internet unless you have it free - you can get free internet (with any purchase) at the cafe in Grand Century.
3) And why would you spend money on hotel food when you're in HK, the food paradise??? Go out and try the food stalls or restaurants in Mongkok or even the foodcourt in Grand Century - it has 1 of the best Hainanese Chicken!
4) Use the Airbus (operated by the airport) instead of their shuttle - the former costs 3/4 less! The bus drops/picks up right in front of the hotel - just check the schedule at the airport when you arrive - there should be 1 every 20 mins.

Overall, we had a great time and it served us well for what we wanted to do and where we wanted to go. Will definitely stay here again if the rates are (again) reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

Room was very nice, clean and surprisingly big for price and location. High security, we had to give our room number and shower a swipe key to a staff member before entering the lift lobby. Very grand hotel.
As soon as you walk out the door, you're in the Grand Century Shopping Centre. From the elevators; you're literally 1 min from the cinemas, 5 mins from Ladies Market, 5 mins from Mong Kok East station, and a comfortable 15min to Mong Kok station.
Only down side was the service, not bad, but just not friendly either.
All in all, would definitely come back to this hotel on our next trip to HK.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evimun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

Well located, nice & spacious room, good services and affordable.
A shopping centre is just next to the hotel (separated by one door) where you can get almost everything there from meals to cosmetic items to luggage & cloths.
Via the shopping centre, you can access to Mongkok MTR via pedestrian bridge, about 10mins walk. You will pass-by famous shopping districts such as Sai Yeung Choi St, Fa Yuen St, Tung Choi St along the way.
The hotel also provides free shuttle bus service to MTR Prince Edward and Tsim Sha Tsui. There is also a free shuttle bus service to MTR Kowloon where you can board the Tung Chung Line (i.e. go to Disneyland or citygate outlets or Big Buddha) or the Airport Express.
Internet access is available in the room via RJ45 (i.e. LAN cable). A bit disappointment for me as I didn't bring along my laptop and I only have my PDA with me :(

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

V. comfortable rooms; courteous staff and right over the top of Mong Kok East MTR station so you nip out and about easily in-between business... chef knocks up top grub - did me poached egg and pan fried sole for brekky and staff are humoured into the bargain. Sea Bass on Room Service is delish. Improvements... pub singer pretty lady but a little loud! Some elements of the hotel need tarting up a fraction to avoid looking down at heel. They clean the place obsessively.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoomShackerLacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

I had high expectations from reading fellow traveler reviews here. And I have to say, I was a little disappointed from my 2 day stay there. The hotel is supposed to be relatively new, but the decoration and rooms look dated.

Our room was booked through a travel agent as part of the travel package for 3 of us. The person who booked the room couldn't make the trip and the rest 2 of us were almost refused to check-in. Finally we were told that we need to have the travel agent (in NY) to call the hotel or otherwise we need to pay $200 a night. When asking to assist in contacting our travel agent. We were told that we can pay HK$40 to use the internet to e.mail.

I understand Royal Plaza's position on this, but I couldn't help but feel that we were not valued as hotel guests, and were not offered any assistance in solving the situation.

Regarding the location of the hotel.. we find it quite ok. Yes it is 15 min walk from the Mong Kok station, but it is an easy and fun 15 min walk. There are lots of little shops and restaurants along the walk so we didn't mind it at all. It is also great that the hotel is connected to a major shopping mall. We found that the 2nd floor cafe in the mall has free internet with any purchase. It is a nice alternative than the HK$40 internet in the hotel lobby.

We also had dim sum in the hotel restaurant and the food there is great!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at the Royal Plaza over Christmas and New year.
We upgraded all rooms to the executive floor and found the hotel to be absolutely excellent and all staff, without exception, unbelievably helpful and friendly. The bedrooms were very spacious with excellent facilities and the executive package astonishing good value.
Whilst the hotel is not overlooking the sea front,its still very convenient being adjacent to Mong Kok East MTR. The journey down to Tsim Tsa Tsui is a breeze with one change at Hung Hom.Alternatively the journey can be done without changing by taking a short walk to either Prince Edward or Mong Kong MTR stations (10 minutes maximum).
The hotel also runs a regular free shuttle bus.
The Royal Plaza offers 5 star facilities at a fraction of the price of the big name hotels in TST or on HK Island and is to be thoroughly recommended. We would not even contemplate staying elsewhere when we next visit HK.
An absolutely excellent hotel !

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChriseB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Royal Park Hotel
#44 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,350 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#49 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Property: Royal Plaza Hotel
Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing