We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Tsim Sha Tsui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #45 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location in Tsim Sha Tsui”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stay was great! Location was great -- very accessible to MTR, walking distance to airport shuttle stop (A21), Star Ferry terminal is just a few minutes walk away, Tsim Sha Tsui and all it has to offer is just outside the door. Rates were affordable when compared to other hotels in the area. Room was spacious and clean, decorated in white and tan tones. Some of the even number rooms face the bay -- the 8pm light show could be visible in some rooms. There's a college in the same building, so you also share the 2 elevators with students. Buffet breakfast was ok, there was variety of choices and an omelette stand. Ground floor lobby was spacious, staff can speak English. There's a cafe also in the ground floor, and a Christian bookstore.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank xtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,407
    1,151
    177
    25
    20
See reviews for
733
899
294
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stay here every year(sometimes more) on a stopover to the UK.
The harbour view suites are ideal for a small family and love the fact we can put the kids down to sleep and still have space for ourselves and watch the light show.
For a fraction of the price you get a million dollar view.
Buffet breakfast is great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was my wife & I first time to Hong Kong. We couldn't have chosen a better location to have as base for our exploration of HK. The staff were always helpfull , cheerful & polite. The breakfast (included in our stay) was to die for. Our room (on the 11th floor) had a partial harbour view overlooking the 1881 Heritage hotel looking towards the Star ferry wharf and to Hong Kong Island. It was always clean & tidy. A great indoor pool area, good coffee lounge. It's location is so good for all modes of transport around HK. We can only highly recommend The Salisbury - YMCA is the place to stay while in HK with out breaking the bank. We will be definately going back there in the near future.

Room Tip: Unfortunately the rooms with complete views of the harbour were under renovations during our stay th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddyo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metchosin, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have no idea how I first stumbled on this place but I have stayed here on every trip to Hong Kong since the 1980s. The location is ideal- right on the water, near the Star Ferry and MTR and main streets and the Art gallery. Plain but comfortable rooms, clean and cheap. You can't do better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newleaph-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on my previous two visits to HK. It was as good as ever this time. I was in a suite with partial harbour views, it was stunning - both room and views! My room had been very recently renovated. The place was immaculate, I had access to every service that I might need, the location was ultra convenient (5 minutes dawdle to the Star Ferry pier, Kowloon side) and the service was superb. Every single member of staff with whom I interacted was unpretentious and most friendly. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It's not always easy to book in here - I have tried countless times and it pays to plan well ahead as it is justifiably popular, although it does seem that more rooms get released for booking at different times so keep trying.
This is in A1 location next door to the Peninsular Hotel and a hop away from Nathan road shopping and Tsim Tsa Tsui ferry.
Rooms I stayed in were freshly refurbished and had a bright, clean comfortable vibe about them, not huge but OK - as good as some of their 4 & 5 star cousins and both times I stayed there was fresh fruit in the room. Some have pretty good harbour views too.
Staff are friendly and efficient.
Has a restaurant and good value breakfast for about US$10. Wifi is extra which is a pain but about the only blemish I could find. A full gym is on the premises and is around US$10per visit.
Once you stay here I think you're value perspective changes and you'll be back!

Room Tip: Newly refurbished rooms with a harbour view would be prime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burg3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in the Hotel during October 2013 for Six Days.

Check in was very smooth even though we arrived the Hotel around midnight. Most of the Hotel staff talks good and fluent English.

The hotel is at the center of activity in Kowloon. Great Location. Unbeatable price. Great views , day and night. Matchless service. Great food. What else you need when on a vacation tour?

The exit to the Metro is just outside the lobby. The hotel is well connected with all major attractions nearby, many within walking distance like MTR station, Star Ferry, Avenue of Stars, Harbor City, 1881, TST Promenade, Museums, Kowloon Park, shopping malls, Hongkong Tourism counter, lot of eateries and a lot more.

The customers are mainly westerners, and guests from mainland seems to be minimal.

One thing which we always remember about this Hotel is the ever-smiling staff, especially in the Reception, Cash desk and Concierge. The Hotel has tie up with few local tour operators, which is very helpful for people who has not booked any sightseeing trip in advance.

Of course, the Hotel has some scope for improvement:-
1. Provide free WiFi in rooms
2. Replace the sofa sets, which are in a very bad shape, at the lobby. May be, they will replace it once the renovation is through.
3. Similarly, the carpet at the lobby needs immediate replacement.

No wonder why it is very difficult to get reservations in this hotel unless you book well in advance. Will recommend this hotel to anybody and will surely come back here..

Room Tip: Go for Harbor view or Partial harbor view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,626 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,631 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,809 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Property: The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing