We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #43 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the YMCA for 8 days, and it was an excellent stay. The price is much cheaper than surrounding hotels, and they have great facilities such as swimming, rock climbing and tennis. The swim pool is free to guests, but the other facilities require a small fee. We also used the laundry room twice which was clean and required tokens for 20HKD from the desk.
Most of the rooms have recently been renovated, and they look better than most 4 star hotels in America. We had a harbor view on the 15th floor, and the harbor was beautiful to watch every night.
The breakfast was the only downfall of this place as they did not have much for the price they charged, but we only ate in the cafeteria once when we were here. I would not recommend adding the breakfast to your reservation.
Overall, the YMCA was a great place with an excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jarrett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,811)
There are newer reviews for The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 2,811 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location of the hotel is good as mentioned before. We had paid for a harbour view room but got it in hotels north wing so it was not good nor what we expected. We could see harbour only by standing next to the window. We did try to change the room but they did not do it.

Our room was on ninth floor and it was very noisy. Street noise is bad on especially at night time untill wee hours. You can hear it even through earplugs. Walls are paper thin and so is the door which keeps no corridor noise outside. Plus there was continuous drilling and hammering at the hotel from early in the morning. Not the best place to relax... but good for shopping.

Our room was renewed and was clean by good and friendly housekeeping. However the room is very beige. Bed is firm and shower is good. Breakfast at the restaurant is okay.

We did not stay our whole holiday in this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MindyTampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

best location in the heart of Tsimshatsui Kowloon.Good harbor views from rooms and breakfast area..Very good breakfast buffet.The hotel is very close to the harbor and ferry and to metro stations.Evenings were great as we watched the Light and sound show from the many buildings around the harbor. .Check in and check out fast and efficient and personnel were very nice and helpful.Will use this hotel again and recommend it too.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with harbor view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xenmd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We booked 2 premium harbor view family suites for our group of 7 (2 children 12 and under). We had the most beautiful view in this lovely hotel. The outside of the building looks like any plain high rise but the inside lobby is quite nice and the suites are wonderful. It is located right on Victoria Harbour. You get the most beautiful view from the harbor view suites. We had a nice bathroom, bedroom and living room with a sofa bed. Located right next to the Peninsula Hotel at a much lower price. So close to the MTR station, the Star Ferry and multiple shopping areas. We also walked to Kowloon Park and the Temple Street Market.

We took the airport express shuttle to the Kowloon Station, then you can take a free very nice air conditioned Mercedes Benz bus (K2 line) to right across the street from this hotel. Be sure to change some money in the airport so you can buy your Octopus card to take the train and buy a SIM card for your GSM phone. Octopus cards can also be used to pay for the Peak Tram, the MTR, even some food items at the 7 Eleven, etc. So useful!

Would definitely stay at this hotel again in the future. The location cannot be beat!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room so you can see the harbor. Pay up for the premium view; it is totally wor...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is an amazing hotel in a great location! Don't let the YMCA title allow you to think that this is not a fantastic hotel! I personally love the harbour view rooms and they are extremely competitively priced. I believe this hotel is the best location, best value for money and has the most courteous staff that you could ever find in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room or suite.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We don't do cities often in our travels, but wanted to experience Hong Kong and since it's one of the major cities in the world, wanted a first rate experience . The Salisbury offered just that. We booked a harbor view room on a high floor. Being just next to the famous Peninsula Hotel, we got a spectacular view of HK skyline. The rooms are modern, and not too basic, with coffee and tea facility and a TV.
The staff at the front desk and concierge were extremely helpful and efficient.
I will highly recommend a stay at this hotel. It offers very good value for money.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 13th floor with full harbor view, but partial harbor view will also suffice. The n...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshua r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Salisbury YMCA is roomy, clean, affordable, and has great amenities. It has been a very comfortable place for me on long stays.

Of course, you can make use of the extensive athletic facilities, including a pool. Then there is the downstairs cafe that has just the right snack for the munchies. And a laundry room that charges pennies so you don't have to lug dirty clothes to a laundromat.

The location can't be beat. The famed Peninsula Hotel is next door, and the YMCA shares its view and location. You're on the edge of the craziness that is Tsim Sha Tsui. You're steps away from the Star Ferry to Hong Kong as well as the MTA.

An added benefit is that a lot of tours stop to pick up participants at the YMCA. So you're well-positioned for them as well.

The only possible drawback is that it is on the Kowloon peninsula, and may not be as convenient for late-night activities on Hong Kong island.

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying a little more, ask for at least the partial harbor view rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mindkandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,576 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,738 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#95 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,673 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £100 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing