We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hotel with a great location and view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #42 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel with a great location and view”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had heard of this hotel from friends who had stayed there in the past and really liked it. It turned out to be an excellent recommendation!! The staff was extremely courteous and all spoke excellent English. We had arrived in Hong Kong early in the morning around 7:30, and showed up to the Salisbury, but our room was not ready. The bell staff held on to our luggage while we walked around Tsim Sha Tsui. We were told to come back around noon, but by 11AM our room was ready, we truly appreciated this.
We booked a harbor view room and we were extremely happy with the view and the room. The room was not large but it had a decent queen bed and everything we needed. The WiFi was a bit spotty and only one device could be used at a time, which was frustrating, but it was free. The breakfast on the 4th floor was also very good and included a great variety of different foods sure to satisfy the pickiest of eaters, and included in our room rate.
The Salisbury is located really close to the K2 bus drop off point from the MTR station arriving from the airport.
The Salisbury is right in the middle of the action super close to Nathan Road and the Star ferry terminal.
If you are looking for the best value for quality in Kowloon, I would easily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a Harbor View room, and if you can, request a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martinez_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    1,156
    178
    25
    20
See reviews for
735
901
296
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have booked a room with a partially harbor view and upon checking in, I was given an upgrade to a fuller view of the magnificent HK skyline. I couldn't complain about that.

The hotel is currently undergoing a face lift, therefore do expect some noise to be filling the building during the day. I was out most of the time so the renovation condition didn't bother me. If
you plan on staying in most of the time, I would suggest you to pick another hotel.

The room was very simple and clean. The bed however was a little soft to my liking. Apart from that, I wouldn't complain much. The complimentary wifi worked like magic, which was nice. The room doesn't provide you with an ironing board nor hair dryer but you could ask from Housekeeping for them. They are very efficient so you would have no problem with their tip top service.

Do select a room with breakfast when staying at this premise. The breakfast is served at Level 4 and you will have a nice breakfast with the view of the harbor. They have a decent selection of food. Gotta love the bacon and English muffins they put out every morning.

It is easy to move around the Tsim Sha Tsui area, MTR station is a good 7mins walk through the subway. It is also very easy to flag down cabs at this hotel. Do ask the security guy at the entrance to assist if you do need to ride in one. Usually it would cost about HK100 to Central area through the usual tunnel but if you access to Central through West Tunnel, it would cost you additional HK65. The cab drivers will ask you in advance before you start your journey.

It is safe to walk around this area at night. Especially if you would like to head out to Avenue of Star which is about 10mins to reach. If you are visiting Macau via Ferry, the terminal for ferry is just 15mins walk from the hotel. It is extremely convenient. Go seek advise at the Concierge at the lobby, they will be more than happy to guide you.

Enjoy it. I had a wonderful stay at this place and will definitely recommend it to everyone who is visiting Hong Kong.

Room Tip: 1) Spend a bit more to get the Harbor View room, you won't regret it. 2) Choose a room with Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michiko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were lucky to have been upgraded to a harbour view suite which was as good as it gets outside of something three times the price in a 5 star chain. Service, furnishings and a view of one of the most beautiful harbours in the world coupled with its location makes this a must for a HK stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel was what we expected,nice room at a high floor with harbour view,good location and walking distance to the Ferry terminal and the different Places to visit in Knowlon. Breakfast ok.
The staff was helpful and nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller190504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The room is quite cosy, quite big, comfortable. The location is also very good. Near to LRT & also ferry. If you are a Muslim, this is the area that you should stay because there's a lot of Halal food in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuni2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the YMCA for 8 days, and it was an excellent stay. The price is much cheaper than surrounding hotels, and they have great facilities such as swimming, rock climbing and tennis. The swim pool is free to guests, but the other facilities require a small fee. We also used the laundry room twice which was clean and required tokens for 20HKD from the desk.
Most of the rooms have recently been renovated, and they look better than most 4 star hotels in America. We had a harbor view on the 15th floor, and the harbor was beautiful to watch every night.
The breakfast was the only downfall of this place as they did not have much for the price they charged, but we only ate in the cafeteria once when we were here. I would not recommend adding the breakfast to your reservation.
Overall, the YMCA was a great place with an excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jarrett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is good as mentioned before. We had paid for a harbour view room but got it in hotels north wing so it was not good nor what we expected. We could see harbour only by standing next to the window. We did try to change the room but they did not do it.

Our room was on ninth floor and it was very noisy. Street noise is bad on especially at night time untill wee hours. You can hear it even through earplugs. Walls are paper thin and so is the door which keeps no corridor noise outside. Plus there was continuous drilling and hammering at the hotel from early in the morning. Not the best place to relax... but good for shopping.

Our room was renewed and was clean by good and friendly housekeeping. However the room is very beige. Bed is firm and shower is good. Breakfast at the restaurant is okay.

We did not stay our whole holiday in this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyTampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#90 of 717 in Hong Kong
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,663 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 717 in Hong Kong
2,855 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Property: The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing