We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has been sold 2 months ago, will close soon for deco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silvermine Beach Resort
Ranked #374 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This hotel has been sold 2 months ago, will close soon for deco”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Sold, closing soon for a re fit.
Any one who has stayed there since sold (2 months ago) have had to put up with very dirty rooms etc high price and little care from the staff.
We paid top dollar for a 2 star hotel, room was $1,600 hk per night which was only worth $350 in my opinion!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    158
    116
    55
    35
See reviews for
99
145
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Though the staff was very kind and courteous, it couldn't make up for the toxic room. The carpet throughout the hotel was disgusting, to say the least, but the worst was in the room. Our "non-smoking" room must mean "during our stay", as the stench of cigarettes was overwhelming every time we entered. I have some mild allergies and didn't sleep for 3 nights because of coughing from dust, mold and mildew. The windows could not be opened, so we felt as if we were suffocating. We stayed outdoors all day and enjoyed the wonderful air and local seafood, but going back into the room at night was almost unbearable. I can't believe we paid over $1,000/night for this. Upside was great view of the bay, great weather, great local seafood. Definitely worth a day trip to go there, but would not stay again unless a serious remodel is done.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hongkongwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here in April and I must say that it definitely is good value for money. The place is in Lantau (if you are not familiar with HK, then Lantau is one of the three key islands including HK mainland and Kowloon). It a much serene and spacious place compared to the mainland, with the Cable car and the giant Buddha being the key 'things to see' here. the hotel is just beside the beach and provides a good view. There are also a few good eating places around. There are bus services to all the main attractions as well as to the airport.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkandalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I like the location, and sometimes if you shop on the net, the price is good.
I enjoy being able to explore Hong Kong and coming back to safe and scenic Mui Wo at night.

Room Tip: check all hotel booking sites, and look for rate with buffet breakfast included
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We returned to the hotel for a night while on a stopover to Bali. We loved our night here and the beach is lovely. We were lucky enough to get a sea view room at the front of the newer block. Once again I should say that the rooms are not great at all and if yours is terrible ask to move. Our patio doors didn't open which was a real pity and I really wish that someone would buy this place and do it up. The biggest disappointment was that the pool was closed as the pump and filter had broken down. The staff are friendly and we still loved our night here. Make sure you check out the websites such as booking.com, laterooms, hotels4u etc as they usually have cheaper deals and you will only enjoy this hotel if you haven't paid through the nose for it. We do love this hotel though and highly recommend a few days there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltu00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We have stayed at the Silvermine several times over the last 8 years. We weren't sure about going back this time. We should really have listened to our heads rather than our hearts.
Location, location, location. Five stars for being a quiet beach hotel in bustling Hong Kong, close to the ferry terminal taking just 35 minutes to Central.
Two stars for food which hasn't moved with the times and tries to provide too much choice for too small clientele. Nice try but really you need to reduce your quantity to increase your quality.
Two and a half stars for the rooms. They really do need a re-vamp, the bathrooms need to be completely renovated.
We'd love to return to the Silvermine but it needs a serious overhaul first. If you do stay here, and there's nothing wrong with the location - eat at the China Bear (breakfast) and the China Beach Club, or travel into Central for a fantastic choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We found at least 3 cockroaches in the bathroom, water coming from the faucet was dirty on our 2nd night, can't relax because the room is dirty. kid were disappointed coz the swimming pool was closed

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo_deleon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Gold Coast Hotel
#100 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#296 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#55 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,862 reviews
Lantau Island
Tai O Heritage Hotel
Tai O Heritage Hotel
#160 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvermine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvermine Beach Resort

Property: Silvermine Beach Resort
Address: D.D.2 Lot 648,Silvermine Bay, Mui Wo, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silvermine Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an escape from the hectic city life or for replenishing yourself with a relaxing vacation, the Silvermine Beach Resort in Mui Wo on the eastern coast of Lantau Island is just the place for you. Silvermine Beach Resort is a distinctive beachfront property that boasts 128 guest rooms, beautifully landscaped gardens, outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room, as well as meeting and event facilities. The Hotel is just ten-minute walking distance from Mui Wo ferry pier, only 30-minute ferry from Central, with public bus routes to Tung Chung and Hong Kong International Airport, is excellent to travelers for both sightseeing and vacation on Lantau island with Ngong Ping, Big Buddha, Tai O and Disneyland etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silvermine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvermine Beach Hong Kong
Hotel Silvermine Beach
Silvermine Beach Hotel Hong Kong
Silvermine Hotel
Silvermine Beach Resort Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing