We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View but Rooms Need a Serious Make Over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silvermine Beach Resort
Ranked #389 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in Silvermine Beach Resort for 5 days. We booked 2 rooms and the other room bathroom toilet needs to be fix. Slow water flowing in the toilet. Carpets are not clean but since we don't stay much in the room we just go around Lantau Island. Nice view of the island, very refreshing but rooms need a lot of make over. The prices of the rooms are very high for the old place. The best services we had are the filipino staff in the restaurant. Breakfast are very good. You need to buy drinks for your internet for 2 hours. You need to bring your adaptor in order for you to use your hair iron or hair curing iron. If they will renovate the rooms and change all the carpets , i think this hotel will be the best hotel in lantau. As of now, they need a total make over.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

As we were told by a restaurant owner "it is the best we have got here". Rooms are clean, staff are friendly, breakfast is below average and the bar is very overpriced. Silver mine beach is a lovely spot but we will be driving here in the future rather than paying the very expensive room rates.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Seth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Silvermine Beach Resort is in an excellent location. Mui Wo is perfect for unwinding after a very busy day in Hong Kong. The public areas of Silver Mine Bay Beach Resort are very good. But the rooms are getting to be in need of a serious makeover. I knew this before we booked as I had stayed at the hotel in the past. I would also stay again when I next visit Hong Kong.
The view from the rooms that are facing the sea more than makes up for the condition of the rooms. Really refreshing to wake up in the morning , directly overlooking the sea and beach.
The restaurant food is good and the Buffet Breakfast is also very good. Excellent Filipino Staff as well.
There is no elevator in the hotel.
Only 30 minutes from Mui Wo to Central Hong Kong by Fast Ferry.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcus4444076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here in 2012 and we enjoyed it so much that we booked another 8 days in October.We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves once more. The location is stunning ! Only 30 minutes or so from Central by ferry, if you are looking for a tranquil spot away from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong, then this hotel fits the bill ! Having breakfast on the terrace gives you a panoramic view of the bay, enhanced by the fact that the small road between the hotel and the beach is closed to motor vehicles,thus creating an oasis of calm.
The food is of a good standard with a fair amount of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful, although one or two were not totally competent at their jobs. An example of this would be the tables which were not cleared away in order to allow new arrivals to sit at them. Wifi access is available, though I do find it an irritation that you have to buy something from the bar in order to obtain a 2 hour slot ! However, free Wifi is available in many bars and restaurants in Mui Wo, which is only a few minutes stroll from the hotel.
Our room was spacious (much sought after in Hong Kong !), clean, well-equipped, with a good view of the mountains and the sea.
Whilst there is a more luxurious hotel on Lantau, the Auberge, where we stayed subsequently, the Silvermine Beach does represent tremendous value for money. We stayed in a mountain/garden view room (2215 ?) and in our opinion it is not worth paying extra for a sea view ! We really did enjoy our stay here !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great base for exploring Lantau, some lovely restaurants in the village itself. You can walk up to the waterfall, which is especially impressive after a rainfall! Hotel rooms are dated, however clean and the staff very friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a very tired Hotel. But the staff make up for it by being very helpful and the position right on the beach is wonderful.
The room we had was very old and needed a lot of work. The water pipes made strange noises in the night and the bathroom was pretty grotty with old mouldy silicone (fix ups).
But you are not in the rooms for long. The beach is lovely and there are some great local seafood restaurants lined along the bay.
The buses all stop near the Ferry Terminal and you can go all around the island to the Big Buddha or to the Cable Car that takes you to the Big Buddha from the major shopping centre of Tung Chung.
The pool at the Hotel is very clean and quite large but you have to 'be in the know' when it comes to pool towels and cushions for the pool chairs. We didn't know there were pool towels etc. available until we saw other guests approaching the 'life guards' who were in a well worn tent arrangement at the end of the pool grounds. They, apparently had all the pool gear but never openly offered it unless approached.
There is a very good buffet breakfast that is included in your room rate. However there seems to be a secret to being able to sit at the window seats. We never discovered what that was either!
All in all a good stay if you are prepared for the fact that they have the best position in Silvermine Bay so they don't have to try too hard. Pricing pretty much reflects the condition of the Hotel. You pay for the view.

Room Tip: There must be better quality rooms available, but we didn't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Get here to avoid busy sorroundings from the city. A quite place in front of the sea. Nice food and when you buy drinks from the restaurant you may get a free enternet, and thanks to the Fil staff. But not very good in service- after check-in in the frontdesk they just give the key with a little instruct and you may go to your room. Mostly tourist have suit cases and our room is in the next floor but no elavator, need to carry all bags with our self thru stairs.

Room Tip: Room in front of the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vangie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
#97 of 723 in Hong Kong
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#369 of 723 in Hong Kong
97 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#107 of 723 in Hong Kong
941 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#56 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvermine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvermine Beach Resort

Address: D.D.2 Lot 648,Silvermine Bay, Mui Wo, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £60 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silvermine Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an escape from the hectic city life or for replenishing yourself with a relaxing vacation, the Silvermine Beach Resort in Mui Wo on the eastern coast of Lantau Island is just the place for you. Silvermine Beach Resort is a distinctive beachfront property that boasts 128 guest rooms, beautifully landscaped gardens, outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room, as well as meeting and event facilities. The Hotel is just ten-minute walking distance from Mui Wo ferry pier, only 30-minute ferry from Central, with public bus routes to Tung Chung and Hong Kong International Airport, is excellent to travelers for both sightseeing and vacation on Lantau island with Ngong Ping, Big Buddha, Tai O and Disneyland etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silvermine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvermine Beach Hong Kong
Hotel Silvermine Beach
Silvermine Beach Hotel Hong Kong
Silvermine Hotel
Silvermine Beach Resort Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing