We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silvermine Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silvermine Beach Resort
Ranked #360 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I arrived there at 10:30pm after a 22 hour international flight. The staff was very rude and not helpful at all. I was charged $58.00 usd for the room and after I left another $328.00. They will not ever ever ever answer there phones so good luck with this one. Btw guess have to walk down an alley with there luggage to get there. It is a decent place but I would give this place a 3....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    158
    115
    54
    35
See reviews for
98
144
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hotel locate 20 m away from the Beach and offer nice quiet atmosphere inside Mui Wo village in Lantau island. Place is perfect who like combine bustling city and Beach holiday. City center of Hong Kong can reach by 30 min using ferry boat who bring you to Central at Hong Kong island.

From hotel can make trips around Lantau Isand by bus or by walk.

Hotel itself is basic hotel, rooms look a bit old and breakfast was quite basic as well. Service was frienly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyfishermanBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We had our stay for 4 nights at the resort and the place is suitable for those who want to have a relaxing vacation away from the city. The good side is if you want to go to the central, you can take a ferry about 30 minutes. The place is good with friendly and helpful staff. Having breakfast in front of the beach is also a plus. The rooms are ok but if you are booked on a higher level you need to take the stairs as there is no elevator. Overall, the place is a thumbs up!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GerardGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in Silvermine Beach Resort for 5 days. We booked 2 rooms and the other room bathroom toilet needs to be fix. Slow water flowing in the toilet. Carpets are not clean but since we don't stay much in the room we just go around Lantau Island. Nice view of the island, very refreshing but rooms need a lot of make over. The prices of the rooms are very high for the old place. The best services we had are the filipino staff in the restaurant. Breakfast are very good. You need to buy drinks for your internet for 2 hours. You need to bring your adaptor in order for you to use your hair iron or hair curing iron. If they will renovate the rooms and change all the carpets , i think this hotel will be the best hotel in lantau. As of now, they need a total make over.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

As we were told by a restaurant owner "it is the best we have got here". Rooms are clean, staff are friendly, breakfast is below average and the bar is very overpriced. Silver mine beach is a lovely spot but we will be driving here in the future rather than paying the very expensive room rates.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Silvermine Beach Resort is in an excellent location. Mui Wo is perfect for unwinding after a very busy day in Hong Kong. The public areas of Silver Mine Bay Beach Resort are very good. But the rooms are getting to be in need of a serious makeover. I knew this before we booked as I had stayed at the hotel in the past. I would also stay again when I next visit Hong Kong.
The view from the rooms that are facing the sea more than makes up for the condition of the rooms. Really refreshing to wake up in the morning , directly overlooking the sea and beach.
The restaurant food is good and the Buffet Breakfast is also very good. Excellent Filipino Staff as well.
There is no elevator in the hotel.
Only 30 minutes from Mui Wo to Central Hong Kong by Fast Ferry.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus4444076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here in 2012 and we enjoyed it so much that we booked another 8 days in October.We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves once more. The location is stunning ! Only 30 minutes or so from Central by ferry, if you are looking for a tranquil spot away from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong, then this hotel fits the bill ! Having breakfast on the terrace gives you a panoramic view of the bay, enhanced by the fact that the small road between the hotel and the beach is closed to motor vehicles,thus creating an oasis of calm.
The food is of a good standard with a fair amount of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful, although one or two were not totally competent at their jobs. An example of this would be the tables which were not cleared away in order to allow new arrivals to sit at them. Wifi access is available, though I do find it an irritation that you have to buy something from the bar in order to obtain a 2 hour slot ! However, free Wifi is available in many bars and restaurants in Mui Wo, which is only a few minutes stroll from the hotel.
Our room was spacious (much sought after in Hong Kong !), clean, well-equipped, with a good view of the mountains and the sea.
Whilst there is a more luxurious hotel on Lantau, the Auberge, where we stayed subsequently, the Silvermine Beach does represent tremendous value for money. We stayed in a mountain/garden view room (2215 ?) and in our opinion it is not worth paying extra for a sea view ! We really did enjoy our stay here !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Gold Coast Hotel
#102 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lantau Island
Tai O Heritage Hotel
Tai O Heritage Hotel
#164 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#54 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,764 reviews
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#407 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvermine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvermine Beach Resort

Property: Silvermine Beach Resort
Address: D.D.2 Lot 648,Silvermine Bay, Mui Wo, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silvermine Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an escape from the hectic city life or for replenishing yourself with a relaxing vacation, the Silvermine Beach Resort in Mui Wo on the eastern coast of Lantau Island is just the place for you. Silvermine Beach Resort is a distinctive beachfront property that boasts 128 guest rooms, beautifully landscaped gardens, outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room, as well as meeting and event facilities. The Hotel is just ten-minute walking distance from Mui Wo ferry pier, only 30-minute ferry from Central, with public bus routes to Tung Chung and Hong Kong International Airport, is excellent to travelers for both sightseeing and vacation on Lantau island with Ngong Ping, Big Buddha, Tai O and Disneyland etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Silvermine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvermine Beach Hong Kong
Hotel Silvermine Beach
Silvermine Beach Hotel Hong Kong
Silvermine Hotel
Silvermine Beach Resort Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing