We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sea to your service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silvermine Beach Resort
Ranked #380 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Guangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The sea to your service”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel is located in front of the sea. A beautiful beach several 100 meters with golden sand invites for a sunbath, palms give shadow if needed. The water temperature is in the morning refreshing and around noon nice for relaxing ones bones. At night a nice walk to the harbour or to the forest is a nice way to breath good fresh air and finish with a delicious meal either in the hotels international kitchen or in one of the many restaurants that serve the fresh days catch from the sea. Also some european style cuisine can be found nearby. The old town and some of the new parts are permitted for cars. It is a great location as you can travel by ferry in 40 minutes to the city center. Ferries roughly run every half an hour. The rooms in the hotel are partly newly refurbished. Both, the new and the old rooms have very comfortable and spacious beds. The bathrooms have a bathtub and the overall condition can be described as very clean and neatly. Air condition can be regulated in three levels and TV broadcasts several international english speaking chanels. The breaksfast consists of a buffet which has asian and western dishes. The staff is very helpful and kind. Check in and check out are efficient and fast same as reservation procedure. Extra towels for a visit to the beach were given and generous handling of requests seem to be the norm. The management has a hand for choosing the right people and to the hospitality business as can be seen on the well sorted wine collection. The location in combination with the team running the place, facility's condition and interior are well above what was expected before check in first time. I came back several times and will do so in future.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty well in size and interior is up to state. Depends on the view you would like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEM3428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    159
    117
    55
    35
See reviews for
99
147
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel was much better than other reviews suggested.
I'm usually spoiled with hotels due to business travel, so my benchmark has always been a little spoiled. However, this was a surprisingly good stay.
Service was not bad at all, pleasant in fact. Beer costs around £3, not the cheapest but good enough. Didn't eat meals here cos much cheaper at the lovely 'no frills' authentic restaurants within a few mins walk. Breakfast had options but not great. Good enough if you want toast, coffee and perhaps some noodles. They do an impression of a fry up. Breaky available until 10am.
Lovely terrace out front looking directly on to the beach and out to sea.
Ferry just 3mins walk away which is fab. 30mins to HK island and costs roughly £4. Can get ferries to Cheung Chau direct too - a lovely old HK island worth visiting. 1hr bus from airport, and easy to travel to other local attractions by bus including Tai O and Big Budha (both highly recommended).
Room smelt a little damp but that's typical for HK. It was spacious with a decent view (mountain view room but also had a view of the sea). Powerful shower, quiet aircon, comfortable big hard double bed. This was a standard double bedroom, nothing faffy. Pool area not bad, clean and relaxing.
Hotel a little rough round the edges but decent, worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After years of staying here, this time I got an upgraded room and it was much better. They did a good job on the shower toilet and lighting.They are continuing to renovate and apparently installing spa and massage facilities.

This hotel is not near to the airport. However, it is only 30 minutes from Central and it sits on a quiet beach far removed from the hustle of Hong Kong and Kowloon. There lies the appeal. If you want something a bit more laid back but with access to the city this is it. If you want to be in the middle of everything it isn't.

The breakfast is simple but OK.

The staff are always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms fronting on to the beach have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My daughter, granddaughter and I went here for lunch today and will not go back. We waited at least half an hour for them to take our order, and to make that happen my daughter and I both at different times tried to flag down a server. Finally I went and stood next to one at another table until she paid some attention to us. To be fair, a number of tables filled up around the same time, which was about 12:30, but shouldn't a beachside terrace cafe expect this at lunchtime? For the longest time there seemed to be only one server tending the entire long row of tables, about a dozen, many filled with large groups.

Initially we planned to go for the afternoon tea set ($138 for two) but that didn't start until 2, and we were already hungry. But we discovered the same tea set on the dessert menu (go figure) for $168, so ordered that. It was 1 1/4 hours from the time we sat down until the food arrived, and I can assure you it wasn't worth waiting for.

The first sign of food delivery was ONE cup of lukewarm, weak coffee and we had to point out on the menu where it says "afternoon tea for two with tea or coffee" which leads one to believe that two beverages come with "tea for two". A seriously barely drinkable "beverage" that, by itself, costs $35 ($5US)! After another long wait a second cup of coffee arrived, and about 15 minutes later the food items, and no coffee refills were offered, so lousy coffee was finished long before.

There was one club sandwich cut into four pieces (luncheon meat, omelette, tomato, cheap sweet mayo on toasted white bread - a very typical Hong Kong sandwich) plus half a dozen or so small, mediocre sweet items such as a piece of dry bread/cake with candied peel in it, a very small raisin scone (stale), two tiny fruit/custard tarts, two cupcakes, an apple tart, and I guess that's it. Any cream was artificial, everything was dry, and nothing tasted like much of everything. And this was $168HKD plus 10% SERVICE CHARGE for the worst service imaginable! And, to add insult to injury, when the bill arrived it showed $35 for an extra coffee. We had to argue with them that "tea set for two" includes two beverages. This seemed to be news to both the server and the guy who was consulted on the matter. We finally got that straightened out and paid $185 ($24US) for this disaster.

The best thing about this place is that it's right across the street from the beach where my granddaughter and I were able to go for a walk while my daughter sat at the table dying of hunger.

Please learn from our mistake and don't waste your time and money like we did!

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateinVancover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Silvermine Beach Resort offers a tranquil escape after a hectic day in Hong Kong. It's a short 5 minute walk from the Mui Wo ferry terminal on Lantau Island: the fast ferry to HK city is 30 min and the slow ferry is 45 min. Fare is cheap and you can use your Octopus pass. The big Buddha is on Lantau Island, as is the Tai O fishing village. You can easily spend a relaxing day poking around the island and the bus service is good. Beach in front of the resort is clean.

The hotel is a 2* and that is apparent in the reception area, hallways and restaurant. Breakfast is included but don't bother with it, it's sub standard. Grab coffee and a muffin at Starbucks in Pier 7 when you get to HK city and you'll be much happier. Ask for a room that has been redone. The rooms are basic, no frills, but clean although the cleaning service is sporadic.

The Turkish restaurant in the village of Mui Wo has great food at a reasonable price. The owner is a gem. Try it and enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed on Lantau island to be close to family; although when we tried to check in they couldn't find our booking this was soon remedied. We had 2 excellent rooms overlooking beach on first floor; beds were huge and comfy with the bathroom nice & modern. Breakfast downstairs in dining room was good with plenty of choice. Mui Wo is so convenient for fast ferry into HK. So all in all a good choice. Staff were friendly & helpful. Only downside no lift to 1st floor

Room Tip: first floor overlooking beach a "must"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgLL57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hotel staff don't seem to understand the concept of service. The receptionist pretty much demanded that I pay once I checked in. Thought maybe it was the language barrier so I brushed it off. But service lapses just kept happening.

Called asking if they have a laundry bag we could use and they quite curtly said no. I then asked if they had the next day laundry service as stipulated on the hotel menu and they said no again.

Their kitchen technically closes at 11pm but they had no more ingredients to make a club sandwich and many other dishes at 10.30pm. Ordered a lasagna instead. The manager comes out 5min later with a frozen piece of lasagna and says it will take too long to defrost and that the kitchen staff need to go home. Tells us to order something else, as if it's our fault for being hungry so late.

Hotel staff only seem to tidy the rooms at around 3pm, and they don't bother asking if you even want the room cleaned.

The hotel has a so-called sports bar on the ground level that closes at 11pm. Walked towards the al fresco beer counter at 9.50pm and the waiteress turned the television away, saying I can buy a beer but I cannot watch football. I know I was the only customer but it's pretty ridiculous that I have to go back to my room to watch the match that was on when that same television at the bar had the football channel.

The rooms are pretty decent and the location is great. But for the kind of price and atrocious service, I'd rather stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alywin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
#89 of 718 in Hong Kong
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#359 of 718 in Hong Kong
96 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
4,011 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#112 of 718 in Hong Kong
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvermine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvermine Beach Resort

Property: Silvermine Beach Resort
Address: D.D.2 Lot 648,Silvermine Bay, Mui Wo, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silvermine Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an escape from the hectic city life or for replenishing yourself with a relaxing vacation, the Silvermine Beach Resort in Mui Wo on the eastern coast of Lantau Island is just the place for you. Silvermine Beach Resort is a distinctive beachfront property that boasts 128 guest rooms, beautifully landscaped gardens, outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room, as well as meeting and event facilities. The Hotel is just ten-minute walking distance from Mui Wo ferry pier, only 30-minute ferry from Central, with public bus routes to Tung Chung and Hong Kong International Airport, is excellent to travelers for both sightseeing and vacation on Lantau island with Ngong Ping, Big Buddha, Tai O and Disneyland etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Silvermine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvermine Beach Hong Kong
Hotel Silvermine Beach
Silvermine Beach Hotel Hong Kong
Silvermine Hotel
Silvermine Beach Resort Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing