We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget accommodation with incredible staff, beautiful location, and excellent facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silvermine Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silvermine Beach Resort
Ranked #360 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Aberdour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Budget accommodation with incredible staff, beautiful location, and excellent facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

The hotel is budget so don't expect luxury, but that aside, the view, location, staff and facilities are perfect for a break in Hong Kong.

We stayed here on our honeymoon as we wanted a bit of peace and calm away from the bustling city, with easy access (via 30 min ferry) to the sights and sounds of Hong Kong island and Kowloon. It really is a perfect location, not only has it a wonderful beach right on the hotel's doorstep, it's seconds from the ferryport and buses to all the sights as well as access to some fantastic seafood restaurants - you can't go wrong with chilli bean clams or sweet and sour pork. Although our favourite find was China Beach Club hidden along the coastal path towards the monestary, it has to be one of the best meals we've ever had.

If you want a place to stay that shows the real Hong Kong as well as easy access to all the sights and sounds then we cannot recommend the Silvermine beach hotel enough for it's friendly staff, great facilities, and although basic accommodation, fits perfectly for a base to discover how wonderful Hong Kong is.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbcreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    158
    115
    54
    35
See reviews for
98
144
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

Being students we wanted a good deal on a hotel in an area in Hong Kong, to relax, before entering the city itself. Having shopped around we got 5 nights accommodation for 125 GBP including breakfast.

Having come straight from the Airport, we found out that the A35 bus from the airport is very irregular with only about 6 services every day. Either get a blue cab (people have said they cost around 150HKD) or get a bus into Tung Chung and then from there get a bus into Mui Wo, there are a lot more regular services including the 3M. Being a bus/coach it stops off at many areas on the island, so just make sure that you stay on the bus until the end [we made the unfortunate mistake of getting off near TOng Fuk? because of a large sign saying "Mui Wo Ferry Pier" - don't make the same mistake.] The Hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the ferry pier.

Reception were very friendly and spoke good english, they are very helpful, and as well as having timetables for the ferry and the buses they will also give you directions to good restaurants in the area - Rome Restaurant was always busy and offered good value for money; they even went out of their way to serve my vegetarian friend.

The breakfast wasn't quite as good as we were expecting, they have noodles, hamburgers etc for breakfast amongst other things, but there was good variety including cereals, yoghurts, fresh and tinned fruit and toast - plenty to get your fill for the day. Considering the price we were paying it was very nice - however they didn't cater specifically for vegetarians, and most of the cooked foods they couldn't guarantee were suitable for vegetarians, for my friend.

The hotel is in a good location, by the beach, the safe swimming area, with shark nets is about 250m away from the front of the hotel. Unfortunately when we visited the sauna and fitness facilities were being refurbished.

As for the rooms, they were plenty big enough, we stayed in the cheapest rooms (Hillside view) and they were well furnished and relatively roomy with our bags. There was a satellite TV with a mix of channels, a Fridge (with no mini bar), a hair dryer and a bathroom with bath and built in shower. Although the room did look tired, it was clean and sheets and towels were replaced every single day; we didn't really have any complaints - as for noise we didn't notice any noise travelling between rooms. The rooms have their own aircon, and therefore windows are closed all the time, if you have a view, you may be disappointed because a lot of condensation forms due to the very hot - sauna like weather - outside. The Aircon does make a noise, but was easy enough to get to sleep on the firm beds (I prefer firm so I was ok). One thing however was the smell coming from the bathroom, possible due to drainage problems, nothing worth complaining about but probably worth mentioning here.

Finally Mui Wo extends a lot more than expected, we looked around the local area and village (behind the hotel) where there is a market and smaller bars. We visited the Silvermine Waterfall on the "Olympic Trail" which was interesting. Considering the location it was easy to get to HK Island (Slow Ferry takes just under 1 hour) and the buses will take you all over the island from the bus station, right next to the ferry pier. Po Lin Monastary is well worth a visit as are the local walks and other beaches.

I'll upload some pictures, shortly after returning back to Britain.

As for the hotel, there were a mix of people using the hotel, other people from Asia, America, Australia and the UK, there was a mix of people all the time, however the hotel was never full whilst we were here [we seemed to have avoided the bad weather predicted so far] both older couples and younger couples and singles used the hotel, however most people didn't seem to stay as long as us (5 nights). We also noticed the prices reduced as we got nearer the check in date, so it may be worth booking with a provider that doesnt charge cancellation fees, and you may even find some vouchers too :)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeyalan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

Hi There,

Just back from the Silvermine Beach hotel. Have to be honest Lantau Island is very beautiful, scenic and lush. It is a great location to be away from the city center. Though the rooms even though they are clean are really tired. Moldew in the bathroom, very worn out air con. Though the staff are really nice especially on reception. Glad I experienced my Hong Kong holiday, though I would never go back as Hong Kong itself didn't live up to my expectations and the weather really sucked when we were there.

Hope this helps
Mark

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark121uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

We travelled to HK for a three week family adventure. Initial plan was to stay at the Silvermine for a few days and then to move into HK central. In the end we spent most of our time based at Silvermine because it was such a refreshing contrast to the big city. We loved the frequent boat to and from HK which was fast and comfortable and if anything added to our holiday experience. The hotel while a bit threadbare was perfect for us. We really enjoyed the fillng breakfast (free) every morning, the staff were exceptionally friendly, the swimming pool was uncrowded and clean, and the rooms large enough for three children to share - this was simply not a option in HK. This is not a five star hotel but it does not pretend to be a high class establishment. For space, quiet, genuine hospitality and excellent value on a beautiful island just a short hop from the fascination of Hong Kong this would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matatoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

We decided to spend the first three days of our stay in Hong Kong on Lantau island to unwind after a long flight and prepare for the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong and Kowloon. The best (and almost only) way to get to Mui Wo where the hotel is located is by a taxi that will cost you around $150. The main selling point of this hotel, in my opinion, is its location - on beautiful Silvermine bay overlooking peaks and distant islands - absolutely beautiful! The hotel itself is reasonably clean and the rooms are quite spacious albeit significantly worn out (we stayed in the South wing). The bathroom, although no problems with functioning, is in need of serious renowation. The hotel offers a free buffet style breakfast with a large variety of choices that I can probably describe as one of the best free (included in the room price) hotel breakfasts I've ever had. Generally speaking, there is nothing wrong with the hotel and while you should not expect a 5 star accomodation the Silvermine bay resort is definitely a worthwhile base for exploring Lantau and even the rest of Honk Kong.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dimmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
235 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

Arriving from Europe and after almost a full day of flying and hanging about in airports, would you really want to plunge straight into the hustle and bustle of Kowloon or Hong Kong Island? We chose not to. Instead we took a £14 (light blue) cab ride from the airport to Mui Wo, otherwise known as Silvermine Bay.
Mui Wo is a sleepy kind of place with very few restaurants and bars. A short walk inland along paths that wind their way through sub-tropical greenery, you may find little hamlets and villages that are not even served by roads. The site of the old silver mine is underwhelming but beyond it there are marvellous views of the bay and Sunset Peak towering above it. You can watch the ferries as they surge regularly in and out of the ferry terminal coming from or heading to "Central" on Hong Kong Island - less than an hour away. It would be possible to use this hotel as your permanent base for exploring the rest of the old colony. Or you could do what we did - stay three or four days and then move over to the main island or to the Kowloon peninsula.
The hotel itself - really super breakfast buffets - great view of the beach and bay - lovely clean swimming pool - quiet with no traffic passing by - no lift in main "South" building - free internet access in bar. Negatives - decor a little tired but our main gripe was the nasty odour of stale cigarette smoke in our supposed "non-smoking" room. The windows were sealed shut so we couldn't even freshen the room with clean air. I complained about it but the smiling receptionist appeared bemused and I didn't want to begin our holiday with some kind of confrontation that might have left a bad memory in our minds so we just retreated and tolerated the staleness. The other main complaint was the noisy air-conditioning which droned continuously even after we had turned our own room air-conditioning system off. It was a bit like being in a cabin on an old ocean liner.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil_in_Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

This hotel is reasonably priced that includes great Western breakfast buffet. The bathroom is small but clean, with towels although I didn't used them since I brought my own towel. The soap and shampoo however are this kind of all-in-one liquid soap in a dispenser. Good thing I brought a small bottle of my own shampoo.

The room carpet looks somewhat dirty but they provide disposable slippers. No need for airconditioner because the room is already cold because the windows let some cold air in and it was very cold during our stay.

Too bad they don't have free internet service, you have to pay for it. The staff is friendly and nice, some of them are Filipinos as we have met two Filipinas in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rairaiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Gold Coast Hotel
#102 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lantau Island
Tai O Heritage Hotel
Tai O Heritage Hotel
#164 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#54 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,764 reviews
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#407 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvermine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvermine Beach Resort

Property: Silvermine Beach Resort
Address: D.D.2 Lot 648,Silvermine Bay, Mui Wo, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silvermine Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an escape from the hectic city life or for replenishing yourself with a relaxing vacation, the Silvermine Beach Resort in Mui Wo on the eastern coast of Lantau Island is just the place for you. Silvermine Beach Resort is a distinctive beachfront property that boasts 128 guest rooms, beautifully landscaped gardens, outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room, as well as meeting and event facilities. The Hotel is just ten-minute walking distance from Mui Wo ferry pier, only 30-minute ferry from Central, with public bus routes to Tung Chung and Hong Kong International Airport, is excellent to travelers for both sightseeing and vacation on Lantau island with Ngong Ping, Big Buddha, Tai O and Disneyland etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Silvermine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvermine Beach Hong Kong
Hotel Silvermine Beach
Silvermine Beach Hotel Hong Kong
Silvermine Hotel
Silvermine Beach Resort Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing