We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable as an old pair of slippers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Ranked #181 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable as an old pair of slippers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

My family including a small boy all enjoyed a two weeks' stay. We occupied two rooms. The staff were all pleasant and helpful, the buffet breakfast was adequate. No complaints, compliments are due.
The "Champs Bar" in the basement will appeal to sports fans, in fact the Charterhouse is a major lodging for visiting sportsmen. So, why did I not give it four stars when my ratings are so high? It is showing signs of old age with small TV's with no British channels, no radio and no pool. The location is excellent being close to the bus stops, Times Square and Wan Chai market and the cheap and cheerful outlet shops. Restaurants and convenience stores abound.

Room Tip: The South side rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaicaexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Dear Sir,



Thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments about your experience at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay. It is great to learn that you are satisfied with the service, the location, the staff and the buffet breakfast.



You are very right that Champs Bar is a great venue for sports fans. We are expecting another exciting evening this weekend when Manchester United will play with Chelsea when the restaurant will be packed with soccer fans.



The hotel does not have a huge site to build a pool. However, there is a huge public swimming pool within 2 minute walk. The hotel has a history of 20 years and continuous refurbishment project has been carried out.



Due to the licensing issue, we do not have BBC and CNN channels in guestrooms but FOX news and other 25 international TV channels. BBC news is available at our Champs Bar.



The hotel has two different types of view, City view and mountain view. A lot of our guests love the view facing the mountain.



Once again, thank you for staying at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay. We look forward to warmly welcoming your family back again soon.



Yours sincerely
The hotel management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    304
    190
    69
    41
See reviews for
87
119
110
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

Walking distance from Times Sq & Causeway Bay, good, clean rooms. Hotel generally very quiet and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montekarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2011
Dear guest



Thank you very much for sharing your comment.



I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, find the rooms comfortable and service friendly and helpful. We will relate your compliment to the team.



Trust you had great shopping and entertainment experience at Time Square and Causeway Bay.



We look forward to warmly welcoming you back in the near future.



Yours sincerely

The hotel management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Stayed at the Charterhouse for 4 days. Arrived around midnight and got an upgrade to the S-floor. Had to carry my suitcase myself to the room, not a big problem but no one of staff offered to do it which is unusual. Rooms are small, as is usual in Hong Kong. My room was on the 2nd floor and was noisy because of the busy road. Bathroom was good, with overhead shower, normal shower and 6 little body showers. Location of hotel is ok, 5 minutes walk from Times Square (you have to walk through the fish and vegetable market which is quit smelly). Bars are nearby. Hotel has a sportsbar (Champbar) with several screens on which different kind of sports can be watched. Restaurant where you have buffet breakfast in morning and buffet dinner in evening is good. Close to subway, other kinds of public transport are in front of hotel (bus) or very near (tram). Also the ferry is not far away.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippineTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2011
Dear sir

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments.

Sorry that we are not good enough to offer immediate assistance to handle your bags upon your arrival in the midnight. The hotel has a small operation team in the midnight. There will be occasions when our service team is engaged with a couple of guest requests at the same time that we cannot provide immediate assistance. Please accept our sincere apology.

The hotel is 5 minute walk from Times Square. The route chosen is indeed a short cut. There are two more routes that lead you to Times Square shopping mall and MTR station through some decent pedestrian. Our Champs Bar is a popular sports bar with live broadcast of different sports games including soccer, tennis, Grand prix, ice hockey, etc. It is also the official venue for Liverpool fans club in Hong Kong, and the famous Takeout Comedy.

Different public transportation including train, tram, bus, MTR, Star Ferry are easily accessible, which make this hotel a preferred choice for guests looking for location convenience and value for money.

May we thank you again for staying at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay. We look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

I chose The Chartergouse based on a previous review by a business traveler. The rooms are small but nicely furnished and perfectly adequate, and the service was excellent. Room facilities were excellent and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent!
The location was also excellent for me, being just a 15 minute stroll from the Conference Centre.
For anyone staying one or two nights on a business trip I would recommend this hotel and will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garythesurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2011
Dear sir

Thank you very much for your recent posting and comments about the hotel.

The hotel is conveniently located between Wanchai and Causeway Bay. The Hong Kong Convention Centre is only a 15 minute walk or 5 minute drive from the hotel. Trainings are offered to every staff to ensure that they deliver friendly and efficient service. The hotel emphasizes the delivery of value for money to our customers. We are glad that we make it.

Thank you for recommending the use of The Charterhouse Causeway Bay. We look forward to warmly welcoming your business associates and your good self again very soon.

Yours sincerely

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

I booked to stay in this hotel for 8 nights as a friend was also staying there & thought it would be easier. The hotel foyer was ok and staff very helpful & polite but the rooms were the worst I have ever stayed at in Hong Kong. The room looked like it has never been remodelled since the 70's. It has a distinct smell when you entered. The beds in our room were broken and on a slant. Plus they were so short which made it very hard to sleep. We turned the aircon on when we went to bed only to find a big puddle of water on the carpet underneath. The rooms are tiny & you only get single beds. The staff were helpful & tried to fix the problems but they can only do so much. The price was not cheap either. After the third night I couldn't stand it anymore so I checked out to the City Garden Hotel for a cheaper price and a much nicer hotel. If it was a cheap hotel I could understand but there are so many nicer hotels in Hong Kong for the price. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bj105094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Dear guest

Thank you for your comment. Good to learn that you are happy with the staff’s friendly and helpful attitude which is of utmost important that makes a difference. Despite, we are sorry that we still do not meet your expectations.

The hotel has been operating for 20 years since Year 1991. It does not position itself a modern and trendy, but a classical contemporary and timeless boutique hotel. Due to this reason, it has not undergone any major renovations but continuous refurbishment in guestrooms and its restaurant outlets. The schedule of refurbishment has not been completed yet and some of the room refurbishment would be expected to complete by end of this year. The service team has been trained to be accommodating and they are always ready to accommodate our customers’ demand by offering room change.

Our room size starts from 12 square meters for our economy single room to 25 square meters for our S Signature Studio. We believe that the room category that you have booked is very likely to be Economy Single room which is small comparing with other room categories. But still, all the beds have a length of 6 feet or 1.83 meter. Upon our guests’ requests, we can arrange bed extension.

The selling price of the hotel starts from US$100. However during demand periods such as holiday season, trade fair period and major events such as Rugby Seven which fell the week when you stayed here, there will be a high season supplement. During the Rugby Seven period, the hotel is particularly full due to its walking distance from the stadium. That might explain why the selling price is on the high side comparing with other hotels from other districts.

Please accept our sincere apology that we have not fully satisfied your demand. Your message has been reflected to our operation team. We are making every effort to maintain and improve our service.

We appreciate your valued comment.

Best regards

The hotel management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Stayed in the Charterhouse towards the end of March and found it to be a clean and functional hotel. Great staging point for visiting Hong Kong. There are certainly many better hotels, but you would certainly have to pay a lot more for the pleasure of stying in them. Staff where friendly and efficient.

Rooms where clean and tidy. Standard double bed with a small TV, bar fridge and desk. Looked out over towards Happy Valley - so was at the back opf the hotel, which is probably the better view than having a forward facing room.

Breakfast, which was included was good. Had dinner one night in the Harry's Bar, which is in the basement of the hotel, and it was good - no compliants.

All in all a hapy camper and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your compliments. The hotel has a convenient location well connected to various public transportation and major attractions.

It has been our vision to offer value for money and friendly services to our clients which were highly valued by them.

We would continue to do our job well and we look forward to seeing you again in your next visit.

The hotel management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

A Good friend and partner of my wife and I referred us to this hotel as the pricing was fair and always worth to explore and give any hotel a chance since we do visit Hong Kong quite often. This was a New Years celebration for us.
Right, now back to the hotel. It was not one of the bigger hotels but fair in size. For the most part it was clean in general. However, certain other aspects were not appealing. For instance, my wife and I are not smokers and we know very well in Hong Kong there are many smokers. Actually, I'm being kind because there are more than many, for some reason I keep on thinking of that Mcdonald's board back in the USA where they keep their running stats outside that says over a billion served. Anyhow, we paid in advance and made sure to request a no smoking room and we even double checked to make sure they had it before we came. When we arrived they took us to our room after check in and you guessed it, was a smoking room. The second we walked in it reeked. So, we politely asked that they change our rooms. At first they told us there where no more but they knew we were not going to settle for less than what we asked for especially since my wife having the nose of a Basit hound, did I spell that write. Anyhow, not a nose that looks like one but she can sense like one no joke. Bottom, line we went to another room and it was actually a queen size bed not a king size as request so they had no choice but to give us an upgrade and this time instead of walking us there they simply gave us the key as if we were trouble or high maintenance guests. So, much for the love on that note. Also, i'm a fairly big guy or pleasantly plump as I like to say. I'm working on the weight now but I am good looking at least. Hope i wasn't arrogant there but anyways the bed was too small but I dealt with it and no complaints on my part as their prices where fair on the per night basis. So, the The second problem was that even though I wanted to watch a movie late at night not porn because they offer that every where in Hong kong in any hotel movie system but the movie would not function and although they agreed to take it out the bill they still charged it to our credit card after we left including charging us for extra nights on our room. So, we had to go through the process of dealing with our Credit Card company in order to have them revert funds this took time and effort out of my wifes time in order to call them and inform including the hotel. Well, we got the cash back but not happy about the cheap shot as the counter guy in the lobby seemed to not be happy about this as we had initially made them delete the charge before we left only to find out they had added it again. Anyhow, they were semi efficient in servicing the guests but left something to desire for a second visit. My visiting them again would only be again if I had limited funds to part with. Anyhow, there you have it. I see this place overall as a choice for first night arrival while you try to find the best hotel for your selves. The pluses on this hotel to be fair is the price as I said is fair, WiFi available free but only in the lobby, movies and restaurants within 10 to 15 minutes walking and not to far from the tram station to Airport. I made the review now you make the call. God Speed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edspicks-passes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting and sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

We have tried to find out more details about your stay but our effort was in vain as we do not have more details apart from the comments made.

You are very right that our rooms are not big which reflect the average room size of hotels of similar class. We always recommend our clients to book our junior suite or S Studio if they require more space.

We always give priority for non-smoking room assignment should guests request for it in advance. However, there are times when hotel runs high occupancy and cannot allocate non-smoking room right away. But I am pleased that our front desk team managed to assign a non-smoking room eventually by relocating the room assignment.

In regards to the movie charge, we do experience occasion that our guests pressed the wrong button. Once our guests press the confirmed button, the charge would automatically posted onto our guest profile. Therefore, we have to take out the charges manually. As mentioned, the incurred charges have been fully re-funded.

Our service team has been always trained to offer efficient and friendly service. The hotel management would ensure this value is followed.

May we thank you sincerely again for your valued comments which guide us for further improvement.

Warm regards
The hotel management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#184 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#75 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#206 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#448 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#159 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
#449 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Property: The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Address: No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong is an elegant hotel, conveniently located at the edge of Causeway Bay in Hong Kong Island. The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and Causeway Bay MTR subway stations are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The majority of tourist attractions and business areas are easily accessible within 10 minutes drive. Considering the needs of our business visitors, our hotel shuttle will take you to Hong Kong Convention and exhibition Centre during trade fair and event periods in just a few minutes. For our visitors exploring different beauties of Hong Kong, splendid shopping malls like Times Square, Hysan Place and easy transportation system like Causeway Bay subway station are a few steps from our hotel which will never disappoint you. The Gazebo Restaurant, Champs Bar, Harry's Bar and Lounge and Fitness Room 23 hours a day provides you the relaxing places to enjoy your life and escape from the hustle and speed of the city of the day. Free Wifi is available at all guestrooms and public areas are even make your stay more pleasurable. In order to provide a healthy and smoke-free environment for global travelers, The Charterhouse Causeway Bay has been completely a smoke-free hotel to ensure our guests a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Hong Kong
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing