We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a good stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Ranked #181 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Overall a good stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at The Charterhouse in March this year. Originally we were booked in for the Junior suite which reeked of cigarette smoke. This was not acceptable for a family of 4, including a baby. The staff were very helpful in changing our suite to a signature suite on a non-smoking floor. This room was quite a good choice for us, we had a cot for the baby and my 4 year old son was able to sleep on the couch. We stayed for over a week and while the room was on the small side, we were still quite comfortable. The only complaint that I have regarding the room is the lack of ventilation as the bathroom doesn't have any windows or ventilators.

The only other negative complaint that I have is the lack of friendliness from the staff particularly in the breakfast room. The was however, one staff member who went out of his way to be helpful and went above and beyond his call of duty, that was Mr. Oliver Yau. He was also one of the few who wasn't afraid to converse in English to us as so many others were. Also, the cleaning staff were lovely. Overall a good stay!

Room Tip: Choose a signature suite unless you are a heavy smoker and whisky drinker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that you were generally happy with our service and product and your kind words about your overall experience will be definitely sharing to all our staff especially in Front Office and Housekeeping.

We learnt of your feedback concerning the room ventilation and be rest assured we are gradually improving it thru our room rejuvenation program and concurrently improve our guest in-room experience and creating a different ambience. Additionally we shall incorporate your experiences in our staff re-training programs for improving our service culture and upkeep our service promise and consistency.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,
On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    304
    190
    69
    41
See reviews for
87
119
110
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

very good location, clean and neat; room size consider big in hong kong.
the staff are helpful and easy access to anywhere ...
time square reach in 10 min. wan chai as well .
this is value for money .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are pleased to learn that our products and services had met your expectation and your kind words about your recent stay experience will be sharing with all of our associates.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,
On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I was placed in this hotel by my company travel service because the hotel we usually use was fully booked.

The staff in the lobby tried their best to make me feel comfortable and welcome, but when I got to the room (on the Executive Floor) I began to feel sad and tired.

The room was desperately in need of refurbishment, and it made me sad to be in such a tired room in such a vibrant city.

I cannot forget the scolding I received from the housekeeper as she explained that the toilet couldn't handle toilet paper.

In a business hotel??

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Danell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences caused to your recent stay and this was definitely unacceptable towards our service commitment. Your related comments will be taken seriously by our Executive Housekeeper with his team. We are gradually improving the design of guestroom thru our room rejuvenation program that will improve the guest in-room experience and creating a different ambience.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,
On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

good choice to stay at this hote. room is small, but its Hong Kong and anyway you don't spent so much time in the room in HK, you are always on the run. its clean and it has everything you need. location ok, not so noicey (i was on the 16th floor)
the only thing was a different to other hotels were, you can hear whats going on in the nabour room. I did not have this experience for a while and it was quiet amusing.
the bar in the basement.....not worth going there. first night they had private event and did not made any effort to keep you somewhere to have a drink. going down, it did not mention any private event, only once you sat down.....but I had the impression, anyway nothing missed. It was a bit smelly ....i guess after a couple of drinks this will go away :-)))

Room Tip: I think higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowman460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that you were pleased with our service and product and your kind words will certainly be sharing with our associates.

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused that was not been made known to you of the private event and rest assured we will improve the other related comments including the fixtures. Additionally we shall incorporate your experiences in our staff re-training programs for driving the consistency of our service promise.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,
On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Pretty good for your typical Hong Kong hotel. Small, affordable, great A/C, and a friendly staff. The highlight being the bed wasn't as hard as a brick - I was actually quite comfortable. So, if the bed is important - this is a good choice.

Pros:
- Soft Bed (yeah!!)
- Bathtub/shower with a curtain (not one of those tube showers)
- convenient location on Wanchai Road. Close to subway/buses and easy to hail a cab. Also, great food within walking distance. The noodle shop across the road is awesome!
- friendly staff
- free wifi
- relatively clean
- quiet

Cons:

- They use so much of that awful gel air freshener in the lobby and elevators it can almost choke you. Thankfully, the rooms are not the same.
- Thin little doorways to the rooms. If my luggage was any bigger it may have become a problem actually fitting it through!
- Had to have them replace some towels and a pillowcase because they were dirty. The staff was very quick to have this done so it was really no biggie.

After having stayed there a handful of nights I can safely say I'd stay there again in the future. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are pleased to learn of your positive feedback and we were delighted with your feedback in particular our friendly staff who had provided you a memorable experience. Your related comments will be shared to our associates and management for improvement in building the loyal patronage with us.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,
On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I usually stay at Charterhouse hotel for it's convenience. The hotel is older, and a little run down. The location suits me, close to shops and amenities . The staff are efficient and helpful. Rooms are average. Beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that our service and product were generally met your expectation and your comments will be taken constructively with our management

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,
On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garpenberg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Nice and friendly staff...
The room was very clean and well furnished...
Great hotel overall and it was defenitily worth the Money...
I would love to stay here again when i travel to Hongkong the next time to.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jörgen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are delighted to learn that you are generally pleased with our service and product and your kind words will definitely be sharing to all of our staff to upkeep this consistency in our service commitment in building your loyal patronage with us.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,
On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#184 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#75 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#206 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#448 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#159 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
#449 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Property: The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Address: No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong is an elegant hotel, conveniently located at the edge of Causeway Bay in Hong Kong Island. The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and Causeway Bay MTR subway stations are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The majority of tourist attractions and business areas are easily accessible within 10 minutes drive. Considering the needs of our business visitors, our hotel shuttle will take you to Hong Kong Convention and exhibition Centre during trade fair and event periods in just a few minutes. For our visitors exploring different beauties of Hong Kong, splendid shopping malls like Times Square, Hysan Place and easy transportation system like Causeway Bay subway station are a few steps from our hotel which will never disappoint you. The Gazebo Restaurant, Champs Bar, Harry's Bar and Lounge and Fitness Room 23 hours a day provides you the relaxing places to enjoy your life and escape from the hustle and speed of the city of the day. Free Wifi is available at all guestrooms and public areas are even make your stay more pleasurable. In order to provide a healthy and smoke-free environment for global travelers, The Charterhouse Causeway Bay has been completely a smoke-free hotel to ensure our guests a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Hong Kong
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing