We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does the trick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel
Ranked #203 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Does the trick”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there during four nights, although it is not in the heart of Hong Kong, it has a few things that make it easier to move around. For one the hotel offers a shuttle that runs all morning and can leave you at key places such as the IFC mall, Hong Kong station and Times Square, among others. Furthermore there is a bus stop in front of the hotel that can leave you in Times Square, and you can take that same bus to return to the hotel, it is number 30.
The hotel is clean, it has good service, but the towels are old and keep in mind that the beds are small, if you are tall your feet will be out of the bed.
We got our breakfast included in the package and they have a great buffet that we really enjoyed.
It is a good value for your money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Cristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    102
    43
    9
    6
See reviews for
37
32
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I don't understand why pepol say it's perfect location , the location is far away u need to take bus then take metro station to reach to central ,in the website where we booked the said it's 5 min away from mtr it's far by 20 min , service was horrible , recipetionist was rude he make me sing on bill without I notice so he double charge me on the room I found that , I have paid for one room 2 times , the are not helpful , Internet connection is very poor the give u code to use only for one decide how silly is that , would I go back to this hotel ? For sure not it's was my first and last time , plus rooms were so small like smurf house , I really regret I stayed with them hope my review would be helpful it's only based on my own experience .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraCardeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Oslo Norway Scandinavia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Good location, Nice staff. Nice rooms. the restaurant is excellent and has one Michelin star.
IT's not a 5 star, but still I think the service is good. Breakfast is good.
Beds: 4. a bit hard.
The air condition rattled. that's a bit annoying.
The reception staff is a bit non-smiling, but it's ok.
excellent for Our purpose, which was to get to the Happy 'valley Race Course . Lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linklater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Good location, with plenty of restaurants, supermarket, all withing walking distance. There is a very frequent bus stop just right infront of the hotel which takes you to Causeway Bay in 10 minutes, costing 3-4 HK dolar. Staff are extremely friendly, room very cosy with small beds though. Would defo stay in this hotel considering its price and the fact that you see HK celebrities around very often.

Room Tip: choose a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaM933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Excellent location due to easy access to supermarket and with cabs easily flagged down.

Check in service was efficient but smiling and greeting from receptionists is a hard-to-come-by commodity. Wonder why they are so stingy with welcoming smiles at least for guests since they are front-line staff.

Room cleanliness is good despite poor noise insulation. We knew how long our next door guest took his shower! Bathtub drainage was slow and sink gurgled noisily.

Cleaning staff member Ms Yan is a pleasant, polite and cheerful person to meet on your way in and out.
In addition, the shuttle service driver was also friendly and helpful. More importantly the service was punctual.
Bell boy service was rather inconsistent. Occasionally, there seems to be a hesitation to greet guests and a face that does not show welcome at all. Opening of doors for guests was not de rigueur and depended on the whims of the person on duty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeLucy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The location of this hotel is brilliant. Close to Causeway Bay (walking distance) and good transport links, restaurants, supermarket very close by. Staff were fine albeit a bit slow. Bed was hard but as I only stayed 2 nights I was not too concerned (would ask for a softer one next time). The rooms were clean, bathroom was well equipped so overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Missy872013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I traveled with kids. Hotel staff are friendly, especially those assisting us to get taxi and get up our things to our room.. but those in the front desk are poker faced. It is like they paid for our stay. They can do better by smiling and treating customers as the source of their business' income.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsShobie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#284 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#458 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Kwun Tong
Newton Place
Newton Place
#406 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
L'hotel Island South
#127 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel

Property: The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel
Address: No.1 Wang Tak Street, Happy Valley, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor Happy Valley Hotel
The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing