We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice centric place for a long weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #123 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Madrid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice centric place for a long weekend”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed there for three nights, and the hotel was nice enough, they put new amenities everyday, and the room was as clean as could be expected.
On the downside, the beds were tiny, and our room on the third floor was right in front of a quite popular bar, so we had to endure loud music playing and people singing and talking loudly in the street.

Room Tip: Top floor, or one that faces Henessy St. Avoid rooms facing Lockhart St.!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    389
    238
    70
    38
See reviews for
76
132
73
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
farlington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed here for only one night & found the staff helpful & friendly.
I was upgraded to a suite (only a larger bedroom really) & the facilities were as you would expect. One point to note which is the same in most hotels in Hong Kong is the annoyance at having to pay for internet access, I really can't understand why this continues.
The location is great for those people who want to see some lively nightlife and is surrounded by bars & restraunts.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farlington-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Great hotel! We stayed here for two nights and it was great. The room was a great size for Hong Kong! Very clean, great bathroom and very friendly staff. The location is great too - 2 minute walk to Tin Hau MTR station. Will definitely stay here on our next visit to Hong Kong. Great value too!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicNac75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The reason I stay here is location for both business or leisure - the rooms are slightly small but well equiped. Staff are friendly, attentive and efficient. The only disapointment is breakfast which is not a real problem as there are plenty of breakfast places around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubli
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Great Hotel to stay in Hong Kong, rooms are a bit larger then most hotels in Hong Kong, staff is good, excellent service and location is mind boggling with all types of restaurants including Indian restaurants, pubs, great night life area, you can never starve here. Very close to Metro station and walk able distance to HKTDC Exhibition Center

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalavade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The location of Emire is very good as its bang in the middle of Wan Chai and you get a bus to the peak and you can walk to the pier and the station is also very close. Also there is a free airport bus from outside the hotel which is very convenient. The negative side of the location is that at night it is very noisy from all the nightlife so I found it very difficult to sleep at all. The room was very basic and the bed which was supposed to be a double was 2 single beds shoved together and not very comfortable at all. The worst thing though was that the whole room smelt really damp although looked quite clean. Given the choice I wouldn't stay here again although I am sure there are worse places to stay. There is also no internet available apart from on one floor. The staff however are really really nice and go out of their way to help you. Cannot say anything bad about the staff they were fabulous!

This should be a 3 star not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preet84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
480 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I recently stayed there 3 days for business and selected this hotel as the reviews seemed Ok and the location was great as it is close to our office in Wan Chai. Overall, I would say that I was satisfied given the low price of the room. That being said, there are many things to like and some to dislike about the place. Let me start with the positive. The location is very good and for me, was very convenient. Beware though as this hotel is very much in the heart of Wan Chai, which is a pretty animated place! If you like quiet, this is not the place. Also, the hotel has a gym and a pool on the roof, which is quite rare at that kind of price and the pool is actually pretty nice. The gym is small but it has what it takes to train. Also, the room I had was very large and the bed very comfortable. Overall, I slept very well. Finally, the staff was competent and available.

On the negative side now. The hotel is clearly dated and in a need for some renovations. While the room was Ok, the corridors are really in an urgent need of upgrades. The air conditionning was a little on the strong side but after playing with the controls, I brought it to a more decent - less freezing - temperature. Finally, while there is WiFi in the rooms, the connection speed is _very_ slow.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BBreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#116 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#126 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#74 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#112 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Property: The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing