We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Burlington Hotel(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Cue Hotel(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (923)
Filter reviews
923 results
Traveller rating
148
409
254
72
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
409
254
72
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific coffeenight lifewalking distancemtr stationbars and restaurantsbusiness tripconvention centerpool and gymhandy phonegoogle mapscauseway baybusiness hotelcentral locationrooms are smallclub roomon hong kong islandfree internet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 923 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My company booked me a standard room and I decided to upgrade to a Club Room. It wasn't worth the money, as the Club Room was as small as a standard room, justb with some small features not really worth the expense. The Club Lounge was also not fantastic. Worst however was the attitude of the concierge desk. Although I complained already once that they were unhelpful to get a taxi on our departure date they asked us to flag a cab on the street, with our luggage (!) which they didn't offer to carry there. It was their rude attitude rather than their request which made them look totally out of place. There are many hotels in the area where you can find friendly and service-minded staff. I'll give the Empire a miss next time I travel to Wanchai.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Simon_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is a budget hotel (for Hong Kong) in the heart of Wan Chai's entertainment district. Ideally located if you want to party. Not ideal if you are on a family holiday or want peace and quiet. This area is 24/7 party so do not go there if you want anything else. If you are looking for a good night out and a convenient, clean hotel with decent sized rooms to be based, you cannot do much better in this area.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank DukeOfCumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have previously reviewed this hotel and stand by my comments that it is great value, very nice staff and very good food, although breakfast needs improvement. The executive room is a bit bland in colour and lacks atmosphere, however it is comfortable and quiet with free wifi and drinks.

Room Tip: Rooms are typical of Hong Kong, on the small side, but larger than other hotels in the same area and price bracket. Good executive lounge
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

My room was on level 9 facing Hennessy Road, one of the busiest rounds on the island. The sound of traffic was very loud. Luckily, my tiredness helped me sleep through the night.
Good location and clean though.
Will I stay there again?

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank San16GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have stayed here couple of times when other hotels have been full in Wanchai. I paid bit below 1400 HKD per night, which included breakfast. Not cheap.

The pros
-excellent location in middle of Wanchai (close to airport express, walking distance to subway, walking distance to Central etc.)
-hotel is near plenty of bars, night clubs and restaurants
-room is pretty ok and in good condition
-good service at front desk

The cons
-rather bad breakfast
-smallish bathroom with some moldy smell
-noise level is on the high side (opt for highest possible floor)
-heard some strange sounds during the night (renovation or?)
-girls on Hennessy rd. tend to be aggressive, I would not recommend this hotel for families due to nearby girl bars
-dark corridors

To sum it up: Empire hotel is ok choice in middle of very busy Wanchai. If you need to stay in this area, this hotel is pretty ok choice. Prices do vary a lot. This is sort of mundane hotel. Not bad not good, sort of tasteless. It is ok for short stay. Please do note that Wanchai area does not fit for families during the evening.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews