We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I changed rooms twice as air con didn't work, it was smelly and I found a cockroach in the bathroom...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #129 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I changed rooms twice as air con didn't work, it was smelly and I found a medium sized cockroach in the bathroom. It is also not on the cheapest end. Location is great though if you like drunk creatures in front of your door, or middle aged men searching for company lingering in the street adjacent to the hotel. Perhaps you should look for another place... There are plenty around and caps are cheap after all.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creature_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Last time I stayed here one year ago the hotel had limited Wi-fi but one year later the rooms have wi-fi which was great. Also learnt to ask for a room on a higher floor and facing away from the street. Last visit was a noisy stay because of the bar street below but this time wasnt a problem because the room faced away from this street, I think this request is a must really.
Like my previous review, the rooms are average but what you expect at this price in Hong Kong, got no really problems with that.

Did experience some serious attitude from the concierge, long story short they really weren't interested in helping us and our every suggestion was met with "not possible" rather than something like "sorry company policy states...etc" Like a previous review mentioned, never any offer of help to get a taxi or help with luggage, just a bunch of them hanging around the doors.

Would I go back a third time? Think I'll try somewhere new next time.

Room Tip: HIgher floors Back away from the main street. I think these are the odd number rooms possibly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaikai88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My company booked me a standard room and I decided to upgrade to a Club Room. It wasn't worth the money, as the Club Room was as small as a standard room, justb with some small features not really worth the expense. The Club Lounge was also not fantastic. Worst however was the attitude of the concierge desk. Although I complained already once that they were unhelpful to get a taxi on our departure date they asked us to flag a cab on the street, with our luggage (!) which they didn't offer to carry there. It was their rude attitude rather than their request which made them look totally out of place. There are many hotels in the area where you can find friendly and service-minded staff. I'll give the Empire a miss next time I travel to Wanchai.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Simon_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is a budget hotel (for Hong Kong) in the heart of Wan Chai's entertainment district. Ideally located if you want to party. Not ideal if you are on a family holiday or want peace and quiet. This area is 24/7 party so do not go there if you want anything else. If you are looking for a good night out and a convenient, clean hotel with decent sized rooms to be based, you cannot do much better in this area.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank DukeOfCumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have previously reviewed this hotel and stand by my comments that it is great value, very nice staff and very good food, although breakfast needs improvement. The executive room is a bit bland in colour and lacks atmosphere, however it is comfortable and quiet with free wifi and drinks.

Room Tip: Rooms are typical of Hong Kong, on the small side, but larger than other hotels in the same area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

My room was on level 9 facing Hennessy Road, one of the busiest rounds on the island. The sound of traffic was very loud. Luckily, my tiredness helped me sleep through the night.
Good location and clean though.
Will I stay there again?

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank San16GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have stayed here couple of times when other hotels have been full in Wanchai. I paid bit below 1400 HKD per night, which included breakfast. Not cheap.

The pros
-excellent location in middle of Wanchai (close to airport express, walking distance to subway, walking distance to Central etc.)
-hotel is near plenty of bars, night clubs and restaurants
-room is pretty ok and in good condition
-good service at front desk

The cons
-rather bad breakfast
-smallish bathroom with some moldy smell
-noise level is on the high side (opt for highest possible floor)
-heard some strange sounds during the night (renovation or?)
-girls on Hennessy rd. tend to be aggressive, I would not recommend this hotel for families due to nearby girl bars
-dark corridors

To sum it up: Empire hotel is ok choice in middle of very busy Wanchai. If you need to stay in this area, this hotel is pretty ok choice. Prices do vary a lot. This is sort of mundane hotel. Not bad not good, sort of tasteless. It is ok for short stay. Please do note that Wanchai area does not fit for families during the evening.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#44 of 726 in Hong Kong
171 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#81 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,027 reviews
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#132 of 726 in Hong Kong
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £102 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing