We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the center of Wanchai Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #122 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Cholburi, Chon Buri, Thailand
Level Contributor
258 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the center of Wanchai Hong Kong”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This Hotel i stay in more then 20 times, it have a great location in the center of Wanchai, the room is very small but the bed is super and there is no noise in the room and you are only 5 min to shopping, food, train, central, boat, Fair Center, and all the Tourist attraction, HK Convention Centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    393
    240
    70
    38
See reviews for
78
132
74
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Like many of the reviews, this hotel is in a great location. The staff are very unreceptive to guest needs or requests. I called for an iron to be brought to my room 3 times not to mention a trip to the front desk which also did not work. It took me grabbing a lady from housekeeping to get it for me. My room was always cleaned and the bedding was changed daily. The building/rooms themselves are becoming worn and could use a renovation. The breakfast buffet was decent just ran a bit late for my schedule. The Empire Hotel my get my business again in the future if they can get their customer service under control.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baka_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
208 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

the hotel experience makes up of different things. this hotel has possibly the most unfriendly reception ever in hong kong. many hotels make up for the rude reception with efficiency, but not here. they are just plain rude. the lobby itself is quite nice, but that's about it. once u go up the elevator, that's the end of the nice decor.
one of the elevators closes so fast that a lot of people had their belonging trapped. quite hazardous. we were given the room right next to the housekeeping, and it was quite noisy. but that's understandable. what's worse and dangerous was that they kept the service trolley on the hallway. this certainly would be extremely dangerous in the event of fire or an emergency. the trolley basically block access to the hall way.
breakfast was in the basement and wasn't that bad actually. nothing else was memorable though.
for business folks, don't expect any flexibility at this hotel. check in and check out is sharp on the dot, no excuse given. if u leave the bag at the hotel overnight, it's 10HK$ per bag :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banjapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
409 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Have been staying in this hotel for over 15 years because of its proximity to HK Convention Centre .The demise of HK by the rise of China is perfectly reflected in this hotel every time I stay here ,and this was last time I would,in last couple of years .The China grioup tours has spelled doom for the guests from other areas to this hotel as the staff is happy servicing Chinese speaking no-complaining group tours guests .We checked at 11 and were told to come back at 2 p.m. despte request for early check in and being such loyal 15 year plus old staying guests .At 2 we were asked for reporting at 4 then 5 then 6 and finally had to create a ruckus caused by waiting for nearly 7 hours and were given double bed room instead of twin room requested ..on complaining were shifted to another room only to realise the in room safe not working .On complaining were told we will have to change room for this next day ...we decided we will change our hotel from next visit .

Room Tip: choose other hotels nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilgrim_gsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at the Empire on a recent business trip to Hong Kong. It is in a very good location for both business and exploring the island.
The staff were all very helpful and attentive. The rooms were small and the glass bathrooms a little quirky but it was comfortable.
There were occasional influxes of Chinese tourists who flooded the foyer and took over all the seating areas.

Room Tip: Take a high room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed at the Empire Hotel during a business trip. The Hotel is ideal to stay overnight but not to enjoy the services. The Breakfast is quite limited and very small business corner.
The rooms are neat, but rather small for the standard ones.
However, its central location in Wanchai is perfect to explore the Island. I would recommend it for short stay and when you don't come there to get spiled by Hotel services, but to enjoy the area and the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedric_Thiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here while attending a conference recently and found it conveniently located, if you are prepared to overlook the occasional local lady of the night or Western drunk. There were a few sports bars and pubs where Westerners (mainly men) frequented, and so I wouldn't really recommend it for families based on its location - try the Causeway Bay version of the Empire a few kms up the road. But for open-minded adults it was fine, with good room service and complementary, good quality buffet breakfast.
But what gives with the bathroom door? They need to replace the inward opening doors with sliders, as it made manoeuvring in the small bathroom impossible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#108 of 718 in Hong Kong
101 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#136 of 718 in Hong Kong
369 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#74 of 718 in Hong Kong
926 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#113 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Property: The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing