We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #131 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel
In Aug 2013. Reception were very helpful. The room itself was nice. The only one thing was when we visited hong kong it was very hot and i felt the airconditioning could have been better. Ordered room service & it was lovely as was buffet breakfast. Great location,lovely city!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank livi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Empire Hotel Wan Chai is situated in the middle of Wanchai. It is situated very close to the MTR Wan Chai station and is within walking distance from the Hongkong convention centre. The hotel is slightly old but rooms are decent and clean (small rooms which is typical of Hong Kong).

The staff are very courteous and amenities are good. Wi fi was free and fast.

However the corridors were dark.
The breakfast buffet was decent but it was the same throughout our stay (5 days). Wish they could change atleast a fe of the dishes.

There are a variety of restaurants and pubs nearby and during weekends the music tends to get loud and noisy. Overall it is a decent business class hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soorajys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Good
Rooms are clean and decent value for the money.

The Bad
Hallways are narrow and scary dark. Housekeeping leaves carts in already narrow hallways.
Nobody smiles, nobody greets you, nobody is helpful. The area around the hotel is pretty shady. Prostitutes are right outside the hotel at night.

The Ugly
Corporate VPNs are blocked - had to move to another hotel after 1 night.

Conclusion: Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was my first time staying at this hotel and I will be back. The rooms are small but nicely outfitted with all the amenities you could need. Internet service is pretty bad but twice they sent someone up to help out with it and we finally got everything working. Beds are comfortable, there's a writing desk, small refrigerator, snacks for purchase and complimentary water. My view was looking out over Kowloon and it was nice not to have to look at the side of building like some hotels.

The concierge was great and helped with dinner reservations for Nobu the night we requested. They also arranged transportation to the airport and waited outside with me for them to arrive. It was the same guys that helped with my internet.

The hotel has a small restaurant with a limited food selection, but hey, your in Hong Kong, there are great restaurants everywhere. Indoor pool and health facilities were included with my room. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Go for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here on a recent business trip. The rooms were basic and quite small and guilty of a pet hate of mine, a double bed (two singles pushed together) in what was clearly a single room. No ironing facilities in the room either. My room was at the back of the hotel other than the rear of other building and as a result i kept the curtains closed for the duration so no natural light for a week in the room. The corridors were *very* dark and the breakfast room was in the basement with again, no natural light. The only food I ate in the hotel was breakfast and this was ok, only complaint was I could nete get a hot cup of tea.

The hotel is smack bang in the middle of Wan Chai with plenty of pubs/restaraunts nearby offering a decent standard of food although a number of "gentlemans" clubs are in the area and if this bothers you is probably not the location for you.

Despite being a 5 minute walk to my office I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a street view Ensure if you ask for a double room you get one (not a single m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This Hotel i stay in more then 20 times, it have a great location in the center of Wanchai, the room is very small but the bed is super and there is no noise in the room and you are only 5 min to shopping, food, train, central, boat, Fair Center, and all the Tourist attraction, HK Convention Centre.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Like many of the reviews, this hotel is in a great location. The staff are very unreceptive to guest needs or requests. I called for an iron to be brought to my room 3 times not to mention a trip to the front desk which also did not work. It took me grabbing a lady from housekeeping to get it for me. My room was always cleaned and the bedding was changed daily. The building/rooms themselves are becoming worn and could use a renovation. The breakfast buffet was decent just ran a bit late for my schedule. The Empire Hotel my get my business again in the future if they can get their customer service under control.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baka_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#60 of 726 in Hong Kong
170 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#81 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,027 reviews
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#125 of 726 in Hong Kong
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £101 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing