We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #120 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Definitely a 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

About 3 blocks from Wan Chai MTR station so reasonable but not great. Hennessy Road has a few convenience stores and the like but definitely not in any of the shopping areas. On the other hand, if you are after seedy go go bars or what appeared to be hardware alley (bathroom, lighting and hardware supplies etc) then you're in good shape. I had to circle the block a couple of times to find the entrance as the plaque was inadequately small and the lobby interior calmly dark. Lobby itself was spacious and modern, as were the lifts, corridors and my room. It created a nice ambience in some areas but it looked like it was intended to hide the shoddy workmanship/finish of the entire hotel including said lifts, corridors and room. Bathroom grout, tiles etc were badly finished. Room was pretty small, but standard HK small so no complaints there. A/c was hard to control. Definitely a 3 star and no more, and a middle of the road one at that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenigmasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    397
    243
    70
    38
See reviews for
79
135
75
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

the hotel is not the newest but everything is clean and nice.
I asked during booking to get a room high floor and the staff was very nice giving it to me..
so every day amazing view

I am exhibiting at Vinexpo wine fair and every day an easy 10 minute walk. so perfect and will book again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

As I come to HK for business,stay for 2 nights only.Just bring a lot ridiculous experience for me.

For the room,every time I locked my safe,but it can't open again and I still waiting a long time the front desk manager Marcus come to my room and open it.But the manager didn't know they waste my time as I told the reception staff my safe problem,they haven't solve it.Only just call the housekeeping and take a look they back to work.What a horrible service.Marcus try to help me move to the other room,but that room was so dirty and smell smoke.When I make a reservation specially I don't want a smoking room and when I was check in the reception staff double confirm with me make sure is not a smoking room.How they didn't know me I don't want a smoking room???

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bryantson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel is located in the wanchai area which can be considered as center if you are in the city for a congress. Close to the convention center and ferry pier to Kowloon. One side of the hotel faces Lockhart Street, where a good portion of this street is full of sex clubs. The Street is always full of women inviting passers-by into the these "clubs". You can hear the noise all night.

Apart from the location, the hotel is spacious only in terms of the lobby. The rooms are smaller than it looks on the Internet. Internet is free and there is wi-fi in the rooms as well. There is no breakfast but there is a cafe in the dark basement of the hotel where you can have an expensive buffet breakfast (128 HK Dollar = 17 USD). If you care about Kosher or Halal food you can have only fruit and some cereals for this price.

Due to rain season, the rooms were humid and a bit smelly. Some people told that in the 20th floor there was no such odor in the rooms. It is hard to tell for sure. There is no opening window for that reason you have to deal with the humidity and odor in the room without any fresh air. On the other hand the rooms are cleaned every day and towels are changed regularly.

In conclusion, this is an average hotel in the expensive city of Hong Kong. The photos on the internet can be deceptive in terms of the size of the rooms. Staff tries to be helpful but sometimes there may be misunderstandings due to language barrier.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hakanakdag58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are average quality. House keeping staff does not speak English, reception staff are careless and rude. Air condition works too powerful. Location is convenient. There is a spa massage place right accross the hotel which is worth visiting and having a foot and body massage.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

If I had a choice, this is definitely not my choice. I have better experiences staying in hostels than this place.

Service levels: Limited receptionists? Check. Sulky staff? Check

Hotel Area: Girly bars? Check. Drinking places with call girls nearby? Check.

Hotel rooms: Dark corridors that you wonder if you stepped into a "love" hotel instead of a business hotel? Check. Noisy rooms ie you can hear your neighbors? Check. Traffic sounds from your room? Check. Small rooms that only 1 small body can squeeze in? Check.

In short, It's meant for a certain clientele and certain body sized person.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mag_ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Wan chai is the prostitute central. So in case you were deciding on the area. But the hotel was close to the metro. Also some decent sports bars around. But come 10pm it does get a bit shady.
The hotel was clean, but rooms small.
English tv channels a benefit.
Floors on the lower levers smell in bathrooms. Avoid

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MOandAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#103 of 718 in Hong Kong
123 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#133 of 718 in Hong Kong
376 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#114 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Property: The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing