We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Harbour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbourview Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Harbourview Hong Kong
Ranked #144 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Close to the Harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This Hotel was hard to find at first because the entrance is tucked away and slightly hidden. Over all the stay was nice and the view was great. Breakfast was excellent and the service staff was very nice. The cost was expensive comparatively.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and appreciated the gorgeous harbour view from the guestroom, the breakfast buffet and the service delivered by our staff members. We will continue to strive for higher standard of service.

Your comment on our entrance is well noted and we will consider this issue in our next renovation project. Your words on the room price are well taken. Please note that we do charge higher when there is exhibition or fair at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre which is located right opposite to us. However, our prices remain competitive on the other days.

Thanks again for your kind comment and we look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    572
    293
    53
    29
See reviews for
118
279
120
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
234 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

It's clean, the room was normal sized for the price. No view whatsoever unless you like to stare at the side of another building about 100 meters away.
The room has been there for many a year I'd guess from the decor. Tiny bathroom that feels like a closet with a door that just will not stay open unless you prop something against it.

Comfortable bed with nice pillows. Skinny hallways and small lifts accompany a small Lobby.

Not too far from anything and very close to the convention center. Easy enough access to the Star Ferry, a bit farther to walk to the MTR station maybe 10 minutes via the overhead walkways.

Chaw and comfy enough for one night. Wouldn't do it for me for an extended stay though.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing us a piece of comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the location of the hotel, transportation network, the cleanliness and the comfort of the bed and pillow.

Constrained by the size of our hotel, we admit that the hotel lobby, corridors, guestrooms as well as the bathrooms are not big while comparing with other hotels in Hong Kong. However, we have been trying our very best to offset these weaknesses with our location, price and service standard. Regarding the size of the guestroom, please be informed that we do have two other room types, namely, Executive Room and Executive Deluxe Room, both are significantly larger than regular rooms and face the Victoria Harbour. Although some of our guestrooms face the wall of the next building, over half of our guestrooms do face the harbour, you may consider choosing one of the above mentioned rooms during your next stay with us to have a better accommodation experience. For more details of our guestrooms, please visit our hotel’s website or contact our Reservation department.

Last but not least, thank you for your opinion on the décor of our guestroom and your message has been passed to our management for review. For your information, the previous renovation of our guestrooms was conducted in 2009, less than 5 years ago.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again during your trip in Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel is very close to the Convention Centre, infact almost opposite. It is a very basic hotel and the bathrooms are very small. There is only one pillow on the bed and the towels provided are limited. However, the housekeeping staff provide you with more if requested.
The breakfast buffet is adequate. The tea and coffee is self service and it was impossible to get a hot cup. Was there for 5 days and never managed a hot cup!
There was only one elevator functioning so you would need to wait in line to use it, especially at the time the convention ended at the centre.
The concierge at the hotel was very helpful in guiding you regarding transport and the hotel is very near the train station. It is also easy to get a taxi

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagladyMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the hotel’s location, transportation network, food variety of breakfast buffet and the service delivered by our Concierge Team members.

Your comment on the inadequate supply of hot cup in our restaurant during the meal time is well taken. We have passed your opinion to our Food and Beverage Department and staff members have been briefed to be aware of this issue and refill the cups more frequently. In fact, should you need any assistance during your meal, you are welcomed to contact our restaurant staff for assistance.

We would like to take this chance to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the upgrade work of our guest lifts. Please understand that the work merely aims at providing better and safer facilities to our guests and the renovation of the lifts will be completed soon.

We admit that our bathroom is not big if compared with other hotels in Hong Kong. However, we have been trying our best to offset this weakness with our price, location and high quality service. Besides, please understand that we would only provide one pillow for single guestroom and adequate towels in each guestroom. Guests are strong advised to contact our Housekeeping staff or Front Desk staff if they need any assistance or request any amenities. Alternatively, you can drop us an email when making reservation with us so that we could have proper arrangement prior to your arrival.

Thank you again for your comments which allow us to seek rooms for improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed for the first time in this hotel in 2007 or so and since then I've stayed over 4-5 times, liked the service and how they kept the hotel. Now, I'm really disappointed with the poor service and management they are giving to this hotel.
First we arrived to check in a bit early and they gave us a room in the lower floor so I requested an upper floor which was given, but when we arrived the smell from the hallway was awful (14thFl) and not to mention the nonsmoking room turned out to be a smoking room.
Second, on my reservation I specifically requested a queen size bed, but the room had two twin size put together, so asked for a room change that met my request, of nonsmoking and queen size bed. They asked me to wait that they will send someone to show us the new room, house keeping arrived and we left the room waiting for someone to arrive, no one did and we ended up going down to the reception,where they sent us back upstairs to the new floor where we we're suppose to meet the staff, up and down we went until we finally found this person, what kind of service is that?
Third, the new room ( on the 6fl) didn't smell and seemed fine, after all we were exhausted and we took it, but then the next day we found the bed was not a double bed but two twin put together with a pad on top, clearly woke up with a sore back!
That is lying to customers that have specifically asked for a queen size, in this case they should have accept that they couldn't meet the request and inform that to us but no!!
This is the last time I'll be staying here and will no longer recommend the hotel. For the same amount of money you could get newer hotels with better service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank paulin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying with us continuously in the past years and writing us a piece of comment.

First of all, we would like to take this chance to apologize for being unable to respond to your requests promptly during your recent stay. We must admit that we should have done better during the room changing process. Your comment has been passed to our Front Office department, please be assured that the same incident would not occur again in the future.

We would like to inform you that we did not receive your special requests from Booking.com where you made the reservation. Upon receiving your comment on TripAdvisor.com, we have checked your reservation record immediately and we found that requests for high floor, non smoking and queen size bed were not stated in the reservation form we received. To ensure guests’ special requests are received by the hotel, we strongly advise guests to contact us directly instead of making the requests via online travel agents. Besides, we would update your preferences in your profile so we can make proper arrangement when you stay with us again.

Next, regarding the bedding issue, it is a fact that we were running out of queen bed rooms during your staying period. We had tried to solve this problem by putting 2 twin beds together and placing a linking pad on top. Unfortunately, this idea did not work for you. We should have informed you directly that we were unable to offer a real queen bed room to avoid this embarrassing situation. We feel sorry for failing to do so due to communication problem.

Last but not least, our Housekeeping staff will pay attention to any unusual smell in the guestrooms and at the guest floor corridors when they are making up the rooms.

Once again, we are sorry for the service standard you encountered and we sincerely hope that you could give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is conveniently located. There are a lot of restaurant and shopping choices nearby. Also, Wan Chai MTR Station is about a 10-minute walk, most of which can be done through covered walkways. The rooms are small, but real-estate in Hong Kong is expensive, so understandable!

Mike at the Front-Office was friendly and provided good suggestions and directions.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, try and book the "Harbour-view" room as all other rooms face a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parvez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for writing us a piece of compliment on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and you are satisfied with the hotel’s convenient location, transportation network as well as the attentive and friendly service delivered by one of our Receptionists, Mike. Your words would be communicated to him duly.

Your comment on the size of our guestroom is also well taken and we sincerely thank you for your understanding. Please note that we do have other room categories which are significantly larger than the regular rooms and face the stunning harbour view. For details, you are welcomed to visit our hotel’s official website or contact our Reservation Department.

Once again, thank you for writing us a positive comment. We will continue to strive for higher standard of service and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Good clean Nice view little bit expensive but was christmas so maybe a good choice. Staff is Nice and the all thing is trustworty. Recommend if you Have budget for it. Top floors with view must ask!!!!'

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your positive comment on TripAdvisor.com and recommending our hotel to other travellers. We are grateful to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel, the gorgeous harbour view in the guestroom and the friendly service delivered by our staff. Also, we are happy that you found your stay with us value-for-money. We will keep up our good work definitely.

Besides, your comment on the room price is well taken and we sincerely thank you for your understanding. It is true that Christmas is a peak season of travelling and hotel industry, therefore, the room prices of all hotels in Hong Kong are significantly more expensive than non-peak season. However, our room prices remain very competitive during the rest days in the year.

Once again, thank you for your compliment and we look forward to serving you again during your next visit in Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Exceptionally helpful and solicitous – so very pleased to stay at The Harbourview. Everyone at the hotel extremely professional especially Mike! Mike went out of his way to ensure my stay was successful.

I can’t recommend highly enough the hospitality shown by all the Mike. The room view and good but a bit small. I will tell my travelling colleagues and friends in the states about this hotel and recommend them to stay at The Harbourview.

Staff, as I mentioned Mike was the staff who changed what I thought was a hostel to a five star hotel by his service. He is professional and gives directions as locals would travel to most majority places instead of being a goof ball in being a tourist! He gives really good recommendations around the city! He has a cheerful smile as I observe he gives a really good smiling attitude in treating all guests with a warm welcome and smile with delighted to help attitude! Mike is service oriented, if he can't find the place he'll google it for you.

Thank you Mike and The Harbourview, I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serious_travel4644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us and writing a piece of compliment on TripAdvisor.com. We are grateful to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the stunning harbour view from the guestroom. Also, we are happy that you find our service standard outstanding, especially the service delivered by Mike. Your appreciation would be communicated to our Front Office Department staff accordingly.

Your comment on the room size is acknowledged. Please note that we do have other room types, namely, Executive Room and Executive Deluxe Room, both are significantly larger than regular rooms and face the Victoria Harbour. You may consider staying in one of these rooms for your next visit to have an even better accommodation experience.

Thank you again for your positive comment and recommending our hotel to your friends and colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#122 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#121 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#108 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,868 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#78 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourview Hong Kong

Property: The Harbourview Hong Kong
Address: No.4 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbourview Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Harbourview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour View International House Hong Kong
Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing