We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Expo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Harbourview Hong Kong
Ranked #149 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location for Expo”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel although in the seemed region of Hong Kong is in a great location for the exhibition centre, just a short 3-5 minute walk. The Hotel is clean but doesn't have a bar to relax in the foyer or any other sitting spaces. There may be a pool but I didn't see it. Limited in room information and no in house movies, there were some good news channels. The Lifts could not cope with the morning rush, quite frustrating waiting 10 minutes. All up OK if you just want to sleep (very very hard bed) and go out. Not a Hotel I would sit around in.

Room Tip: Ask for a soft bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lazylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com and we are regretful that we fell below your expectations in a few aspects.

It is true that we do not have a public bar in the hotel. However, we do have two dining places serving food and drinks throughout the day, namely Harbour Restaurant and Mezz Floor. For the operating hours and food varieties, please visit our hotel’s official website. You might consider trying one of them during your next visit. Besides, there are numerous bars within 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel across the main road if you would like to have more choices.

Please be informed that we could provide a soft topper on top of the mattress for guests who prefer softer mattress and additional pillows for guests could also be arranged upon guests’ request. Kindly drop us an e-mail at reservation@theharbourview.com.hk and let us know your name and period of stay, so that we can mark your preference in your profile and have proper arrangement prior to your arrival when you stay with us again.

Your comment on the seating in our hotel’s lobby is well noted too. In fact, there are a number of seats available at the hotel lobby. We have passed your opinions to the management to consider the possibility of increasing the number of seating at the lobby.

Constrained by the size of our hotel, kindly be informed that there is no swimming pool at our hotel. While for the television issue, the hotel will introduce more TV channels and launch paid-movies channels in guestrooms. Please be assured that we will complete the process as soon as possible. On the other hand, we are grateful that you appreciated the installed news channel.

In addition, we would like to take this chance to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the heavy traffic of the guest floor lifts in the morning. Please note that we have been trying our best to encourage guests visiting M/F to 4/F to use the lift beside the hotel entrance so as to reduce the traffic of guest floor lifts. Meanwhile, we are looking for other measures to improve the situation.

Last but not least, thank you for your positive comments on our hotel’s cleanliness and convenient location. Please be assured that improvements would be made definitely and we sincerely wish that you could give us one more chance when you are visiting Hong Kong again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    585
    302
    53
    31
See reviews for
119
288
124
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a great option considering many hotels in Hong Kong can kill your budget. The location is superb and you can walk to the water and around Wan Chai with ease. It is a 2 minute walk to the convention centre which is a big plus. Our room was average size for HK but was well-appointed and comfortable.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no view at all. Request a view of the harbour when booking/checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for writing us a piece of compliment on TripAdvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and appreciated the hotel’s convenient location, the price, the comfort of the guestroom as well as the in-room amenities.

Your positive comment is a great encouragement to us indeed. Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I just want to say my business trip and stay at the Harborview was excellent the staff was excellent Mike Wong up at the front desk was one of the most courteous and helpful people at the hotel this man was right on the money always there always friendly is an asset to your establishment he is definitely management material my wife was very pleased and I am planning a huge convention at this hotel a Harborview the end of the summer 2014 want to thank Mike Wong and think the Harborview for a wonderful experience, I would also like to say I have been in the travel industry for many years I can clearly see dedication and motivation and I would like to offer Mike Wong and open invitation to have a future with our company expanding in the Hong Kong market with a position as marketing director running the whole operation I know you have a great career at the Harborview like I said this is an open invitation
Eric N.

Room Tip: The best advice I can give is if you want a really good view , you should upgrade the few dollars a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing us a piece of compliment on TripAdvisor.com. We are gratified to know that you and your wife had an enjoyable stay with us and found our service standard outstanding, especially the service delivered by Mike. Your appreciation would be communicated to our Front Office staff members duly. Please be assured that we will keep up our good work definitely.

Also, we are happy that you are planning to hold a convention at our hotel in this summer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is on Harbour Road in Wanchai, only a few minutes walk from the Convention Centre, Star Ferry and MTR (Wan Chai station). It was easy to get anywhere. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. It exceeded expectations for a 3-star hotel and was excellent value for the discounted price we were able to get on-line.
We took bus A12 from the airport (HKD 45) as recommended by another tripadvisor reviewer and got off at Stop #6 -HK Centre for Performing Arts. It took about 30 minutes and only stopped at a few of the stops so was almost like an express bus. Very convenient and much cheaper than the airport express (although it may be slower in rush hour traffic). The hotel is only a short walk away. When you get off the bus, follow the signs for the Arts Centre and the Conference Centre. The hotel is next door (east of) to the Arts Centre, well before the Conference Centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing us a piece of compliment on TripAdvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the hotel’s convenient location, the price, transportation network, the cleanliness and comfort of guestroom as well as the friendly and attentive service delivered by our staff members.

Please be assured that we will continue to strive for higher service standard. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed four nights in this hotel as I was attending a conference at the Hong Kong Convention Centre. The convention centre is only 2 blocks away and it was therefore easy to walk back and forth if I wanted to drop something off at my hotel. I found the room size adequate. I would liken it to being slightly larger than a ship's cabin. The room and bathroom was always kept clean. What I appreciated was the fact that the king sized bed was firm and did not have a sag in the middle. The free wifi in my room had good signal strength. The hotel achieves what it set out to be, namely a good value business hotel. So long as one understands the sector the hotel is catering to, you will not be disappointed. Lastly, I left my keys in the hotel room and the hotel found my keys and was responsive in mailing them back to me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGhows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for staying with us and writing us a piece of positive comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and you are satisfied with the hotel’s convenient location, the free wireless internet service, size of the guestroom, the comfort of the bed as well as the cleanliness of guestroom and bathroom. Also, we are happy that you have received the keys we mailed back to you and found your stay with us value for money.

Once again, thank you for your compliment. We will keep up our good work definitely and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

1) Near to Hong Kong Convention And Exhibition Centre .
2) Best part near to MTR and Khana Khazana Indian restaurant (pure veg).
3) Free Wi-Fi.
4) Direct bus connectivity from airport.
5) Good service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anki02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for staying with us and writing us a piece of compliment on TripAdvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated the hotel’s convenient location, transportation system, cleaniliness, the wireless broadband internet service as well as the service delivered by our staff members. Your appreciation will be communicated to all staff duly. Please be assured that we will keep up our good work definitely.

Once again, thank you for you positive comment. We will continue to strive for higher standard of service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

While very closely situated to the convention center, the hotel is barely old: air conditining is not working (hotel gave me a very noisy dehumifyier for my room!), windows are not very good (i.e. you have lot of street noise) and by the end more expensive than e.g. hotels in Tokyo in the middle of Ginza

Room Tip: Take a room with harbourview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgecly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for writing us a piece of comment on TripAdvisor.com. Offering delightful accommodation experience to guests is always the main concern of the hotel and we are regretful that we fell below your expectations in a few aspects.

Your comments on the in-room air-conditioner and dehumidifier are well noted. Please understand that the humidity in Hong Kong in spring and early summer is extremely high, making it necessary for us to place a dehumidifier in your room to prevent any bad smell in the room. Besides, we would like to clarify that our air-conditioner was in order, however the temperature might have been set too high. We have already raised this issue to our Engineering department for review and improvement would be made. Guests are strongly advised to contact our Front Desk staff any time if they need any assistance during the stay. Our staff would offer assistance and room change could be arranged if the situation allows.

In addition, we are sorry for the noise caused by the weak sound-proofing ability of the room windows. We will pass your opinions to the management to consider the possibility of installing sound-proofed windows in our guestrooms during our next renovation project.

Please note that we do have a supplement charge on our room rate whenever there is an exhibition or fair at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre which is located right opposite to us. However, our prices remain competitive on the other days.

Once again, thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we sincerely wish that you could offer us a second chance to do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#131 of 718 in Hong Kong
369 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#115 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,964 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#108 of 718 in Hong Kong
101 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#121 of 718 in Hong Kong
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourview Hong Kong

Property: The Harbourview Hong Kong
Address: No.4 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbourview Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Harbourview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour View International House Hong Kong
Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing