We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for convention” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbourview Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Harbourview Hong Kong
Ranked #144 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent location for convention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Just across the road from the HK Convention Centre. Staff very helpful -check-in was speedy, taxi to airport arranged quickly, rooms very clean.

Did not get a Harbour view but instead had a view of two buildings under construction! Tough luck. Lifts were a bit slow but ok.

Room interior a bit dated. No
USB charging ports.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyverns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for writing us a piece of comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the hotel’s convenient location, transportation network, cleanliness of the guestroom, the efficiency of check-in as well as the helpfulness of our staff members.

Limited by the location, some of our guestrooms do face the wall of the next building unavoidably. We have been trying our very best to offset this weakness with our location and service standard. You are strongly recommended to stay in a room with a harbour view during your next visit to enjoy an even better accommodation experience. For details of our room categories, you are welcomed to visit our hotel’s official website or contact our Reservation Department.

It is true that the hotel does not have USB charging ports in guestrooms. We have passed your opinion to our management to consider installing USB charging ports in guestrooms in the future.

Last but not least, your comment on the décor of our guestroom is also well taken and has been passed to our management for review. For your information, the previous renovation of our guestrooms was conducted in 2009, less than 5 years ago.

Once again, thank you for your kind comment. We will continue to strive for higher standard of service and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    572
    293
    53
    29
See reviews for
118
279
120
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was here for a conference in the Hong Kong convention centre. The Harbourview hotel was very convenient as it is a 5 minute walk to the convention centre. The room that I stayed in was very clean and spacious. The bed was a bit on the hard side but that certainly didn't make the stay less desirable. The hotel is also close to the bus stop and Wanchai train station. The staff are quite friendly and are wiling to assist in every way possible. Wanchai itself is a nice area to stay in with a good night life. All in all, great stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpiwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us and writing us a piece of compliment on TripAdvisor.com. We are gratified to know that you appreciated the hotel’s convenient location, transportation network, the size and cleanliness of the guestroom and the service delivered by our staff members. Your appreciation will be communicated to all staff members duly. Please be assured that we will keep up our good work definitely.

Regarding the comfort of the bed, please be informed that we can provide a soft topper on the mattress for guests who prefer softer mattress. You may call our Housekeeping Department for assistance during your stay. Besides, please drop us an e-mail at reservation@theharbourview.com.hk to let us know your name and period of stay, so that we could mark your preference in your profile and make a proper arrangement upon your next stay with us. Alternatively, you are welcomed to notify us your preference upon checking in.

Your positive comment is a great encouragement to us. Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar
Level Contributor
311 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I decided to try the Harvourview Hotel because of a special deal offered on the Web, and was very pleasantly surprised. It was perfect accommodation

Despite initial trepidation because of some negative reviews, I found the hotel very adequate.

There are no frills, but my room was clean and quite spacious. The room was ready despite my arriving before the official check-in time.

Most of all the location is ultra-convenient, within easy walking distance of the ferry and MRT, as well as the restaurants of Wanchai.

The only negative thing I experienced during my stay was loud Chinese tour groups departing the hotel before dawn, announcing their departure in loud decibels. This, of course, is not the hotel's fault, but rather a cultural artifact any traveler in China must get used to.

I enjoyed my stay, and will stay at Harbourview again when passing through Hong Kong for business.

Room Tip: See if you can score a corner room, which is more spacious an quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing us a piece of positive comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the hotel’s convenient location, transportation network, the cleanliness and the size of the guestroom. We will keep up our good work definitely.

Regarding the noise caused by other guests, please accept our sincere apology and we sincerely thank you for your understanding. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we will continue to strive for improvement and we look forward to welcoming back you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Excellent location close to Wanchai MTR station and the Star Ferry pier. Good restaurants within walking distance (would recommend Al Dente and Tinello on the covered walkway to the ferry pier, or the M&S food store on the walkway from the MTR if you want to enjoy a picnic in your room). Ask for a room with a harbour view and you will not be disappointed. Buffet breakfast caters for both eastern and western tastes with a good choice and good service. The hotel has a restaurant, but no bar (there are plenty of bars in Wanchai!). This is our 5th visit, and the Harbour View remains our hotel of choice when in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Must ask for a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Putty_Riffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your continuous support and writing us a piece of compliment on TripAdvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and appreciated the hotel’s convenient location, the stunning harbour view from the guestroom, the quality and variety of breakfast buffet as well as the service delivered by our restaurant staff.

It is true that we do not have a bar in our hotel, but we have two dining places, namely Harbour Restaurant (where breakfast buffet is served) and Mezz Floor (on M/F) serving food and drinks throughout the day. For the opening hours and food varieties, you are welcomed to visit our hotel’s official website. However, if you would like to have more choices, please visit the bars in nearby areas.

Thank you again for your positive feedback which is a great encouragement to us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Harbourview to be close to the convention center. The location of the Hotel is so convenient for easy access to the convention center and to restaurants in Wan Chai. Its an easy walk to the MTR and Tramways if you need to get to further locations. It appears that all the rooms have a great view of the Harbor. At night, you can watch the animated lights of ICC building in Kowloon. The staff at the hotel are very courteous and professional. The breakfast bar was good with a nice selection of hot and cold food items. The only thing that I can possibly pick on was the room seemed a little dated and the TV wasn't as large as other hotels I had stayed on on this particular trip. Also, the bed was too firm for my taste. But for the value this hotel provides, those are minor things. I would pick this hotel again if I ever need to return to the Convention Center.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing us a piece of positive comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the hotel’s convenient location, transportation network, the food quality of breakfast buffet, the gorgeous harbour view from the room as well as the service delivered by our staff. You appreciation will be communicated to all staff members duly. Please be assured that we will keep up our good work absolutely.

Your comment on the design and décor of our guestroom is well taken and we have passed your opinions to our management for review. For your information, the previous renovation of our guestrooms was conducted in 2009, less than 5 years ago. While for the television issue, kindly be informed that the majority of televisions in our guestrooms are installed in late 2013 and early 2014, the minimum size of TVs are 26 inches in width, which we believe it is large enough for our guestrooms. However, we will consider having larger TVs when we have renovation in the future.

Regarding the bed, please be informed that we can provide a soft topper on the mattress for guests who prefer sleeping on softer mattress. You may call our Housekeeping Department for assistance during your stay. Besides, please drop us an e-mail at reservation@theharbourview.com.hk to let us know your name and period of stay, so that we could mark your preference in your profile and make a proper arrangement upon your next stay with us. Alternatively, you are welcomed to notify us your preference upon checking in.

Thank you again for your kind comment. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel although in the seemed region of Hong Kong is in a great location for the exhibition centre, just a short 3-5 minute walk. The Hotel is clean but doesn't have a bar to relax in the foyer or any other sitting spaces. There may be a pool but I didn't see it. Limited in room information and no in house movies, there were some good news channels. The Lifts could not cope with the morning rush, quite frustrating waiting 10 minutes. All up OK if you just want to sleep (very very hard bed) and go out. Not a Hotel I would sit around in.

Room Tip: Ask for a soft bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lazylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com and we are regretful that we fell below your expectations in a few aspects.

It is true that we do not have a public bar in the hotel. However, we do have two dining places serving food and drinks throughout the day, namely Harbour Restaurant and Mezz Floor. For the operating hours and food varieties, please visit our hotel’s official website. You might consider trying one of them during your next visit. Besides, there are numerous bars within 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel across the main road if you would like to have more choices.

Please be informed that we could provide a soft topper on top of the mattress for guests who prefer softer mattress and additional pillows for guests could also be arranged upon guests’ request. Kindly drop us an e-mail at reservation@theharbourview.com.hk and let us know your name and period of stay, so that we can mark your preference in your profile and have proper arrangement prior to your arrival when you stay with us again.

Your comment on the seating in our hotel’s lobby is well noted too. In fact, there are a number of seats available at the hotel lobby. We have passed your opinions to the management to consider the possibility of increasing the number of seating at the lobby.

Constrained by the size of our hotel, kindly be informed that there is no swimming pool at our hotel. While for the television issue, the hotel will introduce more TV channels and launch paid-movies channels in guestrooms. Please be assured that we will complete the process as soon as possible. On the other hand, we are grateful that you appreciated the installed news channel.

In addition, we would like to take this chance to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the heavy traffic of the guest floor lifts in the morning. Please note that we have been trying our best to encourage guests visiting M/F to 4/F to use the lift beside the hotel entrance so as to reduce the traffic of guest floor lifts. Meanwhile, we are looking for other measures to improve the situation.

Last but not least, thank you for your positive comments on our hotel’s cleanliness and convenient location. Please be assured that improvements would be made definitely and we sincerely wish that you could give us one more chance when you are visiting Hong Kong again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a great option considering many hotels in Hong Kong can kill your budget. The location is superb and you can walk to the water and around Wan Chai with ease. It is a 2 minute walk to the convention centre which is a big plus. Our room was average size for HK but was well-appointed and comfortable.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no view at all. Request a view of the harbour when booking/checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for writing us a piece of compliment on TripAdvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and appreciated the hotel’s convenient location, the price, the comfort of the guestroom as well as the in-room amenities.

Your positive comment is a great encouragement to us indeed. Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#122 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#121 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#108 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,869 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#78 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourview Hong Kong

Property: The Harbourview Hong Kong
Address: No.4 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbourview Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Harbourview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour View International House Hong Kong
Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing