We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at The Harbourview”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Harbourview Hong Kong
Ranked #148 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay at The Harbourview”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here last February 2014. We loved our stay! Location was great.

From the airport, we were able to ride the airport shuttle bus (A12) which dropped us off at the HK Convention Center. The hotel was just down the same street, a little turn to a corner. From the hotel, we could easily walk to Lockhart Road which boasts of delicious food from different restaurants. MTR was about 10-minutes stroll, which was rather convenient.

There was nothing we can complain about our room. The space was great for us. We got the Premier room. We liked that there was a coffee table with complimentary coffee and tea; and a work desk too. Room amenities were complete: aircondition, television, hot and cold shower, hair dryer... to mention a few.

Hotel service was excellent. Every day our bed got fixed up, hotel toiletries were replenished. Rooms were clean, no pests of any sort. Hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant as well.

In cases where you haven't already booked a tour, the hotel has a tourist assistance desk where one can choose from a variety of tours, suitable to what one prefers.

We would definitely recommend this place to our family and friends who do not want to splurge too much on hotel rooms. If ever we do decide to go back to Hong Kong and stay on HK Island, we would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholamapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing us a piece of positive comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are grateful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the hotel’s convenient location, transportation network, the size and cleanliness of the guestroom as well as the in-room amenities and facilities. We are also happy that you found our service standard satisfactory. We will continue to strive for higher service standard definitely.

Once again, thank you for your kind comment and recommending our hotel to your family and friends. We look forward to serving you when you are visiting Hong Kong again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    596
    308
    54
    31
See reviews for
123
290
127
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect
The bus from the airport stops 100 mt. from the hotel and the subway is less than 10min walk
If you take a taxi be careful: there is another hotel in the area with a similar name, so the taxi driver could make a mistake and bring you in a different hotel...
Check in/out smooth

Rooms are small but is hongkong
I liked this hotel

My only complaint is that they dont have a proper BAR: I mean, you can sit and order whatever you want at the table... and it s ok.
But as a i am a drunk,in a 4star hotel i like to sit at the 24h bar and drink on the barstool with all the bottles right in front of me
Anyway, good place to sta
(I never eat breakfast, but iI ve seen the buffet and i must say it was one of the best i ever seen)


  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girodasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing us a piece of kind comment. We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and you are satisfied with the hotel’s convenient location, the efficiency of check-in and check-out as well as the transportation network. Although you did not patronize the breakfast buffet, we are grateful that you appreciated the food variety and setting of the buffet. You are strongly suggested to try it during your next stay.

It is true that the names and locations of The Harbourview and Renaissance Harbour View Hotel are very similar and some of the taxi drivers may mix up 2 hotels. We have been trying our best to promote our hotel through online and offline channels to increase our visibility to the public. Also, in-house guests are welcomed to collect hotel name cards at the reception desk for showing to taxi drivers to make sure drivers drop them off at the right place.

It is also a fact that we do not have a bar. However, there are plenty of bars within 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel across the main road, which you may be interested to explore during your next trip to Hong Kong.

Your comment on the size of our guestrooms is well noted too and we sincerely thank you for your understanding. Once again, thank you for your positive comment. We will continue to strive for higher standard of service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

-The location is great for food- 5mim walk to Lockhart Road with food ranging from western cuisine to traditional Hong Kong cuisine.
-The staff were friendly and helpful.
-the hotel was very well presented and clean
-the room was average for the price paid with a harbour view including a construction site that went well into the night

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stirlingreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for writing us a piece of positive comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the hotel’s location, the price, the décor and design, the cleanliness, the stunning harbour view from the guestroom as well as the service delivered by our staff members.

Once again, thank you for your compliment. We will keep up our good work definitely and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

From someone that doesn't live in Hong Kong..I stayed in this hotel last week for a couple of nights on vacation and it's close to the shops and good views from the windows. However when i stayed there was works going on outside the hotel which were quite noisy till late at night and from early morning and obstructing the lovely view. However this proved to be a key in finding the hotel as late at night because it has quite a small entrance compared to other hotels in Hong Kong. The staff are friendly and happy to answer questions however, there is quite a big language barrier sometimes but they try their best to help you. I was disappointed the light show could not be seen from this hotel as It was suggested by others it could be but if you want to see it it's only a short way away. Overall it's a good hotel for the money! and it's location is good

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgiecattani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for writing us a piece of comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the hotel’s convenient location and the stunning harbour view.

Limited by the location of the hotel, some of our rooms face partial harbour view only, which might be unable to view the light show from the room. For guest who would like to enjoy a full harbour view, they are kindly advised to make a reservation for “Full Harbour View Room” or “Executive Room” to ensure they could enjoy the spectacular show and harbour view.

Regarding the noisy caused by outside construction works, guests may contact our Front Desk staff any time if they need any assistance during the stay. Our staff would offer assistance and room change could be arranged if the situation allows.

Please also note that we always maintain sufficient lighting at the hotel lobby. Therefore, we trust that guests or pedestrians who walk along the street could easily see our hotel.

Your comment on the language standard of our staff is well taken too. Please be assured that continuous English training course will be offered to our staff so that all of our team members could communicate with our guests fluently.

Thank you again for your feedback which is not only helpful but also a great encouragement to us. We will continue improving our facilities and service standard and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlinton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our 20 month old daugther. Getting to the hotel is relatively easy. We took the MTR from the airport to Hong Kong Station. From Hong Kong Station, we took the bus shuttle (2) to get there. After the third stop at HK Convention Centre, we got off and walked down the same street (so close - less than a five minute walk!) to the hotel. We were upgraded to a harbour view on the 6th floor. The room was very clean and it came with the typical amenities. There's free internet too.The location is really convenient to everything in Wan Chai. We did not choose to have the breakfast option since it was expensive and we knew there are better breakfast options for cheaper - Hokkaido Dairy is like an 8 minute walk from the hotel. We didn't mind staying here for the two nights we were here. I understand the previous posts about construction, but all near the harbour have been under construction as they are working on expanding the island for more development. You are on the wrong side for the light show, so you will not see it. Hotel rooms in Hong Kong are small everywhere but we were able to fit a pack n play just fine and still have space to move.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aereen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for writing us a piece of compliment on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Limited by the location of the hotel, some of our rooms face partial harbour view only, which might be unable to view the light show from the room. For guest who would like to enjoy a full harbour view, they are kindly advised to make a reservation for “Full Harbour View Room” or “Executive Room” to ensure they could enjoy the spectacular show and harbour view.

Our breakfast buffet price is very competitive if compared with the prices of nearby hotels. However, we will pass your comment to our Food and Beverage Manager for review.

Once again, thank you for writing us a positive comment. We will continue to strive for higher standard of service and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,485 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 957 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having both lived in Hong Kong (for 18 months 2007-2008) and travelled here regularly on business trips I feel I am well qualified to write this review.

I stayed at 'The Harbourview' in the Wanchai district of Hong Kong Island for 3 nights in June 2014. I choose this hotel out of the many there are to select from for it's location and it's value.

Location is great as it is a 5 minutes walk away from the Wanchai MTR Station and also an easy walk away from the Star Ferry pier. Wanchai has a lively bar scene and there are some good places to eat at a reasonable cost as well (such as the Chili Club on Lockhart road, again a 5 minute walk from this hotel). There are views of the harbour (hence the name) from some rooms, (I was in room 1406 and see my view in the attached picture).

My room was very clean and a reasonable size, as far as Hong Kong standards go. It was well presented with Minibar, fridge, safety deposit box, a place to put my suitcase, clothes drawers and wardrobe, work desk, armchair, effective aircon, good level of lighting, phone, WiFi that worked great and was included in my room rate, LCDTV, tea and coffee facilities, full length mirror, hairdryer, toilet, effective shower and wash basin.

The staff were friendly and I had no issues at all during my stay. I did not eat at all at the hotel as so easy to eat out. So I can't comment on the food. However I do recommend this Hotel for a short Hong Kong stay over or for business travel... Good hotel at a respectable price.

Room Tip: Room 1406 had a view of the harbour and was well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing us a piece of positive comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and are satisfied with the hotel’s convenient location, price, transportation network, the in-room amenities and facilities, the free wireless internet service, the size and cleanliness of the guestroom as well as the friendly service delivered by our staff members. Your appreciation will be communicated to all staff members duly. Please be assured that we will keep up our good work definitely.

Furthermore, we are aware that you did not patronize our restaurants during your stay. Kindly note that our hotel has 2 dining places, namely, Harbour Restaurant (1/F) and Mezz Floor (M/F). Apart from the breakfast buffet, Harbour Restaurant serves lavish buffets during lunch and dinner hours, while Mezz Floor serves drinks and light snacks throughout the day. You are the most welcomed to try one of them during your next stay.

Thank you very much for finding your stay with us value for money and recommending our hotel to other business travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights.beds hard
Breakfast expensive.a fair walk in to city
Note this the wrong side for the light show on the Harbour
And when we stayed there were building works going on until quite late on the Harbour front next to the rear of the hotel
Ie harbour view rooms and was noisy
.



...

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank faderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for writing us a piece of comment on TripAdvisor.com. Offering thoughtful service and delightful accommodation experience to guests are always the main concerns of the hotel and we are regretful that we fell below your expectations in various aspects.

Please be informed that we can provide a soft topper on the mattress for guests who prefer softer mattress. You may call our Housekeeping Department for assistance during your stay. Besides, please drop us an e-mail at reservation@theharbourview.com.hk to let us know your name and period of stay, so that we could mark your preference in your profile and make a proper arrangement upon your next stay with us. Alternatively, you are welcomed to notify us your preference upon checking in.

In addition, we are sorry for the noise that you have encountered during your stay. Guests are advised to contact our Front Desk staff any time if they need any assistance during the stay. Our staff would offer assistance and room change could be arranged if the situation allows.

Last but not least, your comment on the breakfast buffet price is well taken and we have passed your opinion to our Food and Beverage Department for review and follows up.

Once again, thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we sincerely wish that you could offer us a second chance during your next visit to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#131 of 717 in Hong Kong
374 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#115 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#105 of 717 in Hong Kong
122 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#77 of 717 in Hong Kong
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourview Hong Kong

Property: The Harbourview Hong Kong
Address: No.4 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbourview Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Harbourview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour View International House Hong Kong
Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing