We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over marketed &Very Small Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Harbourview Hong Kong
Ranked #148 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Surat, India
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Over marketed &Very Small Rooms”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very Small rooms, even for a double occupancy. You could barley fit two people & their luggage. We had asked for an extra bed during booking it self & it could barley fit. Was an extremely uncomfortable stay.
On the brighter side the staff is efficient & every thing ie restaurants, MTR is only a few min walk.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are better but most likely your view is blocked. The normal rooms i'm told lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShahNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review and we are happy to know that you are satisfied with the transportation network and the service delivered by our staff members.

Your comment on the size of our guestroom is well taken. Please be advised that the majority of our guestrooms are roughly 200 square feet in size. This is an average room size comparing with other hotels in Hong Kong. We do have other room categories too, namely, Executive Room and Executive Deluxe Room, which are significantly larger in size and face the stunning harbour view. Guests are suggested to reserve either one of the above room to ensure they could enjoy a more spacious environment. Certainly, the price for those rooms would be higher than the regular ones. For further details, please visit our hotel’s official website.

Also, guests are advised to contact our Front Desk staff any time if they need any assistance during the stay. Upon guests’ request, room change to a larger guestroom could be arranged with a supplement charge if we have unoccupied rooms.

Once again, thank you for your kind comment and we would be grateful if you could give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    598
    308
    54
    31
See reviews for
123
290
127
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Having been in HK for many years now there are lots of options that are available from time to time. However, if one has to do more on the HK side, The Harbourbiew (different than the Rennaissance Harbourview), would fit the bill perfectly and in case you have an Exhibition to attend at the HK Convention Centre, you cannot ask for more. Book early though to get better rates! A nice 7 minutes walk to the Underground Train Station and ample buses are available in the vicinity of the Hotel. The rooms are good sized for the money you are paying and the Restaurant on the 1st floor does full justice to the breakfast or just a coffee & a snack during the day! Numerous Restaurants around Wanchai in the vicinity of the Hotel have ample choice of any cuisine that you may be longing for! You cannot go wrong with this Hotel selection!

Room Tip: Just pay a bit more & get the HarbourView!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsmcanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us and writing us a piece of positive comment. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the hotel’s convenient location, price, size of the guestroom, transportation network as well as the food variety of our breakfast. Please be assured that we will keep up our good work definitely.

Please be informed that apart from the breakfast buffet, Harbour Restaurant (1/F) also serves lavish buffets during lunch and dinner hours. You are the most welcomed to try our buffets during your next stay.

Once again, thank you for your compliment. We will continue to strive for higher service standard and we look forward to serving you during your next visit in Hon Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is my first time to stay in this hotel, the airport shuttle will stop at the Hongkong expo. It's around 5 minutes walk from the hotel. I booked this hotel because it's near to the Hongkong expo. We booked twin bed for harbourview room, but unfortunately our room was small and the bathroom is also quite small. The bed was very hard and not comfort at all. We booked for 6 nights but we only stay for one night.

The check in staff are excellent. Good free wifi, small gym and the location is not really good, if you want to use the MRT, you need to go up for pedestrian bridge to cross the big street, it's about 10-15 minutes walk and not so many restaurant around the hotel.

This is for business hotel, not for tourist hotel. If you are tourist, better find another hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour view room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantolau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review and we are regretful that we fell below your expectations in various aspects.

Your comment on the size of our bathroom and guestroom is well acknowledged. Please be advised that the majority of our guestrooms are around 200 square feet in size. This is an average room size comparing with other hotels in Hong Kong. Also, we do have other room categories, namely, Executive Room and Executive Deluxe Room, which are significantly larger than regular rooms and face the stunning harbour view. For details, you are welcomed to visit our hotel’s official website or contact our Reservation Department.
In regards to the comfort of the bed, please be informed that we can provide a soft topper on the mattress for guests who prefer softer mattress, you may contact our Housekeeping Department for assistance during your stay. Besides, you are welcomed to drop us an e-mail at reservation@theharbourview.com.hk to let us know your name and period of stay, so that we could mark your preference in your profile and make a proper arrangement if you stay with us again. Alternatively, you are welcomed to notify us your preference upon checking in.
Regarding the transportation issue you raised, since our hotel is located in the middle of MTR Wanchai and Admiralty station, it might take you 10 to 15 minutes to walk to either station. Besides MTR, you may consider other modes of transportation, such as bus or Star Ferry. Bus stops with various routes to the Island side and Kowloon side and Star Ferry terminal to Tsim Sha Tsui are all within 10 minutes’ walking distance from the hotel. Also, there are numerous restaurant and bars across the main road which you can reach in 10 minutes. For inquiries related to transportation and dining out, you are welcomed to contact our Concierge team at the hotel lobby, our staff members are more than willing to offer you help. With such travel ease, we believe our hotel is suitable for both business and leisure travelers.

Last but not least, we admitted that the size of our gymnasium is not big while comparing with other hotels in Hong Kong, however, we have been trying our best to equip our gymnasium with different varieties of equipment.

On the other hand, we are glad to know that you are satisfied with the strength of wireless broadband internet signal and the service delivered by our Reception Staff. Please be assured that we will continue to improve our facilities and we sincerely wish that you could give us a second chance during your next visit to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is situated in a very good location. The rooms are a good size, large comfortable bed and most things you expect in a hotel. The check in and lobby staff are excellent and go out of their way to assist. Pity that does not extend to the staff in the restaurant at breakfast. They hover around your table waiting to take empty plates away even if you have gone to get something else and not finished what is on your plate when you come back it is gone. They have a chit system for payment that they bring around for you to sign. Despite signing mine I was asked twice more to sign again (which I refused) and then chased to the lift and accused of not paying. Finally they found the chit I had signed and confirmed I had paid. No sorry or pardon for wasting my time. Very rude and inefficient. I would stay here again but not eat at the restaurant. I will be going somewhere else for breakfast tomorrow. My rating for service is average because of the restaurant staff, with whom I had the most interaction.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a view and mine on the 10th floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romanny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us and writing us a piece of comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the hotel’s convenient location, room size, comfort of the bed, in-room facilities and the service delivered by our front desk staff members.

We would like to take this chance to apologize for the incident that you had encountered in the restaurant. We do take your words seriously and we have passed your message to our Food and Beverage Department for review and follow up. Staff members have been briefed to check carefully the payment record before bringing the bill to the guest so as to avoid any inconvenience caused. Furthermore, continuous trainings are offered to ensure attentive and efficient services are provided by our restaurant staff and improvement would be made definitely.

Once again, thank you for your opinions, through which we could seek rooms for improvement. We sincerely wish that you could give Harbour Restaurant a second chance and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
743 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

So I would say this place is a solid, solid 4. But because of the team they have working there, it gets a 5!

There are lots of upsides to this hotel. Firstly, the customer service is ridiculously fantastic! It's super friendly without being overbearing or too deferential. It's just right! Mr. Augustus Au was particularly excellent. No matter who was at the concierge/bell desk or the front desk, a great experience with useful info was transmitted...I felt like I was the only guest there! I write a lot of good reviews but this place just really made me feel comfy!

The rooms are also a very decent size for a crowded (yet great) city like Hong Kong. There was plenty of room for all ones belongings and I also felt like it would be plenty of room for 2. The bathroom is quite small but there is a good rain shower! The only thing that could be updated was the carpet in some spots. Otherwise, they hit a home run, particularly for the price point. This is a very affordable spot for the price.

The only downside I see is location. It surely is NOT terrible. It does feel a bit out of the way from stuff, but realistically, it is just a 5 minute walk to plenty of eating and bars on the main drag (and right off the main drag) in Wanchai...The view of the harbor is also pretty fantastic, by the way. That may offset the little extra walk. It is also about the same distance from the Wanchai station. If you have heavy luggage, I'd suggest taking the Express Train to the Central Station and then cabbing it the rest of the way. Cabs are less than 30 bucks when traffic is light.

I would definitely stay here again- without a doubt. This is one of the smartest buys you can make in HK, actually!!! Totally worth your time!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your support and writing us a piece of positive comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you appreciated the hotel’s price, the size of the guestroom, the gorgeous view of Victoria Harbour and found our service standard outstanding, especially the service delivered by one of our Duty Managers, Augustus. Your appreciation would be communicated to our staff members duly. Please be assured that we will keep up our good work definitely.

Regarding the size of our bathroom, please be informed that we are unable to alter this situation but we have been trying our best to offset this weakness with our price and service standard. On the other hand, we are happy that you are satisfied with the facilities in the bathroom.

Your comment on the carpets is well taken and has been passed to Housekeeping Department for review. Please note that the corridor carpets on each guest floor were replaced recently and we will start replacing the guestroom carpets in different phrases in the next few months. We believe that the look and feel of the guestrooms will be much better after the new carpets are installed.

Last but not least, in response to your point on the hotel’s location, we sincerely thank you for your understanding. Your positive comment is a great encouragement to us indeed. Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hong Kong offers plenty of hotels from which to choose, so to some extent price, location and reviews such as those offered by TripAdvisor become the criteria you rely upon to make a good choice. The Harbourview Hong Kong does well on all three of these criteria. it is competitively priced, the location is excellent, at least for the tourist, and TripAdvisor writers generally have good things to say about it.
I found it paid to shop around among the various booking agencies, because in one case, at least on the day I booked, there was one agency offering a very good rate. I found the hotel easy to locate. I used one of the public buses from the airport (and also returned this way), which proved to be exceptional value. Check at the ticket office adjacent to the bus station at the airport. it was either bus 11 or 12, and I was dropped off less thsn 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
Reception staff are very welcoming and obliging, and on subsequent occasions i called at Reception I was attended to immediately. Information provided was always accurate, and staff most obliging. The room to which I was allocated had a wonderful view over the harbour, so I was very pleased in that regard. The room itself I thought very well designed: well-placed table, space for luggage, excellent wardrobe, with comfortable bed and chairs. Bed linen was of good qualiy. The bathroom, too, was very good, with excellent shower, and plenty of towels.
Lighting was good, but there are so many switches it takes a while to work out which switch operates which light. In particular, be aware that some lights are operated from a console near the bed.
Sound proofing of the rooms was excellent, both with regards to external noise and sound between rooms. The room to which I was allocated was on one of the upper levels, but the lifts arrive very promptly, and will have you at your floor level very quickly.
I didn't put the restaurant to the test: the deal I was on didn't include breakfast; however, reports from friends clearly indicated the breakfast was of a high standard, with plenty of choice.
We also used the services of the travel desk, and Iris, the tour consultant, went out of her way to be of assistance. Her advice, be it with maps, ferry information, access to the chairlift up the mountain, the hop-on hop-off bus, or tours of offer, was both spot-on and very willingly offered. Full marks to the hotel for providing this service.
Hotel strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing us a piece of compliment on TripAdvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and appreciated the hotel’s convenient location, the price, the comfort of the bed, in-room amenities, facilities in the bathroom, the design and décor of the room as well as the stunning harbour view from the guestroom. Also, we are happy that you found our service standard satisfactory, especially the service delivered by our Reception staff and Iris at the Tour Desk. Please be assured that we will continue to strive for higher service standard definitely.

Furthermore, we are aware that you did not patronize our restaurants during your stay. Kindly note that our hotel has 2 dining places, namely, Harbour Restaurant (1/F) and Mezz Floor (M/F). Apart from the breakfast buffet, Harbour Restaurant serves lavish buffets during lunch and dinner hours, while Mezz Floor serves drinks and light snacks throughout the day. You are the most welcomed to try one of them during your next stay. Also, we are delighted to hear your friends’ appreciations on the food quality and varieties of our breakfast buffet.

Thank you very much for voicing out your comments and recommending our hotel to other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I am a local Hongkonger and I stayed at this hotel with friends after a late night concert at the City Hall in Central and we decided to catch the flag-raising ceremony at the Golden Bauhinia Square early next morning. The hotel is located a good 10 mins from the train station and there is no convenient stores near the hotel but there are plenty near the train station so make sure you do the grocery shopping before heading back to the hotel. No department stores or shops nearby so you should expect some travelling if you stay at this hotel. The exhibition centre is adjacent to the hotel and the ferry pier is 15 mins from the hotel which takes you to the other side of the harbor. The lobby was new with high ceiling but the room is a bit old and the linen is a bit old fashion. The room was compact and bathroom was a bit tiny. Nevertheless, a hotel with this price tag situated in Wanchai near the exhibition centre is adequate, I guess.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chunnylittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the hotel’s convenient location, price, transportation network and the design of the hotel lobby.

Since our hotel is located in the middle of Wanchai and Admiralty, it might take you roughly 15 minutes to walk from the hotel to the nearby shopping malls. However, convenience stores are available within 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel, the nearest one is about 100 metres away from the hotel, but the locations are a bit tricky, we suggest guests to consult our Concierge staff for the exact locations.

Regarding the size of our guestroom, please be advised that the majority of our guestrooms are roughly 200 square feet in size, and there are 2 room categories which are significantly larger in size. You are welcomed to visit our hotel’s website if you are interested to know more. Thank you for your opinion on the interior design of our guestroom, we will take your comment into consideration upon our next renovation project. Regarding the size of our bathroom, we are unable to alter this situation but we have been trying our best to offset this weakness with our strengths, such as location and price. Your comment on the linen is well noted too and we have passed your opinion to our top management for consideration.

Once again, thank you for your kind comment and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#131 of 718 in Hong Kong
375 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#115 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#104 of 718 in Hong Kong
123 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourview Hong Kong

Property: The Harbourview Hong Kong
Address: No.4 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbourview Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Harbourview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour View International House Hong Kong
Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing