We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Coast is NOT HONG KONG!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
Ranked #98 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My 2 star rating is NOT because Gold Coast is a disappointing experience. It is because Gold Coast is not a "HongKong-ian" Experience...! I write this review to ward off people who are traveling to Hong Kong for the 1st time especially and want to experience the culture of the city...!

Why does one actually go Hong Kong...?! I'm certain its for the wonderful vibe of walking down Ladies Street at Mongkok or the Avenue of Stars in Kowloon, for the street shopping and the smells of the city! Gold Coast offers none of these experiences...!

Just so you know, Hong Kong is divided into 3 main territories. Ideally stay in Kowloon Peninsula...! However you can keep travelling between Hong Kong Island and Kowloon...! The 3rd territory is Tuen Mun (New Territories) which is where Gold Coast is located and my, the place is really really really far...! When the earlier reviewers say 20-30 mins to city centre, I beg to differ...! Please take into account the traffic and the signal stops, and you're easily wasting 45 mins one way...! So an hour and a half literally goes in wasteful travel...! Not to mention the money...! 30 HKD per head...! (A family of 4 ends up spending almost 200-240 HKD in a day just getting to the city!) Even the metro stop is a good half hour way...!

So yes, the resort is beautiful, with lovely lush gardens, a swimming pool and a beach, but think about why someone would travel all the way to another country for...?! Such weekend resorts can be found in your own country, sometimes in your own backyard...! Spending so much money, going to another country, always means imbibing their local flavour and culture...! And sadly Gold Coast doesn't offer that! I made the mistake of booking this property coz I was a little mis-led by all the reviewers talking about how pretty the place is and the 20 mins distance. Alas! Its much more far away than it sounds...! And it doesn't give you the joy of walking thru those night markets and the wonderful alleys that HongKong symbolises, as the place wears such a deserted look at night...!

So in case you're staying in HongKong for 10 days or more, stay 6-7 days in Kowloon and do a getaway in Gold Coast...! But don't choose this as your base to sight-see HongKong, which is the mistake me and my family made!

P.S: The rooms have incredible views of the harbor, the property is really plush, the staff courteous (as courteous as HongKongers can be : tipping helps!!! :-)), the buffet spread delectable. I STILL DON'T RECOMMEND IT THOUGH!

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors with views of the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ambili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

The rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all what is needed. The view in just gorgeous and the beach is just close the hotel. The shuttle is very convenient. 30hkd return and runs on the hour. The shuttle is needed because the hotel is not close to Hong Kong, but you're dropped right downtown. The breakfast buffet is amazing. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The balcony sold me, try finding a hotel on Hong Kong with a balcony. The hotel was excellent value for money, very clean.wonderful grounds. I will definitely use the hotel again even though it is a little out of the way, but that is not a bad thing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Our family stayed here for 3 nights prior to Christmas 2011 on a "Kidz Breaks Magic" package which provided free extra bed, breakfast, and disneyland ticket for my kid. There were a few issues with the inclusions of the package, which is hardly surprising given how complicated it was. Firstly, our booking stated we would get free airport transfers to the hotel, but on talking to the guy at the airport counter, and following a long conversation he had with hotel staff by phone, it turns out that it was free airport transfers for 2, so we had to pay HK$110 for my kid, which I thought was a bit laughable. Also, our booking said free transfers from the hotel to Tsing Yi MTR station, but on arrival at the hotel this was also denied, and we were told it was $HK60 per person one way (we caught taxis).

The room was pretty big by HK standards, with balcony and enough room for both beds. We were on Level 6, and there was SIGNIFICANT noise at night from parties/bad karaoke singers... fortunately we were so tired from days at Disneyland we all more or less slept through it. So, if you choose to stay here ask for a room on a higher floor.

There is a small shopping centre nearby with good supermarket and cheapish restaurants, so no worries about being held captive by hotel restaurants, etc.

Breakfast was truly awesome... so many choices, easily one of the most extensive breakfast buffets I've ever seen. I was VERY surprised that the pool was not heated. It was winter in Hong Kong but still warm enough to swim except that the pool was FREEZING, like 15 degrees or something! Are you kidding!

As others have said, this place is a LONG WAY away from everything which means shelling out for long taxi drives. Its so different from staying in the centre of Hong Kong, that it really isn't like Hong Kong at all, which is both an advantage, and a disadvantage. If you're looking to do stuff in the centre of town, you need to just stay in the centre of things (the rooms are more expensive but you'll save time and money on taxis/transport), not here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suliman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Recently spent 4 nights at the Gold Coast Hotel with my wife for Christmas. It was a wonderful time. The hotel was completely decorated and festive. Our seaview room was perfect! Everything we wanted we had, as well as a view of the boats, ships, and the Gold Coast beach! Our room was spacious, clean, and well maintained. The free internet was nice to be able to vacation but still keep in touch without an extra charge. The hotel has very nice pool areas and beautiful gardens for strolling, or relaxing at many places where benches are provided. It also has a playground area for the kids. We also enjoyed the views of the Gold Coast Yacht club next door that can be seen from the hotel property. Dolphin Square and the beach were also right there and great for walking and seeing the nearby area. Within a few minutes walk are some shops including a small grocery store and restaurants different from those at the hotel. While the hotel is outside of town it is a short walk to the main road where one can catch a bus to town and have access to the transit system of Hong Kong which is extensive. We totally enjoyed our Christmas 2011 at the Gold Coast Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbrown406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I have stayed many times at the Gold Coast Hotel, and also at their serviced apartments. The hotel is a great place for those wanting a relaxed time away from the hussle of inner city life.Distance wise it is about 20 -25 minutes from the city centre by car/taxi, and the hotel also provides a shuttle bus service for minimal price to the city centre and nearest MTR station.
The hotel is located right on the beach at the man made Gold Coast Bay. Water quality is not great, so swimming is recommended in their excellent pool. That said, it is still a very pleasant place to relax.
The hotel loby is grand and impressive, there are numerous eating options within thehotel itself, and with a short stroll to the Gold Coast mall, bars, restaurants and supermarket await.
Rooms are large by Hong Kong standards, and depending on your budget, you can choose from a 400 - 4000sq/ft room...

Room Tip: Go for one of the bigger balcony rooms.. and visit the awesome bar within the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We had 5 nights in Hong Kong with our 2 boys (9 yrs & 7 yrs) as the relaxing part at the end of a couple of weeks in Vietnam. The hotel was certainly luxurious and we did manage to relax in Hong Kong (which many people told us couldn't be done in Hong Kong!). Because the hotel is in the New Territories and a 40min taxi ride to all the action of town it was very quiet. We had 2 days beside the pool. The pool is great for kids with slides and varying depths. Breakfast was lovely but wasn't part of our deal so we found to this to be expensive compared to Vietnam prices we were used to. Because the hotel is a long way from town we could't find a cheaper alternative nearby that was satisfactory. The nearby Gold Coast shopping centre Piazza certainly had plenty of restaurants but none really with a great breakie. We ate out of an evening a couple of times at the Italian pizza/pasta place (name escapes me at the moment) - good pasta and great salads. The resort is in a good position to get to Hong Kong Disneyland - get a taxi from the hotel as its cheaper and quicker than the train. No complaints with the hotel so long as you realise you're a good 40mins away from Hong Kong Island so you can't just duck into town - you need to plan & be prepared to be gone for the day. If you're after a relaxing resort stay this is your place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rrfaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Have stayed for 10 days the hotel is very big and situsted in a very quiet part of the new territories. It is about an hours drive from Hong Kong itself. The facilities at the hotel are excellent, the service is quiet, efficient and freindly. It is a very popular venue for weddings with an average of Two per day everyday since we have been here. Sometimes the number of people milling around on the ground floor can be a bit overwhelming and very noisy, but it is confined to that area. We are in a Sea facing suite on the 5th Floor and it is very quiet.
Overall the only thing I can find fault with is that the distance from Central Hong Kong makes it difficult and expensive after a late night on the town, otherwise I reccomend the hotel if you want good service and a peaceful place during you stay in Hong Kong

Room Tip: The Sea facing rooms have a good view of the Yacht Marina and in the distance Lantau Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob-Bren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#386 of 723 in Hong Kong
421 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#107 of 723 in Hong Kong
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#56 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,074 reviews
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#369 of 723 in Hong Kong
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Address: No. 1 Castle Peak Road, Castle Peak Bay, Gold Coast, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £87 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban landscape of downtown Hong Kong and retreat to a family-friendly beach resort. Only 30 minutes from Central, our hotel is a welcoming seaside oasis with lush tropical gardens that sets the stage for a relaxing holiday, an idyllic wedding or a lively conference. Our 453 rooms and suites feature tranquil views of the sea or neighbouring Gold Coast Yacht and Country Club, allowing guests to be comforted by the cool sea breeze as they enjoy the genuine warmth of our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Hong Kong
Hotel Gold Coast
Gold Coast Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing