We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another side to Hong Kong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gold Coast Hotel
Ranked #103 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Another side to Hong Kong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I know this hotel well and lived nearby for a while. It presents a different face to Hong Kong because its a resort with pools, spa the works and in a very good location with wonderful sea views. It has a garden and good restaurants. We stayed for four days and the price was less than one day downtown, so we hired car and went to Stanley, Disneyland for dinner as well as business and shopping. The room was very good size the bathroom was fine but the shower poured water over the floor. We tried the new restaurant - Satay Inn - ( there are 3 ) and excellent Black Pepper Crab. The service is good and the internet is WIFI. Its a great alternative and lets you see more of Hong Kong
Of course Hong Kong is changing and there is a very slow invasion from mainland China. Its changing the character from a World city to another Chinese city, its a shame but i guess thats progress. This hotel is quite close to the border and that together with its price be warned it attracts mainland tourists. They can be and are noisy and over excited and can spoil your rest and enjoyment.
That said its a good choice, maybe busy at weekends with weddings etc and think about transport and a car is a good idea

Room Tip: A sea view with balcony is worth the investment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mybrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    398
    96
    29
    22
See reviews for
226
191
46
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Nice and nice for romantic couples as well for family away from noise and busy city very very relaxing worth the cost there will be transport to main shopping area and city which we have to pay but it is worth it brings to many different destination this hotel away from the main busy mtr train stations .

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vj v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Felinheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Brilliant buffet breakfast. Good plaza for outside the hotel eating. Lovely beach.We got local buses everywhere, after consulting google directions which number to catch.Much better than staying in Hong Kong town.

Room Tip: We travelled with Cathay Pacific and stayed here as stop over with breakfast and transfers thrown in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

HK Gold Coast is a very nice hotel aspiring to be a world class luxury hotel. My company chose this hotel for a conference for 160 people and it was excellent for this purpose. Everything was very clean and set up well for meetings. The food was decent and may have been better if I stretched my palate. The rooms are very spacious with excellent views of the sea. Beds were hard by western standards, but the pillows were the finest I have ever experienced in my travels. The farmer almost had an ethical meltdown and stuck one in his suitcase. I would encourage anyone to go for a walk on the beach as it is beautiful.

My one and only complaint about the Gold Coast was the distance to central HK, about a 40 minute cab ride in traffic for about $250HK ($35 US).

For those western visitors weak in stomach take comfort in a McDonalds and Subway within walking distance. If the farmer can survive a week - you will make it. Enjoy HK a fabulous city.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingIowaFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here only for one night but enjoyed our stay!
The hotel did not have the king size bed we had wished for available so we had a free upgrade to a Grandluxe Seaview room. And the sea view really was wonderful! Balcony was spacious and had good chairs and a table. Room itself was very large with a beautiful and large bathroom. Very comfy beds (our 4 yr daughter had her own queen sized bed!!) but some might find the mattresses a bit too hard.
The pool looks very nice (did not try it as it is not heated and the weather was too cold...) and the grounds are beautiful. Nice playground for children and easy access to the beach.
We tried the Cafe Lagoon buffet dinner. They have a very wide selection of foods but we found the price too high for the quality.
Overall a nice stay but the location could be better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is a resort style hotel in Hong Kong. It is located near a good public beach and near the goldcoast shopping centre which has some ok resturants. It also has a pool with two kiddie slides and a small park area to walk around. This hotel is also clean, reasonably modern and has ok food. A long way from the main shopping and business areas of Hong Kong. Overall a nice relaxing stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed at the Gold Coast Hotel in HK in Jan 2012 as a part of the bunch of colleagues on a conference trip. The hotel is located far from the city and airport, a good 35 - 45 mins away, which can be a problem if you want to head out to shop or party. The rooms are clean but slightly smaller than I would have preferred. The breakfast buffets are huge and the spread will not leave anyone disappointed. There is a beach on front of the hotel but I could not venture out due to time constraints.

In all a decent hotel, but too far from the city.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors with sea facing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#116 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#361 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#60 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Tsuen Wan
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Hotel

Property: Gold Coast Hotel
Address: No. 1 Castle Peak Road, Castle Peak Bay, Gold Coast, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#88 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban landscape of downtown Hong Kong and retreat to a family-friendly beach resort. Only 30 minutes from Central, our hotel is a welcoming seaside oasis with lush tropical gardens that sets the stage for a relaxing holiday, an idyllic wedding or a lively conference. Our 453 rooms and suites feature tranquil views of the sea or neighbouring Gold Coast Yacht and Country Club, allowing guests to be comforted by the cool sea breeze as they enjoy the genuine warmth of our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gold Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Hong Kong
Hotel Gold Coast
Gold Coast Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing