We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Locale but Remote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
Ranked #98 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here at the end of my North Korea trip.The surroundings are nice but it is way off the beaten path so be aware of that when booking here. Room was clean & comfortable & the area is quiet. I took a shuttle to the nearest MTR station then taxi back to the hotel. Be warned that amenities such as room service & laundry are very expensive. While I enjoyed my stay, next time I would stay closer to more accessible public transport.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear JamesDanger,

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us.

We are grateful to both your compliments and comments. It is motivation for us to strive for betterment and through constructive comments, we are able to review our operations closely and make improvement wherever appropriate. The areas that you kindly highlighted have been taken into consideration diligently by the management.

Please accept our sincere appreciation for your kind feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights in April for part of our Honeymoon - so happy we did! This is one of my parents' favorite hotels in Hong Kong because they enjoy the quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Glad they recommended Gold Coast to us. Gold Coast Hotel -- thank you!

AREA:
You will definitely not be walking to Tsim Sha Tsui from here, it will take 30 mins to 1 hour to drive into the main city depending on traffic, but instead you can enjoy the beautiful ocean view. Definitely recommend this hotel for couples wanting quiet (they had a nice spa menu, although we didn't get to try) and families with small kids. There is a little "village," as my father calls it, with a grocery store, restaurants, coffee shop and convenience mart only 5 min walk away. We went here twice for breakfast, plus once for dinner.

ROOM:
Nice, large-sized rooms. Clean and spacious. Comfortable feeling, not too modern. Had everything we needed: hairdryer/mini fridge/tea kettle/microwave/TV channels in different languages/handy adaptor plug for US electronics. Room service was very good. Lovely view from our room of the beach, plus a HUGE corner outdoor balcony perfect for lounging (I think you're going to have to request this, though).

LOBBY:
Clean, big and impressive. I could imaging getting married here. We also enjoyed the special decorations they had on display for Easter!

SERVICE:
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Easy check-in/check out. Room service was great! Staff were very polite, enjoyed the Greeter at the door every time we left and returned to the hotel. The hotel restaurant was great. We ate breakfast here one morning and it was delicious - 3 courses! Or they have a breakfast buffet with many choices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kitkat2986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear kitkat2986,

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are grateful to you for your kind words and we will continue to deliver quality service to our guests to meet their expectations.

We sincerely thank you for being our guest and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future.

Best regards,

Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel took about 30 minutes to get to by taxi from the airport. The hotel was comfortable and clean and had lovely views over a marina. The breakfast was good with a wide range of choice. The staff were efficient and there was free wi fi in the room. The room had a balcony which was pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 1Sussexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear 1Sussexgal,

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are grateful to you for your kind words and we will continue to deliver quality service to our guests to meet their expectations.

We sincerely thank you for being our guest and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future.

Best regards,

Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I really like staying at the Gold Coast and the Hong Kong Yacht Club it reminds me of Monte Carlo (less the Casinos). The food spread is great specially at night. Mornings are great with view of the boats while having morning coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Manuel H,

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are grateful to you for your kind words and we will continue to deliver quality service to our guests to meet their expectations.

We sincerely thank you for being our guest and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future.

Best regards,

Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights when I attended a wedding at the nearby Yacht and Country Club and loved the area so hope to return some day. I had been to Hong Kong before but not to the Gold Coast so enjoyed being in a more relaxing area. The views from the hotel are stunning so do try to get a room with a balcony facing overlooking the marina. These rooms are only on the lower floors and I can recommend the one I stayed in which is room 304.
The rooms are large and comfortable but I am not sure that the cleaning is up to standard as when I dropped something and had to move the bedside cabinet it was very dirty behind it including someone's sweet.
The other criticism I have is the poor standard of the English spoken by a lot of the staff when the hotel purports to be an International hotel. Our group often had difficulty ordering in the bar and the same problem was sometimes encountered at Reception. That said when I had difficulty checking in for a flight late on my last evening I was fortunate to speak to someone on Reception whose English was perfect and who opened up the Business Centre for me. I have the feeling that English speaking people may not be a priority as customers as the hotel continues to post things on their Facebook page in Chinese.
I had a package which included breakfast which I can recommend. For evening meals there are plenty of places nearby. In fact strolling round the area is a real pleasure.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThruppResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear ThruppResident,

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us.

We are grateful to both your compliments and comments. It is motivation for us to strive for betterment and through constructive comments, we are able to review our operations closely and make improvement wherever appropriate. The areas that you kindly highlighted have been taken into consideration diligently by the management.

Please accept our sincere appreciation for your kind feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ideal location for the industrial sector out of the centre but perfect business hotel for the power stations etc, great service from attentive staff, highly recommended, I didn't get any cockroaches in the room as a recent review did, but this is South East Asia with 100% humidity and 90 degrees heat! your gonna get roaches !

Room Tip: Try and get a harbour facing room with a balcomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Steve C,

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are grateful to you for your kind words and we will continue to deliver quality service to our guests to meet their expectations.

We sincerely thank you for being our guest and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future.

Best regards,

Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 night and it was beautiful, our room overlooked the marina. Our room was very spacious and the furniture was lovely, big bed and nice bathroom! There are lots of restaurants nearby to eat at, and all of the staff were welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Joanna A,

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are grateful to you for your kind words and we will continue to deliver quality service to our guests to meet their expectations.

We sincerely thank you for being our guest and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future.

Best regards,

Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#107 of 726 in Hong Kong
969 reviews
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#421 of 726 in Hong Kong
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#52 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,160 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#88 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Address: No. 1 Castle Peak Road, Castle Peak Bay, Gold Coast, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £87 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban landscape of downtown Hong Kong and retreat to a family-friendly beach resort. Only 30 minutes from Central, our hotel is a welcoming seaside oasis with lush tropical gardens that sets the stage for a relaxing holiday, an idyllic wedding or a lively conference. Our 453 rooms and suites feature tranquil views of the sea or neighbouring Gold Coast Yacht and Country Club, allowing guests to be comforted by the cool sea breeze as they enjoy the genuine warmth of our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Hong Kong
Hotel Gold Coast
Gold Coast Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing