We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #90 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Conveniently placed within the bustling shopping district of Mongkok, this hotel is the perfect place to stay in this area.
The room we got was pleasantly spacious (we were expecting a matchbox-sized room which is the norm in HK). Most rooms have a city view which is quite nice at night.
Check in was fast and painless. We arrived early but were given a room as it was already ready. Staying for 3 nights, we came back to tidied rooms with free fruits on the second day, and chocolate covered nuts the following day (win!). These little gestures have earned this hotel my review as well as a guaranteed future stay.
Tip: if the timing allows it, take the shuttle by the hotel to the airport as it is more convenient and costs the same as a one way airport express ticket.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunfl0w3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and great to know that the accommodation and service were to your liking. We would like you to enjoy every moment during your stay. Our team are committed to make your stay both enjoyable and comfortable.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen our hotel during your stay in HK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I don't have unlimited travel funds and when I visit Hong Kong (and across the border to Shenzhen) once or twice a year this is my preferred hotel in Hong Kong.
The hotel is walking distance to just about everything - Nathan Rd, MTR, Ladies Market, Computer Centre and an overwhelming number of shops. There are also numerous restaurants and eateries within a 2-3 minute walk which serve delicious budget to medium priced meals and snacks. A 7/11 store is 75metres away; the airport shuttle stops at the hotel; the A21 stops in Nathan Rd, just a short walk from the hotel. The hotel also offers a courtesy van to Hung Hom Station where the A21 airport bus starts its journey - so I like to take advantage of the shuttle when I have excess luggage so that I can board the bus early and get myself and my luggage sorted! The bus fare is only HK$33 per person.
The hotel has recently had a bit of a refresh - the lobby looks a lot more modern.
The rooms are small (but most of HKs hotels are on the small side) but comfortable. Tea & Coffee facilities, a small fridge, a bottle of water, bowl of fresh fruit and some chocolates are provided each day.
At no time in any of my stays at this hotel have I ever had a problem with noise from other rooms or outside - the rooms are very quiet.
The staff are always helpful but there are times when they seem to get overwhelmed by big groups of Asian guests arriving/departing.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, don't forget to book a non smoking room - the smoking rooms can be quit...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

It’s good to learn that you had a good time with us during your stay. Our staff are always available to ensure the best service for our guests.

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in HK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had an excellent time at the Stanford hotel, we had been here before on a lay over and it made a good impression and it didn't disappoint on our 10 day stay. The rooms are small which is standard in HK unless you have serious money but they are well appointed and the staff are great. (Thank you Barry)
The buffet looked good but we eat out every day so I can't judge. The location is out of this world however if you like your street food as we do. Michelin star dim sum, mystery meat on a stick, curry balls and the best fried chicken ever, Mong Kok has it all. All of this is literally outside your door as is the Ladies Market.
Prices at the hotel are very reasonable and infact is one of the cheapest hotels in HK that actually offers top service and facilites. Sure there are bigger and better hotels but none that offer better value for money in the coolest part of HK.

Room Tip: If you can afford it I would go for the room upgrade as the basic room is pretty small
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whole-lotta-moxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Nice to learn that you had a pleasant staying with us. Our hotel offers an unforgettable hospitality that would make your experience so exceptional. We expect your staying in the Hotel will be your wonderful recall.

We would love to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stanford Hotel, 118 Soy St, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Relatively easy to find from Mongkok Metro station with an easy 10 min walk into the backstreets. Excellent downtown Mongkok location, very close to the Ladies Market and a large range of restaurants and shops. Impressive front entrance and lobby area, which was unfortunately let down by a very officious clerk who made it clear that 3rd party bookings would be treated as second class customers. Made the point that www.otel.com bookings we're not entitled to WiFi services and "if you had booked through the hotel, ....". Just what you need after a long day's travel. WiFi available at HK$20 (US$2.70) per hour, with 1 hour free use in the breakfast restaurant. I thought I was getting WiFi with my booking, but accept that it may not have been included. The rooms are typical of HongKong; overpriced postage-stamp sized rooms with only just enough room to walk around the beds. Rooms were very quiet with good block-out curtains, so a good night's sleep is possible, as long as you like very hard beds. Very, very hard beds. Air-conditioning worked well, English news TV channels, including one movie, no mini-bar, but in-room safe. The coupon breakfast was very good, with a small, but adequate range of western foods and a couple Asian items. Very clean, light and welcoming breakfast area.
Overall, the hotel is okay, and would only stay here again if it had an excellent deal, including WiFi, which is a show stopper for any bookings.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We were bitterly upset to learn of the dissatisfaction that you had pinpointed in the charged wifi service, we are sorry to say that free wifi access was not included under your booking. Yet, you are most welcome to book through our hotel website with free wifi access benefit upon your next stay at our hotel.

For the inconvenience which may cause you, please kindly accept our sincere apologies. We are looking forward to your next visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nicely located near the fascinating woman's market. On weekends the streets are blocked off for street performers. Hong Kong is a fascinating city and this hotel is nicely located to access the bus and subway system. Breakfast is not included and this is a good thing. The street food tastes much better.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

It was great to hear your valuable comments that enhance us to better serve our guests.

Thank you for having you with us and we look forward to be of your service again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The location of the hotel is great, just a step from the ladies market and in the heart of Kowloon. Its only a 5 minute walk to the Mongkok MTR station. The hotel itself is a little bit tired and the rooms lack some very basic requirements, such as only having a bedside table on one side of the bed. The room size is fine, there was plenty of room for 2 people. Be aware that while the hotel has no smoking floors, the ones near the smoking floors still smell quite bad.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stayed with us and thank you for your comments delivered.

With our repeated thanks for having your patronage. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

First trip to hongkong and they make everything so wonderful. The staff were so helpful as we encounter sim card problems on our phone, they did not hesitate a single bit and helped us as much as they could and finally managed to fix it! And that totally made our day! :)

Great location and the rooms are clean! Definitely gonna return to this hotel for my subsequent stay in HK! :) Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShunjieFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

It is our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. Really love to hear that you had a wonderful stay here. Our staff are always available to ensure the best service for our guests.

We look forward to serving you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#65 of 721 in Hong Kong
775 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#35 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#114 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,745 reviews
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#81 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.118 Soy Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £57 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanford Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong offers comfort and convenience with our traditional gracious hospitality. Situated beside Ladies' Market, located in Kowloon in one of the most colourful and vibrant areas of this lively, cosmopolitan city. Stanford Hotel Hong Kong is well served by public transport. It is just a few minutes' walk to the MTR Station as well as the Mong Kok East MTR Station, which connects to Mainland China. The Hotel offers complimentary scheduled shuttle bus service to Hung Hom MTR Station, Airport Express Kowloon Station, China Hong Kong City Ferry Terminal and Stanford Hillview Hotel. Our 194 guestrooms are decorated stylishly, with a view overlooking the most popular Mong Kok area and its night light. Our business centre is located on lobby level, provides instant connection to every business associates and its partners. Offering 24-hour reception, staff can also assist with childcare and business needs for guests' convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Motel Hong Kong
Stanford Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing