We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a zoo!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden View Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden View Hong Kong
Ranked #152 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Bombay, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Room with a zoo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Located in a residential area, the hotel is basic but has great views of the Botanical Gardens and the dazzling Hong Kong skyline. Opt for a superior room that overlooks the garden.Located on the Mid Levels, it is a steep climb up but taxis are aplenty and you don't have to wait more than a minute before you get one. Hotel staff were helpful and located an excellent vegetarian restaurant right in the building for us...Som Chai! Try it for some exciting veggie fare.There is also a small supermarket (Fusion) in the adjoining building where you can pick up water, fresh fruit, snacks, etc.
The big bonus is the zoo in the Botanical Gardens across...we were entertained by the gibbons and orangutans and also cheered by birdsong when we walked through.

Room Tip: Try and book rooms on a higher floor...1507 to 1509 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ushab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    358
    110
    23
    15
See reviews for
78
154
74
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

One of the hotels where we felt most comfortable. The hotel is close to everything- shopping, food and the view is fantastic. Our hotel room view had the skyline of Hong Kong which looked even better at night. From below, you could see Botanical Garden.

Catching a cab from the hotel isn't a problem because when you get out, there's one already waiting. There's a good restaurant from below too. The room is very clean and well lit. the bathroom as well. You could clearly see how the hotel is very well managed.

The staff, tho they have difficulty speaking in English, tries very hard to accommodate you and entertain you with your needs. The service is pretty fast and works on your request right away.

The only difficulty was because it seemed to be on an uphill, so walking downwards was kind of hard. but other than that, the hotel had the perfect spot, very convenient as it is near everything. Even walking distance to the Peak Tram.

The next time we go back to Hong Kong, we are definitely staying here.

Room Tip: Best view is overlooking over the skyline. Breathtaking view even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silentstar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We were a family of 3 couples and 2 children and stayed for 3 nights and 4 days at YWCA, HK during our HK-SG holiday.

On the location, it’s situated at mid-levels, so it’s quite an uphill walk from the central, difficult for elderly people. Getting taxis outside the hotels is not a problem until it starts raining and the taxi frequency just dries up, us having to wait for over half an hour to get a cab on occasions. It’s close to Peak tram, HK garden, but walking it out with kids and elders is still difficult and taxis refuse to ply these short distances.

Rooms were spacious by HK standards, big enough to fit an extra bed for kids. Rooms were clean, well-furnished and well-kept. We had a good view from one of rooms from where we could see flamingos in the HK garden nearby. The rooms could use some sound-proofing as the sound from the corridor could be heard inside the rooms all too well.

They don’t have any restaurants, esp from a vegetarian’s perspective. It had a swimming pool which was shut for maintenance all throughout our stay there. Room keys were a problem and would stop working if placed near other cards. We ended up going back and forth quite a few times for this. There is a convenience store nearby, which is helpful.

Staff was courteous. However, one of the uninformed receptionists guided us to a horrible joint when we asked for suggestions for Indian cuisine. This aside, they were helpful and patiently answered our queries on various occasions.

But for the rain related issues, we had a pleasant stay. Overall, nice hotel and a decent option among 3 star hotels on the main HK island.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Meanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is my second stay since 2011. I traveled with a small child so we don't bother using the MTR most of the time and so this hotel just fits in -- taking a taxi from hotel is easy as there's always a taxi waiting in the front door. Cost is only around HKD 30 to/from Causeway Bay/Central.

The room is decent sized but really not much else. During my stay it was always quiet in the room as there were not a lot of rooms per floor so not that many foot traffic outside in the corridor which is great. Check in/out was a breeze as again there aren't that many guests as it is a small hotel.

Check out the Hong Kong Park nearby (only 2 minutes walk from hotel) which is free and has a zoo, a bird garden and a botanical garden:
http://www.lcsd.gov.hk/parks/hkp/en/index.php

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor which gives you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruadocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed at the Garden View YWCA Hotel in March 2012. The location was good - 1 Macdonnell Road. Easy to get a bus to the city or to catch a taxi. The local metro is a short taxi ride away. The rooms were clean and there was a supermarket close at hand. Swimming pool was non-functional during my stay but that wasn't reflected by the Booking Agents. As it turned out, I extended my stay through Agoda by a few days after considering the +s. As the Agoda site came up in Chinese, I ended up booking 2 rooms for 2 nights, instead of 1 room for 2 nights - a double charge! Immediately had I done that, I went down and appraised the girls at the counter who told me that the Managers were now away being Friday night, and the matter could only be considered after they re-appeared on Monday. I notified them of the error and said that the extra room should be made available to anyone who cared to book. They seemed clueless about how to handle the matter. I also notified Agoda at once about my error, but they too were slothful in replying, and even so, said I would simply have to cough up - too bad it was a mistake. The expression "grin and bear it", came to my miind. As I've managed a 5 star accommodation with 210 rooms myself, I wasn't going to take such poor attitude on the part of the Garden View YWCA Management, or Agoda at face value. The Duty Manager at the Y, said it could not be helped. I ranted. A girl at reception to her credit, then told the manager that the booking team were in contact with Agoda, He promptly changed his tune and repeated what she had conveyed, like a parrot. Customer Service - management doesn't know what that means. Christian Association? In what way please? Would I stay there again? Yes I would! Good location, clean, has a pool, good transport connections and a reasonable price for Hong Kong. I only hope that someone in the YWCA's top management will shake branches at the Garden View YWCA in the meanwhile!! [Good news was that after several Emails and protests, Agoda agreed to refund the double charge] The Y management had no system in place to handle such matters, and seemed disinterested to your face!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YakobKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Nice room overlooking the gardens, well appointed for two. The bed was comfortable with two mattresses one softer than the other so you could have hard or softer. Very helpful room staff. Good position and easy taxi availability. Great pity about the other guests on floor 9. If staying for a short time then a superior room will be ok as all the rooms are the same only the de luxe has a view of the gardens.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bradSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Loved the big window in our room, overlooking the botanical gardens. The hotel is in a great location and we were very comfortable here for 4 nights. Only complaint is that WiFi is not available in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desconocido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Bishop Lei International House
#151 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Central
Two MacDonnell Road
Two MacDonnell Road
#142 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#60 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#110 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#97 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hong Kong

Property: Garden View Hong Kong
Address: No.1 MacDonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#110 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden View Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View Hong Kong has 141 spacious hotel rooms and suites overlooking the city with panoramic garden view, offering optimal comfort with full service yet reasonably priced accommodation ideally for business or leisure visits and extended stays.Hotel is in walking distance to Hong Kong business, financial center and shopping malls. Peak Tram Station and the trendy nightspot "Lan Kwai Fong" are all at your doorstep. It is easily access to all public transportations and nearby MTR Central subway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garden View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View International House Hotel Hong Kong
Garden View International Hotel
Garden View International Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing