We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location,value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Garden View Hong Kong
Ranked #150 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
West Newbury
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good location,value”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We had a 24 hour layover in Hong Kong,so booked this for one night.It was in a good,quiet location, and the room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful,and let us leave our luggage after we checked out, as our flight was at 6PM.Location was great, as the Botanical Garden was across the street, the tram to the peak was a 5 minute walk, and the bus to the ferry was a 2 minute walk. A great value in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Botanical Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulmac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    360
    112
    23
    15
See reviews for
79
156
74
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

great gym! never used it though, if you walk in Hong Kong you don't need a gym:) Swimming pool is closed until 16th of April. Anyway it is cold to swim in Januari, it was only +15 and they still don't switch off aircon anywhere in public areas like restaurants, bars, cafés, so it's blowing 24/7:) it's cold out and in, only plasent place is the hotel room, where you can switch the aircon off! the hotel is just over the bridge from the ZOO and botanical garden, which is great and free of charge, quite close to the peak tram stop, but this is it. To get to the husstle und bustle of the city you have to cross over the garden, even on the way back in the evening. But taxis are cheap, if you have your bags in the trunk it's +10 HK$ on top of the meter. But Hong Kong is great!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laststation45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here again over the Christmas break this year, after having stayed here previously in 2010-2011 and 2011-2012. It remains good value in my opinion -- reasonably priced, basic but generally clean and attractive rooms, and an excellent location. I wrote a longer review last year with greater detail and some advice about surrounding attractions etc. I won't reproduce that again here but the review should be easily findable through my profile.

We stayed in two different rooms this year (with a trip to China in the middle), and we noticed this year more than last that the rooms are starting to look like they could use a bit of attention -- some visible mildew and rust in the bathtub area, an unexplained stain on the wall of the room corridor, and a nonfunctional bathtub drain stopper (i.e., rendering the bathtub non-fillable and useable only as a shower). Nothing so dramatic as to change my earlier recommendation, but I hope this isn't indicative of a trend. Another oddity I don't remember from last year: they supply bath towels, and hand towels, but not facecloths. Go figure.

If you're looking at my previous review you'll see a reference to the "Cotton Tree Green Trail". There is no such thing -- there is Cotton Tree Road (for cars), and the Central Green Trail (for walkers). I have used parts of the Central Green Trail, but the trail is steep and can be hard to follow without a map. (Old Peak Road, which connects Tregunter Path and the Peak, is another option which takes you directly to the Peak -- use Tregunter Path to get there.) My map of choice is a map book (mainly in Chinese but with enough English to be useable by me) called the Hong Kong Guide Book, which sells for a bit less than $10.00 CAD/USD. It used to be very easy to find in bookshops in Central; I had to go to Causeway Bay (Page One books on the ninth floor of Times Square) to get a copy this year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihbToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Found the accommodation via Trip Advisor and it certainly helps to get views from other travellers. We were not disappointed, the rooms were well serviced and comfortable and we had a great view over the Botanical Gardens and would certainly stay there again if I ever managed to get back to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandiGillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was recommended to me by a friend who had lived in Hong Kong - we were not disappointed ! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the service was excellent- definitely worth a visit particularly if you are seeking a more reasonably priced accommodation. Only slight issue is that due to the close proximity of the Zoological Gdns you can occasionally be disturbed by the animals in the early hours !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I booked a double size bed but upon arrival they said they only have two single beds available. In the room I was able to push them together so it wasn't s big deal. Housekeeping opened the room door for me after check-in since I had to wait an hour until they could get a key made which was weird. This also meant I had no lights or power to the tv since the room requires the room key to slide in the wall to power the lights and tv. So after a long international flight I had to shower in the dark. I was " upgraded" which wasn't really impressive so I'm scared to see what the original room would have been like. The rooms are a decent size for Hong Kong. The restaurant isnt bad and it provides free WiFi which was cool. There is no WiFi in the rooms, only cable connection. Overall it was a valuable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I needed a place to crash after arriving in Hong Kong from Macau and paid USD105 for a room. Its very clean and the room was comfortable. Its pretty quiet also for Hong Kong. They gave me a free upgrade to a delxue room. Nice place for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Bishop Lei International House
#152 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#136 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#71 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#104 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hong Kong

Property: Garden View Hong Kong
Address: No.1 MacDonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#112 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden View Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View Hong Kong has 141 spacious hotel rooms and suites overlooking the city with panoramic garden view, offering optimal comfort with full service yet reasonably priced accommodation ideally for business or leisure visits and extended stays.Hotel is in walking distance to Hong Kong business, financial center and shopping malls. Peak Tram Station and the trendy nightspot "Lan Kwai Fong" are all at your doorstep. It is easily access to all public transportations and nearby MTR Central subway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View International House Hotel Hong Kong
Garden View International Hotel
Garden View International Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing