We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garden View Hong Kong
Ranked #171 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a short 4 days 3 night stay w/2 17yr old boys and all I can say is that we enjoyed our stay at this hotel! Staff were friendly and helpful, good size room and very clean. Their breakfast buffet NOT included in room price was descent and very fulfilling for the boys. Transportation is literally right outside the door! We stayed in room 710 w/2 single/double beds GREAT view w/huge windows. We were very pleased w/the hotel and good for the price payed! I would recommend this hotel

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank SylvieD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Due to the price fluctuations of HK hotels, we had to find a place to stay for one night, and booked here through Agoda. I didn't know what to expect, but I knew from looking at the map that it wasn't anywhere with accesible shops and restaurants right next door. With my dear, taking a few pieces of luggage, we flagged a cab that knew exactly where this place was. When we were travelling there, it's quite an elevation, and pulling up to the hotel, it is the first turn off the big road, farther from the busy hustle and bustle of Hong Kong, and I didn't know how to take it at first.

We were checked into a room on the 13th floor, nice elevators and hallways with our door card in hand, we opened up our room. It was nice and bright, with the light colors of the wood and white bed sheets, and natural light coming in from the window, as no tower is blocking light or view for that matter. I didn't get a chance to witness the view until the night, and was lucky that I could see the sleepless towers of Hong Kong shine with all their light. There was no real noise from the other guest on the floor, the beds were soft, but not overly soft so you didn't wake up all sore.

The day we were there, we did walk down to the shopping centre in Admiralty to meet a friend. During this downhill walk we went through a park, it's not the closest of walks, but if you have time to burn, and it's not too hot outside, it's worth the walk, as your not walking past store after store.

It's not as convenient as some of the more congested hotels in the city, but it's not that much of a taxi ride, in terms of cost to get here. The staff were very friendly, and looking at the people who were staying here, everyone knew how to speak English. When I do come back to HK I would look for this place as it is relaxing. There is a restaurant on site, and a gas station pretty close, but none of the quick bites your going to get in the city, so be warned, but also know you will get a peaceful sleep here. For the price I paid, definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was far better than we expected. We had an amazing view from our deluxe room to Botanical garden and to Central area. Room was very nice and bed was good for spine! Bathtub was a bit too short but shower was fabulous.

Location is not optional but not too far. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel since there is a very good supetmarket in the building.

You can get to Peak tram very easily at the MacDonnell Road station/ tram stop. Just push the button and ask if there is room for you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MindyTampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Sometimes you get to an hotel and everything seems to go wrong. We first had to wait two hours before our room was ready (we arrived at 4pm), once in the room it was alright (fairly clean, but very outdated). Next day we went for breakfast and the staff asked us for our COUPONS?!? Never got them when we checked in and according to the reception they were already issued... The swimming pool was closed due to maintenance, gym had its original equipment from 1956. To be honest, all could have been accepted, but when we expressed our dissatisfaction, the staff did not seem to care and most definitely didn't try to increase our satisfaction.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Goetzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Nothing special to say, but this hotel is great for it's location, very near the botanic garden, 10min walking from the bar and restaurant area in HK, wich is very convenient.
Something that I dont really understand is that you have to pay 100UKD for a 24hours internet connexion ! Hey guys: 21st century.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very good value for your money as well fresh feelings of the good quality of customer service.

Professional approach, care of customers and cleanness is a key differentiation of this 3 stars' accommodation

Beside of the good tips for my traveling i also got an upgraded room with excellent view for free

Convenient location

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatjana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The rooms were spacious in the Garden View Suite we chose, but not so well planned. The Kitchenette had almost nothing in the way of utensils, not even a dish cloth. The bathroom had ample room, but with little space to put toiletries and makeup. And there was an unpleasant odour in it, that seemed to come from the plumbing. The towels were nice and thick though and the bathroom was clean. We found our room and the hotel overall very clean and well serviced. There is a good shop for general groceries just below the hotel. The staff were reasonably efficient and helpful. But what was really impossible for us, was the hard uncomfortable bed and flat, hard pillows. Not to mention the hard and uncomfortable sofa. The air conditioning worked well, but was noisy for sleeping. We didn't sleep well during our stay here. We hadn't asked specifically for a view and wished we had, because our view was into other apartments. Finally, you have to be energetic to walk up to this hotel from the city, the hill is steep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Two MacDonnell Road
#131 of 729 in Hong Kong
201 reviews
Sheung Wan
Travelodge Central Hollywood Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#67 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,289 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#87 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,840 reviews
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#107 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hong Kong

Address: No.1 MacDonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#124 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £56 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden View Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View Hong Kong has 141 spacious hotel rooms and suites overlooking the city with panoramic garden view, offering optimal comfort with full service yet reasonably priced accommodation ideally for business or leisure visits and extended stays.Hotel is in walking distance to Hong Kong business, financial center and shopping malls. Peak Tram Station and the trendy nightspot "Lan Kwai Fong" are all at your doorstep. It is easily access to all public transportations and nearby MTR Central subway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garden View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View International House Hotel Hong Kong
Garden View International Hotel
Garden View International Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing