We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The South China Hotel
Ranked #201 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I asked for a room with a view and I got it (unlike in another HK hotel where it was a crane of the neck and binoculars would have been a big help). I had a good view of the harbour from not 1, but 2 large windows on the 16th floor. As well, the room was comfortable and clean, the staff efficient and friendly, and the hotel was convenient to buses and MTR. There was a small market right outside and various eateries nearby. What's more, I have only good things to say about the breakfasts. The hotel had obviously been stung by previous reviews and had made a big effort to improve, It was a full buffet breakfast, an interesting mix of east and west. It is a budget hotel but I really liked the place and for value in HK I think it would have to be high up on the scale.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank raejlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    68
    47
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
33
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Great location, very clean and very modern. With free WiFi. It's close to subway station and buses stations. I didn't get the breakfast from the hotel but there are great options nearby. Downsides: close to a street market and at the evening the street smells bad; For some reason the hotel didn't accept my credit card (master or visa international). So I asked for a collect call and they didn't have that option.. So I had to pay a lot to call my bank to figure out what was going on with my card. And surprisingly, everything was OK. Still couldn't use it to pay...

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights last month on a shopping trip and location was great with MTR, tram station and even a wet market just 5 minutes' walk away. The staff was pleasant and polite and room was clean. To our surprise the shop in HK selling the famous duck shing ho brand of egg roll was just across the road and so we were able to queue early to get our hands on the goodies.

Only drawback was free wi-fi only available at lobby area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHLEE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

After reading the limited reviews on trip advisor I was worried about staying here, but I'm pleased to say that I have had a comfortable stay. We stayed in a refurbished twin room that was compact but space for suitcases on the window sill and for two people to move around without bumping into one another. The room was very clean and bathroom was spotless with complementary toiletries. I did find the hotel quite noisy at night with guest's talking loudly in the corridor, but didn't really hear any noise from the rooms either side. Breakfast was included in the price of the room which was great...but unfortunately the breakfast was not so great. It is served in the hotel's Japanese restaurant which is pretty grotty. Very limited choice and is described as an American style buffet but the food is quite Chinese. Bring your own milk for coffee and tea as the only milk they serve is out of a tin. I would stay here again as the room was clean and comfy but maybe eat out for breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank emma1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

This hotel is not a hotel in any sense, looks like a converted tenement building converted into a hotel in a residential district. But prices are steep, more than some decent hotels in the tourist belts. There is no closets as such for your clothes or places to put your bags. Internet in rooms is charged at US$20 a day, breakfast is awful. And the corridors have dehumidifiers, trying to get rid of the mushy smell from leaky wallks. Never stay here!

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel, you can alternatives in the tourist areas at half the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank LouisLHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Qiryat Ata, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Super disappointed of this hotel!

Was built probably in the late 80's and since, time stood still. Same elevators, same reception, same furniture in the rooms and in the so called 'breakfast dining room' and so on... No internet in the rooms - WiFi or cable.

The room's size is reasonable and this is about the only positive thing I can say about the hotel itself. That, and the near location to North Point's MTR station. However, there is pretty much nothing to do in the hotel's area so you want to use the metro, buses and trams very often (which are conveniently located). But then again, what's the point staying in an expensive hotel room that smells like urine with old facilities, bad breakfast (very Chinese style, not to foreigners' taste), if you are getting away of the area so often...

I am not recommending it at all mainly for the useless service (they knew almost no answer to any question we'd ask), the old facilities, smell of urine (although the room, sheets and towels were clean), view to a construction site and lack of any sort of internet in the room...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Namush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one week in October 2011. It is centrally located with easy access to the underground and tram.

Rooms are small clean and adequate. We booked well in advance on Agoda so we got a good price. There was a Trade fare while we were there so the hotel was full and the rates triple to what we paid. Our room overlooked the harbour and you could see the locals practising Tai Chi in the am. WiFi is free in the lobby and breakfast is included although there was not much selection. The coffee was good and hot.

The best part was proximity to the tram which we rode daily. We would stay here again if the price was right.


  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ufo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
North Point
Newton Inn North Point Hotel
Newton Inn North Point Hotel
#392 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#113 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#105 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#115 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
North Point
Ibis Hong Kong North Point
Ibis Hong Kong North Point
#160 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The South China Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The South China Hotel

Property: The South China Hotel
Address: No.67-75 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > North Point
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The South China Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The South China Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The South China Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing