We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With so many good review .. would the price go up?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caritas Bianchi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caritas Bianchi Lodge
Ranked #157 of 715 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“With so many good review .. would the price go up?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Warning do not get the single bed.
I stay at the Caritas for 4 nights. I was quite disappointed to see the small bed in my room. my 10 years old son had bigger bed than this one, so I asked to upgrade the room but the man in the front desk wasn't friendly and he show me a piece of paper that clearly show 250 HK$ difference, But he insist that I have to pay 450. extra per night. when I asked why? he said because "you already booked the single room". Sound a bit crazy right, don't try to explain it to a Chinese. the location is great and the room are nice and clean, I liked the shower and the bathroom. The breakfast was boring, tiring. I rather walk down the street to get something exciting. They didn't change the "menu" even slightly in the 4 days I was there I bet in months.
I like to stay in HK in this location: few steps to the night market across the street and 10 minutes walk to Mongkok market.

Room Tip: The best kept secret bus A21 from and to the airport just outside the hotel on Nathan Rd. for $33.0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    296
    100
    10
    5
See reviews for
49
73
39
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here on the end of a tour and I found it to be really clean and in a great location. The beds were comfy, hotel staff really good to deal with even when booking an airport transfer at midnight for the next day. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Despite the upgrade causing visible disruption the staff are friendly, the location is good and the rooms clean and comfortable. I can't comment on value for money as I stayed as part of a tour. Contact before arrival was not prompt but it all worked out ok in the end.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorcha1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is currently being upgraded, and is suffering a bit for that reason. The restaurant is closed, and only one of the elevators are available(until May 10th). Still, the staff is really nice, the rooms are surpricingly large and up to date:) fairly close to Kowloon center and perfect in-room Wifi. Would definately stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Birger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a disastrous stay at Caritas Bianchi Lodge.
Caritas means "Christ's love" - you won't find it here.
The staff display a constant fear of losing their jobs.
Consequently, service is poor and provide zero hospitality or personality.
The Caritas Bianchi online booking enquiry is either inoperative or not responded to.

Nowhere on the Caritas Lodge website, the general Caritas website or web booking agents does it mention that the Caritas Bianchi Lodge is undergoing renovations of a major kind. This is unconscionable conduct that prevents a potential lodger from making an informed decision to stay there. The room rates are considerably more than the other Hong Kong Caritas Lodges, which is stronger evidence of dishonourable behaviour. The desire to maintain the Bianchi lodge income stream at the expense of guests to support the Caritas benevolent activities is indefensible.

The noise from jackhammers and other tools reverberates throughout the building from approximately 8.00 am to 5.00 pm six days a week. The works began in 2013 and won't be finished until late 2014 or early 2015. The works are currently being done on the Ground, 5th, 6th & 9th floors. During building hours, one of the two slow lifts is unavailable for guests.

The restaurant is closed until mid May 2014 but likely later in 2014. The dismal breakfast is now provided on the 8th floor and consists of 2 cereal choices, tinned peaches, toast and jam, 3 juice varieties, armour piercing "scones", croissants, unsavoury "Danishes", artificially coloured manufactured ham and on alternating days canned baked beans or a soggy oily ham rissole. Another reviewer in April 2012 mentioned that the cook had a filthy apron; it appears that he still hasn't washed it. Furthermore, we were made uncomfortable by the constant staring of a non-kitchen staff member that remained outside of the dining room who appeared to be either checking up on guests or the kitchen staff.

We stayed on the 10th floor and were woken daily at 6.10 am by delivery and pickup of laundry wagons clanging and banging into each other on the tile floor with the employees talking at the top of their voices to each other or others on their mobile telephones.

We asked for an iron and board, which were provided rapidly. However the iron cord had exposed and split wiring in a number of places (No Insulation). The second iron provided had exposed wiring as well.

The toilet was leaking at the rear with the sewerage smell made more apparent when the exhaust fan was on.

The shower varied between scorching and lukewarm which was barely adjustable. It required skill and timing to apply soap and wash it off before being boiled.

Fresh cigarette smoke pervades the hallways on the 10th floor.

The room size was generous and well equipped. The beds were firm, the pillows soft and the linen spotless. Wi-Fi is free.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a room on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wottinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have stayed here four times over the year. The most recent being the first of March. They are currently doing renovation in the hotel so the noise level can be a nuisance. However, if you are out most of the day, it would not be much of a problem. The rooms are spacious, but not as clean as a year ago. Dust is allowed to accumulate in areas visible to guests. So imagine if we can't see the area like under the bed. I did not want to take a chance to satisfy my curiosity. The current crop of housekeeping employees are either not trained properly or just plain lazy. The one thing good about this place is the location. Walking distance to everything, but so are a lot of hotels in the same category as this one. We found the cost not as competitive as before. Usually get a decent breakfast buffet, but renovation is putting a damper on that. Have to wait until mid-May to enjoy the breakfast. This is a low budget hotel so paying a rate equivalent to a three or four star hotel is unwarranted. Only worth it if you are able to get cheap rates.

Room Tip: Should wait until hotel done with renovating before considering this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank going_there_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have stayed here about 7 times across the last ten years. It used to be great as the rooms were large and the price was excellent. Even though it has been refurbished over the last two years it is beginning to look tired. The carpet is grubby and the bathrooms are not as clean as they used to be. While this may not be a major issue the real change has been in the price. It is now quite expensive for what you get. Sure, the rooms are large, the park view is nice but the facilities just don't match the price. You can pick up better deals closer to the harbour at more modern hotels. However, I have always found the staff to be polite and reliable.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Blossom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#130 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#194 of 715 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Deluxe Hotel
Casa Deluxe Hotel
#187 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#94 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#178 of 715 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caritas Bianchi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caritas Bianchi Lodge

Property: Caritas Bianchi Lodge
Address: No.4 Cliff Road,Yaumati, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#57 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caritas Bianchi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Caritas Bianchi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caritas Bianchi Hotel Hong Kong
Caritas Bianchi Lodge Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing