We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
Ranked #303 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Mauritius
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, basic hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We spent a few days in Cheung Chau. Absolutely loved the island. We ate lots of street food and ate at some great little local restaurants with an amazing selection of fresh fish and seafood. We loved biking around the island, even if it rained a fair bit while we were there.

We found the Warwick to be a good, basic, no frills hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and well equipped. I understand that the hotel had been renovated and overall, it was nice except for the balcony, which was in dire need of repairs. That was a real shame because the view was just amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EiffelForU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    34
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
35
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Cheung Chau is a brilliant island off of Hong Kong and has plenty of things to see and do, especially when the weather is good. With a range of beaches, walks and interesting things to see, it's definitely worth staying the night. With no cars (with the exception of ambulances and fire engines), the island is a lot of fun to explore. Get away from the main area once you arrive as it becomes incredibly crowded with people coming off of/getting onto the ferry. Follow the signs to the beach if you're heading straight to the Warwick.

The range of places to stay however, isn't great. There is a B&B for around $900 per night, as well as the Warwick, which we paid $1350 for. There are other options: you can rent a flat when you arrive from a range of kiosks, who all offer accommodation of various types, from terrible to relatively decent looking.

The Warwick, however, was the best and easiest option for us. I've stayed here before (for just $600 about 5 years ago) and knew that the hotel wasn't the best, but, the seaview is brilliant: each room has a balcony looking out onto the gorgeous beach and seaside. You can see the sun going down in the evening and the sun going up in the morning just from the balcony. It's great.

The room was tidy, though noticeably not cleaned properly - the telephone had dirty marks on it, the balcony table had streak marks all over it etc. But that's what we expected, so we didn't mind. Also worth noting that the breakfast was pretty disgusting, an inedible omelette and some toast, though it was served in our room on the balcony, which was rather nice :)

Only other downside is that there were a load of helicopters landing and departing throughout the evening, up until about 1AM. I didn't mind this too much but some people might be irritated by it.

Other things to enjoy - catch a slow ferry over from HK side and get a deluxe ticket. Go upstairs and walk to the back of the ferry and sit on the outside area. It's a lovely journey over to Cheung Chau and you can do this on the way back as well. If the weather is hot, deluxe class also has air-con, so you can go back inside after taking a few pictures. Rent a bike as well when you get there and enjoy discovering the island.

So yes, as someone else mentioned: as long as you expect a no frills hotel, you'll be fine. It's all about the view here. The room is basic, but good enough to warrant a night on Cheung Chau.

Enjoy :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a new year's eve in Cheung Chau and it's a clam and peaceful holiday break. Warwick has been renovated hence the interior is clean and new despite it's been in Cheung Chau for years. Half of the rooms are facing sea side so we have a very lovely view and sleep by hearing sounds of sea which is kind of a luxury in Hong Kong! Overall it's a very nice experience and will definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for relaxing holidays!

Room Tip: request for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aliztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were passing through Hong Kong and decided to stay at the Warwick in Cheung Chau for a couple of days. We were delighted with our stay and will definitely return! We will also highly recommend this hotel to our friends.
In reading the mixed reviews of this hotel, here are our top ten pointers to help make your stay at this hotel a great one:
1) Expect a basic, no frills hotel.... but know that you will be greeted with friendly service!
2) Definitely, definitely book a room with a beach view (sixth floor highly recommended)
3) Order breakfast in your room - it is included in the price - and served right on your balcony!
4) Travel light without lots of luggage to haul - otherwise prepare to drag and lift!!
5) Be prepared to do some walking (or biking if you would prefer to rent a bicycle)
6) Take the fast ferry - it will shorten your journey to and from Cheung Chan in half.
7) Have a beer and some seafood at one of the many placed along the beach - Cheung Chan is famous for their seafood - and it is incredibly fresh, tasty and affordable!
8) Stay for two or three nights if you can - that will help you get into the relaxed island pace.
9) Don't forget your camera - this whole island is incredibly picturesque!!
10) And the only draw back for us - bring your own small bar of soap - or pick one up at Watson's on the island.... the hotel provides other toiletries, including very small bottles of liquid soap - but if you prefer bar soap, you are on your own!

Room Tip: Definitely book a beach view, and have your free breakfast served to you on your private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saved_by_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just went back from Cheung Chau. You would not believe you are actually in Hong Kong. Don't expect to see the metropolitan in this Island. If you would like to have a small escape from the Crowd, this Island is definitely a right chioce! Cheung Chau is a very eco-friendly place,
the only transportation you see is a bike or a small police car. Love the local stores & snacks! The room is bigger than I expect, in a decent size. The hotel is definitely clean & comfortable. The Ocean View Room with balcony is definitely a high recommend! Very close to the beach, my kids had a great time.

The staffs are very helpful. The locals are super friendly even the english level is not as high
as those from Hong Kong Island. I think Warwick Hotel definitely deserve a better review

Room Tip: The Room Services breakfast at the balcony is a must! Ask for a free upgrade from a hill view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Old and not comfortable hotel. Located on a hill, the heavy lifting if you have luggage .. Reception in the basement (here is a repair) - not a ladder handy .. The hotel is good for a one-day visit, dine at a restaurant on the beach and swimming / sunbathing. In addition to shower, change clothes and go....

Room Tip: If you want to stay in this hotel, ask for the highest floor (6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marishcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The Warwick Hotel has been around for long but rooms were recently refurbished. The interior decor was simple yet pleasant. The best thing I liked about the room is that it has a balcony that overlooks the beach.

Beakfast was delivered into your room and we had a nice meal at the balcony. The food was good- with basic stuff such as ham and eggs, toasts and cornflakes.

The location is good- a nice short walk from the Cheung Chau ferry pier. You can also swim at the beach and go back to the hotel room for a shower.

The only downside about the room was that the bathroom was quite old. It was clean but has clearly not been refurbished since the 1980s.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank guneingdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#377 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Stanley Oriental Hotel
#367 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Gold Coast Hotel
#98 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Lantau Island
Tai O Heritage Hotel
Tai O Heritage Hotel
#162 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau

Property: Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
Address: East Bay, Cheung Chau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hong Kong
Warwick Hotel Hong Kong
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing