We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
Ranked #419 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Spent a night with pleasure.
very nice sea view, quiet, nice bed room and bath room, nice staff.
Renovated recently I guess.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renardo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    32
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
32
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We had one night on the island to get away from it all, nice location on the beach and great views back to Hong Kong at night. Getting to the hotel is a treak in the heat, there is no transport on the island so its a 10 minute walk, the hard part is when you see the hotel, up the hill and down the steps inside to the reception area. I have a disability and this hotel is not disability friendly! Getting from the hotel to the beach and back is a mission. Still its quiet, away from it all and the breakfast is nice looking out over the ocean. The corn flakes were stale but the rest was very nice. We had dumplings in the restaurant for lunch before leaving again nice looking over the beach, food OK. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the view but the hotel is tired. Even though it was very hot the pool doesn't open until July and you got the impression the staff had a good life! Would we stay again, its the best on the island so I guess we would. If you go expecting a basic island break you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palmynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Ok, been many times to Cheung Chau Island and from their new website, looked like this hotel renovated the rooms, so decided to give it a go for a week-end break away from HK island.
Well the website pictures are quite misleading to say the least, and they must know about it, as we have been asked to pay for our stay at our arrival. (yes we already had a deposit from our reservation)
The room wasn't very clean, an empty cigarettes pack was left on the terrace floor, one of the towel and the shower curtain were torn. Terrace is nice, but covered not entirely by a small wooden floor, which makes sitting there or putting a drink on the table an acrobatic trick.
The shower flooded many times as the shower drain was partially plugged (before we used it).
Service wasn't friendly at all, never saw any of the staff at the hotel or the restaurant smile. Breakfast in the room was ok, but the delivering staff was like a robot, pouring milk and orange juice on the floor everytime (still don't know why she wasn't doing it on the table, seeing as clumsy she was) and having to be asked the same question 3 times before she stops ignoring us (it wasn't a trick question and my wife being from Hk, there were no language issue).
I can understand that the hotel is quite old, but frankly I don't think the staff/management is doing any effort. And it's not especially cheap.
We had an easter discount, but our room was around the same price as one in the Gold Coast hotel, with no comparison possible on service and anemities.
So will definitely be avoiding the place and will advise my friends to do the same.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wqkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

Went there for an overnight trip and found out that while the room was clean it was small. The sliding glass window opened up to a balcony that was small and had a small table and 2 chairs on it. This made it hard to do anything except sit down and try to enjoy the view.

When we were there it was cold and we were told that the rooms didn't have heat only a/c. So they had to bring up a space heater. The plug ins were on the opposite side of the room and the heater cord was short so we couldn't move it where we thought it would be of most usefulness.

The shower was also small. The hotel put a towel at the entrance to the shower to catch any water that would spill onto the floor.

On the other hand, the staff was friendly and the food was good. Just don't expect much if you go there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StickyGlue62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed in the Warwick hotel at the end of October. There were 4 of us sharing the room and the bed- 2 adults and 2 small kids. The bed was a little small to have so many inhabitants but the room was clean, the bathroom was clean.

The seafood restaurants along the pier are amazing and the food is lovely!

We took someone's advice and had breakfast sent up to the room in the morning- it was great./ The balcony is small for a family of 4 but we ate in the room, looking over the sea and it was the perfect end to a perfect short break!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongMIchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#359 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Gold Coast Hotel
#103 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Lantau Island
Tai O Heritage Hotel
Tai O Heritage Hotel
#162 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#115 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau

Property: Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
Address: East Bay, Cheung Chau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hong Kong
Warwick Hotel Hong Kong
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing