We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shamrock truly ROCKS”
Review of Shamrock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shamrock Hotel
Ranked #78 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2011

WHAT I LIKE IN MY STAY IN SHAMROCK
location: near kfc, mcdo, close to shopping centers both high ends/flea market, walking distance to Rosary Church(Roman Catholic Church), near Kowloon Park(fee is free!),DOUBLE DECKER BUS STOPS and MTR
hotel staff: polite and helpful, PLUS GOOD LOOKING
service:fast
room: ok for a budget hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rabernabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed in the Shamrock for 1 night only on March 27 2011prior to catching our plane back to Australia after having previously been in Guangzhou & Macau.

During our stay renovations were occurring which meant that the reception was operating on the 1st floor instead of the ground floor & on of the elevators was out of action. Even though renovations can cause disruption it is often a good sign because it means that the Hotel is being upgraded.

The first thing that could be dealt with is to provide heating during the colder times which can last for several months in Hong Kong. The mattresses were too hard, and although rooms in Hong Kong are small these were tiny. If a room is being offered to a couple it needs 2 lounge chairs, 2 bed side lockers & 2 bed side reading lights. Bathroom facilities were fine. The breakfast included in the tariff was average but adequate.

The hotel is well located in Kowloon close by Jordan MTR, but you might be better of paying a little more for something a little better until the renovations are finished.

Wait for some more reviews that are done after the renovations are completed to see if there is a big increase in positive comments.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rona66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I booked this hotel because it was 5 steps from the MTR and in NATHAN. It was very convenient and the location was right in the middle of Nathan Road in the hustle and bustle. Its has market stalls at the back of the hotel same as the one you find in mongkok. Staff are very friendly. I just didnt like the elevator waiting time. They were doing some renovations when we got there.

There is also KFC, bakery, wine shop, good seafoods restaurant on the same block.

The airport bus stop is right across the hotel for only 24HKD and the hotel to airport bus on the next block 33HKD

Room Tip: Right at the center, convenient, friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lavender666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I had stayed at Shamrock with my mother and we both felt absolutely comfortable during our entire stay. Rooms are relatively small but immaculate. Rarely have I seen such an emphasis on cleanliness elsewhere. The location is superb, one of the very best in Kowloon. Jordan MTR is just a half-minute walk away. Hotel staff is quite polite and courteous. Restaurant serves great food. I wish they introduce some Indian menu as well, especially breakfast.

It's a perfect launching pad to explore Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soulroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Very clean rooms. Heater doesn't work well on winter or cold seasons. Funny staff.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamapritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I did not like it. The only good thing is the location, but there are other hotels in the neighbourhood that are much better. For the lousy service and no amenities, it is waaaay too expensive (the receptionists at the front counter do not like their jobs, and it does not have gym, pool, not even a computer to use while you wait). The room was ok, a bit small, clean.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I stayed here in in 2006 with my 2 friends and with one of their aunt. Our travel agency told us that we have 3 beds, but it turned out that it is just two twin beds. Our room is good for only two persons. I don't blame the hotel but our travel agency. The room has a refrigerator, kettle, free drinks and toiletries good for two person. We have a breakfast set meal which is really simple. I would prefer to eat outside or try buffet breakfast meal. The place is near some mall, stores and boutiques.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ims08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Prudential Hotel
Prudential Hotel
#127 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,138 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#33 of 730 in Hong Kong
971 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
B P International
B P International
#141 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#89 of 730 in Hong Kong
695 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#91 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,334 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#81 of 730 in Hong Kong
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Hotel

Address: 223 Nathan Road, Kowloon | Exit C1, Jordan Mtr Station, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £70 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamrock Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Kowloon on Nathan Road, which consider as the backbone of Hong Kong that is always brimming over with the glamour of urban life and fabulous shopping selections, just a step away from the Jordan Station (Mass Transit Railway),giving easy access to most parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shamrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hong Kong
Shamrock Hotel Hong Kong
Shamrock Hotel Hongkong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing