We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location for shopping”
Review of Shamrock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shamrock Hotel
Ranked #74 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

was there for a 4 days . Rooms are small , and bed covers rough on the skin. But almost all hotel rooms in HK are small , probably because chinese ppl are small statured. . For indian travellers following tips : 1. airport immigration-- first time indian visitors will be taken to a separate interrogation room and made to wait for an hour beffore their passports returned. And yes one member of their family will be isolated and kept in general area. This happens to all indian visitors only. 2. shamrock hotel is in a great shopping location surrounded by shops on all sides. very near to night market also. 3. For nearest indian vegetarian food, from shamrock turn left ( where MTR subway is located) , take the 3rd right and near the end of the street is Hotel Kangan which gives great masala chai and indian veg food too. ( it also serves non veg -- so hardcore vegans compromise ). 4 . or take a cab to Tsim sha Tsui approx 25 dollars. it has great indian food with love hindi music by some singers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaviShankar139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed for 1 night waiting for my flight out the next evening. Rooms are small but adequate for this purpose. They do charge for the internet cable in the room although they have free wifi in their fairly small lobby. The AC works well in the room and the shower had been redone. Breakfast was good for the small dining area and had plenty of selection. Pricing is cheap for the area but still more than many travelers want to pay. There were many Chinese staying in the hotel when I was there visiting. In all this is a serviceable stopping point for transferring in and out of Hong Kong but I wouldn't want to base my operations here for a lengthy stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jammer06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Shamrock is in a great location on Nathan Rd and is great value for money. This was a return visit to the Shamrock and we were not disappointed. Travelling as a family with 2 children we booked a double double room which was great space for us (Hong Kong rooms are traditionally on the small size). Our room had a sittlng area with TV and desk area too. The bathroom was a great size and had a bath which was an added bonus. We received a complimentary food basket on arrival along with tea/coffee etc. The staff on reception are most helpful and eager to assist. The ordered a taxi for our return to the airport which arrived right on time. Buffet breakfast was included in our room rate for 3 people with the 4th person receiving a $20 discount voucher for each day. Western and Chinese foods available with a chef available to cook eggs just how you like.. The breakfast staff were most kind and helpful.

The Jordan subway is just outside the door and will have you racing either down to TST or out to the airport in a blink. There is a supermarket nearby just on Nathan Rd (downstairs near the bakery) and many restaurants just off Nathan road which provide great food options. The temple street markets are located very close with the ladies markets just a station away or a quick 15 minute walk away. For those with a need, there is free WIFI in the lobby. We were able to keep our room until 6pm for half the night rate which worked out perfect timing for our departure to the airport. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bossladymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The location of this hotel is wondeful but the rooms are very small. The hotel does not have a gym or a swimming pool and the breakfast is also not great. It is located right next to the metro station so you can go anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yash_Agarwal188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel is way back an old hotel for hongkong travellers but a friend of ours recommended this so we booked our stay for 3 nights. Fortunately and unexpectedly, our room was upgraded from standard to superior room with no additional charges. Obviously, no standard room available coz we were booked ahead thru agoda agency. Lucky for us! Very lucky for us coz we had a cozy spacy room. The location of the hotel was great and accessible to all walks of life. We were dropped by the airport bus just in front of our hotel. Mtr station is very near the hotel. Definitely, i will be back to this hotel if ever we will plan for another trip to hk.

JMSJ1019
Davao City, Philippines

Room Tip: Google map this hotel and you can see the actual location of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Location is the only plus factor of this hotel. Although I can say the lobby staff are professional & helpful, I can't say the same for the breakfast crew. They won't even agree to have our set meal eggs changed from scrambled to sunny side! And even an additional refill of coffee is denied! The room is super tiny and the twin single beds are half the size of other hotels' single beds. And although the toiletries are sufficient & towels are of good quality, the bathroom is really tiny, you can hardly move!
As for wifi, since I have been forewarned that this hotel have wifi only at the lobby, I have nothing to complain.
As for transportation accessibility, it is very convenient as Jordan station is right beside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Conveniently located at the exit C1 of Jordan station along Nathan Road. There's a 7/11 nearby and most of HK's shopping malls are just a walking distance away. Temple street market is about a block away and Victoria Harbor about a couple of blocks away as well at the opposite direction. The reviews at booking.com never disappointed me. I'll be glad to stay at this hotel again should I get an opportunity to travel back to Hong Kong! I highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WarySalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Prudential Hotel
Prudential Hotel
#128 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,125 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#79 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,599 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#31 of 726 in Hong Kong
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#97 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,049 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#66 of 726 in Hong Kong
807 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#99 of 726 in Hong Kong
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Hotel

Address: 223 Nathan Road, Kowloon | Exit C1, Jordan Mtr Station, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £72 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamrock Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Kowloon on Nathan Road, which consider as the backbone of Hong Kong that is always brimming over with the glamour of urban life and fabulous shopping selections, just a step away from the Jordan Station (Mass Transit Railway),giving easy access to most parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shamrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hong Kong
Shamrock Hotel Hong Kong
Shamrock Hotel Hongkong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing