We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at Shamrock”
Review of Shamrock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shamrock Hotel
Ranked #74 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Me and my wife were on our way back from India to our home in Korea and was travelling with huge luggage. We had a pre booking for 3 nights (27 Feb~1 March, 2014) at Shamrock Hotel .We landed in Hong Kong early in the morning and reached Shamrock hotel a little early. Usually the check- in time is after 12 noon or around 2 pm. But the hotel reception lady was co-operative enough not only in alloting early but also upgraded to a bigger room at no extra cost. This gesture delighted us as we were not forcing her to do us a favour.

The Hotel is half a minute walk from the nearest Exit of Jordan MTR. This indeed was a great advantage. Hotel premise and room was maintained clean through out. Wi-fi was only available at the ground and 1st floor lobby.

This hotel is located near a lively area in close proximity to night market and also accesible to other places of interest via MTR.

The hotel staff also helped in handling our excess luggages till seeing of in the midnight of 1st March,2014.

I recomend this for visitors to Hongkong and can term it as a "VALUE FOR MONEY"

Thanks
Uzzal
Korea

Room Tip: Twin Bed Rooms size are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UzzalRatanDutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

I did my online research beforehand, checked out a few places upon arrival.. once tired after walking around for a couple of hours in the busy streets and several very dodgy "hotels" finally decided heck with it and booked a room at the Shamrock. More out of desperation than anything really.

At just over $1000 HKD (and up on certain days!) it is WAY too expensive for whats on offer, but still the rooms and bathrooms are much nicer than most "budget" hotels in HK. Internet in the room is an additional $100. The rooms are just passable in terms of space. It was clean and the bed comfortable - this is the only reason I chose to stay.

The lobby is nice, staff friendly and they have door guys to help if needed. The place feels safe. The hallways are not exactly new or nice... but as I said, the rooms are OK. No matter where you stay in China, be sure to see a room BEFORE paying for it! So you'll know exactly what you're getting. Once you hand over the cash, forget about getting it back should you change your mind.

We had dinner at the shopping/dining building next to the hotel (10th floor I think?).. it was ram packed with locals, which is always a good sign.. we were lucky and found a big booth next to a window. A supposed Japanese pub, all you can eat and drink (ordered on cards from your table - like with dim sum) for $218 each. Sushi, lamb chops, chicken, tempora, noodles, rice.. all made to order (thats right, you order and THEN they cook it). Drinks include usual softs, juice, water and beer - all canned. I would say that 7 out of 10 items we ordered were very good... afterwards we went to a movie at the theater down the street which stays open late - a 10 minute walk.

Would I stay again? I would, but only as a last minute thing or if I got a deal online.. the price is just WAY too high for what you're getting.

Room Tip: See the room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The location which is on Nathan Road is very accessible to bus, MTR and taxi rides. There are lots of restaurants around the area. Their staff are courteous, helpful and speaks good English. The hotel is small but clean.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I saw the pictures of the rooms and i know that it's going to be an old hotel and i don't expect much more than cleanliness and hot breakfast.

When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised that they upgraded us and it was a very speedy check in.

When we got off the elevator, the hallway was dark and you get that old hotel feeling, but since i'm not fussy, i didn't care much.

Our room was small, but clean. The beds (twin) were warm, clean, and comfortable.

Breakfast buffet did not have much variety, but they have everything i always picked : eggs, bacon, bread, porridge, milk tea and coffee. Everything was hot and good enough.

The location of this hotel is the best part of my entire stay. MTR is next to and right across the hotel. Neighborhood is nice, food, convenient store and pharmacy are nearby (what i always check whenever i travel).

All and all, i had a nice stay and thinking of going back at the end of this month.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is awesome because of its location. It's near to MRT, bus stops, stores and food stalls. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Rooms are kept clean at all times. They change the towels everyday. Love the bedside electronic console and In-Room Wi-Fi access. Not to mention the private safety box. 2 thumbs up for this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCGatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel has been our favourite hotel for the past 10 years whenever we come to Hong Kong or stop-over for a few days. Excellent staff service from front-desk, concierge to door man who are always eager to assist. Location is so convenient to most of the restaurants or shopping centres with just a few blocks away. Strolling to Tsim Tsha Tshui is also easy and safe. Rooms are a bit small but clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilian2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed for five nights in non smoking standart room. What a nice experience to stay here. The room is very clean even though in small size. But hey this is hong kong, we have to used with it. The room facilities are complete. Thre are wifi in lobby, seafood restauran next to hotel, mtr station jordan just beside the hotel and from airport just take A21 bus and stop at 11.prudential center. The hotel is in the opposite.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dwi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Prudential Hotel
Prudential Hotel
#125 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,138 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#33 of 730 in Hong Kong
971 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
B P International
B P International
#143 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#91 of 730 in Hong Kong
699 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#94 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,334 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#83 of 730 in Hong Kong
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Hotel

Address: 223 Nathan Road, Kowloon | Exit C1, Jordan Mtr Station, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £70 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamrock Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Kowloon on Nathan Road, which consider as the backbone of Hong Kong that is always brimming over with the glamour of urban life and fabulous shopping selections, just a step away from the Jordan Station (Mass Transit Railway),giving easy access to most parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shamrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hong Kong
Shamrock Hotel Hong Kong
Shamrock Hotel Hongkong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing