We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major Tourist Attraction”

Wong Tai Sin Temple (Sik Sik Yuen Temple)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Half-Day Coach Tour of Kowloon and New Territories
More Info
US$65.64*
and up
Hong Kong Small-Group Hiking Tour: Life of Local Communities Beneath Kowloon...
More Info
US$95.18*
and up
Private Half-Day Walking Tour of Kowloon in Hong Kong
Ranked #40 of 824 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hong Kong’s most famous Taoist temple exemplifies the architecture of a traditional Chinese temple, and is a popular place of worship for those with health or business problems or for those seeking to have their fortunes told.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Major Tourist Attraction”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a major Taoist Temple and shrine in Northern Kowloon. I had known it as the Sik Sik Yuen Temple at the Wong Tai Sin MTR station only some 6 stops from Yau Ma Tei interchange on the green line. This is a large attraction and has various altars and worshipping areas. It is a delightful stop with the immediate atmosphere of ancient China with architecture and burning incense. On the day we visited there were plenty of local people which I understand to be the norm celebrating and thanking the immortals. The first entrance gateway is significant and opens to an area where religious offerings are sold. There are plenty of statues, stonework, cauldrons, ponds and colourful designs. This is a special and probably one of the best in inner Hong Kong set amidst the tall residential towers. On leaving the Temple there are plenty of fortune telling stalls to amuse. Since it is a busy attraction I suggest an early morning visit and journey to adjacent Diamond Hill Station to view the Nan Lian Gardens which is another must do stop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank elekesla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    567
    222
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Glimpses of old China among the residential towers”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We went on a warm May morning getting there by MTR. You pretty much get out of the exit and you are greeted by stall holders selling incense sticks (which are meant to be lit like a candle in a western church). The temple grounds contain some old stone carvings and a nice garden boasting turtles in the pond.

Whilst it was very crowded there was only a handful of westerners including us, there were mainly chinese tour groups. Legend has it that if you make a wish at this temple lighting incense the wish will come true!

Whilst my wish hasn't come true yet I would rate this as the number one place to have visited on my most recent trip to HK.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wong Tai Sin Temple, Hong Kong”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you are touring HK, this is a must see attraction. It is very conveniently located next to a subway ("MTR" in HK) station and clear signages to lead you to the temple. There are those on duties to lead you correctly to the main hall of the temple and other parts of the temple complexes.

The temple is quite big with many small buildings and a network of pathways to bring to various locations of the temple premises. I particularly like to see the way locals and visitors doing the "kao chim" prayer which is literally means "requesting for stick" as part of their prayer rituals. Each stick has a number or chinese characters on it and supposed to shake them in a container made of bamboo vigorously so that one of the sticks fall out from the container. That stick will be used to read out what you have requested for... As to how to read the stick, there are rows of "experts" at the temple to decipher the "code" for you for a small fee.

The temple also has plenty of deities' statutes located in many places and all of them have some significance one way and another. Entrance is free basically but you can donate some money (any amount is welcome) for the maintenance of the temple.

It is a place where you can see locals perform one of their long standing ritual ~ this sight is quite common if you have visited places where Chinese community is abundant, such as Malaysia and Singapore. Nevertheless, for each places the culture is always intertwined delicately and beautifully with the local's environment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluemountainsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Temple in centre of city”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We live in Hong Kong but we love to come here on the weekend occasionally, a beautiful park like temple right in the middle of the pulsating city of HK. As tranquil as you can feel in HK. Try it and enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Touristy temple”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Typical Chinese temple - we went on a Sunday morning and it was very crowded. I was told later on that Sunday mornings were the usual religious service schedule in HK, but was surprised that most locals did not appear to be attending a religious service but rather snapping away happily on their cameras, like tourists.

Also the architecture of the temple looked like it was built/renovated recently, so I did not get the authentic temple atmosphere I hoped to see. Would visit the nearby Nan Lian Garden next time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wong Tai Sin Temple (Sik Sik Yuen Temple) also viewed

 

Been to Wong Tai Sin Temple (Sik Sik Yuen Temple)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing