We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Budget Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Yesinn Hostel was adequate and provided all the necessary amenities for backpackers. The rooms are as pictured, clean, and the beds are actually comfortable. Lockers are provided free of charge so you don't have to worry about your belongings while you're out exploring Hong Kong. Only downside was the hot water. If you're up too early, you can forgot about taking a hot shower!

The location in Causeway Bay is very convenient and well connected to the rest of the city. The metro station is a mere 3 minute walk and the bus to Stanley Market, if interested, is located right outside the hostel. It's also very easy to get to Yesinn from the airport.

The front desk is open 24 hours, all staff is pretty fluent in English, there are several terraces available for lounging, and basic food/drinks are available, some for purchase.

Overall my experience at Yesinn was good and I would recommended to anyone looking for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    193
    58
    17
    17
See reviews for
9
27
272
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had 8 people booked into a 9 person dorm. The rooms are quite large, however 9 people sharing 1 bathroom leaves for a very long wait. There was an in room electronic safe (accessible only by 1 room key) big enough for a backpack,not much more.
The beds are all mostly okay, clean bedding,individual light, small curtain covering half length of bed, power points. However, the positioning of the beds within the room (maybe it was just our room ???) but the middle top bunk bed was literally directly underneath the air con unit, which actually ate into the space of the persons bed area (wall mounted unit, not ceiling). I couldn't possibly imagine anything worse nor poorer positioned. We had no option but to sleep with the air con off, otherwise a lovely air con cold would have got the poor person sleeping there. A little bit thoughtless as the other side of the room had a bare walk and no beds....
The location is great though, proximity to the mtr was easy as could be.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank srokaexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

It's close to MTR. Rooms were clean. The bed was too tiny. I think you won't feel comfortable if you are tall. I like the color of bed linen, it made the room colorful. Too tiny living room but it's okay. The great thing is its location. I think it's good value for money.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Seranie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Main gate unlock so people can walk up to the building easily. Bed was taken up by someone either b4 or after check-in: I was reassigned to another room. Left my belongings into the locker. Came back and found key card doesn't work and everything got taken out. Someone else stuffs already on my bed. I was then reassign on another bed.
Building in Fortress Hill is under renovation so not recommend.

Room Tip: C room on higher floor is better with less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AubreyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here with my boyfriend and we were expecting good things based on previous reviews. To say we were disappointed is an understatement. While the location is great and the hostel itself is of a reasonable standard, we were underwhelmed by the service finding some of the staff rude. As well as this, our room was a joke. We were on the same floor as offices and shops within the building. Our main door was made of glass with two huge gaps at either side meaning anyone could peer in. The lock did not feel sturdy meaning we were unable to leave valuables in the room. On top of this our ceiling was covered with exposed pipes meaning each time someone had a shower it sounded like a plane was taking off. If this didn't wake us, the sound of the cleaning staff talking and singing outside did. The dorms may be ok, but we would definitely not recommend a private room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaLouise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton Bay Region, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Great location. You have buses, trains, and trams right outside your door. The beds are comfortable. My bed was right on the bottom so could crawl into bed. Unfortunately I was on the 4th floor and there is a chill out area where people talk really loudly. They were doing until 6.00am in the morning. Room had an ensuite which was nice. Times Square is right at the back you just walk through the alley and you can catch the train there too. It is quite close to a few attractions such as Victoria peak and mid level escalators. The trams are much cheaper to get around on the. The trains at h$2.30 a ride. Great to ride at night to help get your bearings. Massage chair is free and at first feels like a torture device until you get used to it. Wifi signal is good to, even from the rooms. Found most people just playing on their laptops in the downstairs reception area. Nobody talking to anyone. The room light seems to stay on which can make it hard to sleep. Hot showers are nice. There is also food labeled with "free help yourself" which other people leave behind, so you don't need to go hungry. Money changers, KFC, 7-11 are also nearby and you don't need an adaptor as international plugs are used.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank twobigfeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The location was good! Situated not far from a MTR! Rooms where clean, everyone had their own locker. The 9 people dorm had their own bathroom with toilet and was also cleaned regularly. The rooftop was a brilliant place as everyone would come up to meet people. Liked it a lot!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esmee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Mahjong
#1 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Y Loft (Youth Square)
#3 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Check Inn HK
Check Inn HK
#9 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yesinn Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yesinn Causeway Bay

Property: Yesinn Causeway Bay
Address: 2/F Nan Yip Building, 472 Hennessy Road, Hong Kong 852, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Yesinn Causeway Bay 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2 minutes walking distant from Yesinn Causeway Bay Hostel to Causeway Bay MTR station, our premier location makes us the ideal starting point for exploring the city. Recently renovated, we boast not only a fantastic Hong Kong city center location and building but our free services are unbeatable! We have taken great care when it comes to your safety & security so you don't need to worry and can hang out in our common room or relax in the roof top garden. An added bonus is that big size beds are tailor made for taller person and come with linen for free, so that late arriving travelers can jump straight into bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Yesinn Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yesinn Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing